We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Chicago River North
Ranked #55 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good service, great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

Located at Dearborn Street and the River, the Westin River North is what one would expect from a Westin. From the door man to the personnel at the front desk, the arrival at the Westin is gracious. The standard room is plenty big for two people. The bed is heavenly as billed. It's an easy walking distance to the Magnificent Mile and Macy's on State Street. The concierge made us dinner reservations at the Kinzie Chophouse - good food and easy walk. The hotel staff really want you to enjoy your visit. While we there they had hot chocolate and tasty sugar cookies. The hotel bar is comfortable, too. Really enjoyed the stay and got a good rate through Hotwire.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnsonevv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fom1031, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, 16 December 2011
Dear johnsonevv,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Westin Chicago River North on Tripadvisor. I’m glad to hear your enjoyed all aspects of your visit. I can assure you I will share and celebrate this review with my team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Be Well,

James Bristow
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,035
    591
    147
    55
    40
See reviews for
258
436
115
780
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

I always try to stay in SPG hotels as i feel you can be sure of the quality of these hotels and that is what I like when i travel! This hotel was no exception to this, it really lives up to the Westin name and brand. As this was our first trip to Chicago, we were unsure where to book and we were a little nervous booking this hotel but we are very glad that we did. This hotel is ideal if you would like to in the centre of Chicago. We wanted to be both near shopping and sightseeing and this was perfect. However, if i was to go back just for shopping, i would def consider staying in Westin on Michigan avenue. If you are going there before Christmas, the hotel is just beautiful, my daughter was delighted with the many christmas trees in the lobby.

The rooms were a little on the small side (but then again you are staying in a city) but they were very nicely decorated and there was lots of sppace to sit and relax if you have the time. I would without a doubt stay here again on my next trip to Chicago.
My only complaint is we are a starwood preferred guests and the hotel did not seem to recognise this. However I did receive a phone call from the manager with an apology with regard to this. This impressed me, it appears to be a hotel that really cares about it customers.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coltrate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fom1031, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, 16 December 2011
Dear Coltrate,

Thank you for your review. I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your visit at The Westin Chicago River North. Our goal is to do all that we can to ensure our guests leave in a better state then when they arrived. I am glad we were able to accomplish this in your case. Hearing one of our mangers following up with you was great. We truly do care about our guests and understand the importance of following up. Thank you for your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Be Well,

James Bristow
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Effingham, Illinois
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Our stay at the Westin in Chicago was a positive one. The protection from the concrete overhang off the main road was a real plus when we unloaded our car. The service personel were friendly and helpful. Beware that they don't always agree with each other. The bellman and the concierge had conflicting information. However, the rooms were outstanding. The view and amenities made our trip worthwhile. The shower and lighted makeup mirror were highlights, although one did not work. The breakfast is not included and rather pricey, but the dining room, The Embers, is conveniently located just off the lobby and the food was good. Not far from shopping and theatre, the location was great!

Room Tip: their corner connecting rooms are a good thing to choose with a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

It is the second time that we have a wonderful experience at a Westin property even by getting there through discount websites. The first was in Paris, and now in Chicago. We were given a room with a beautiful view of the Chicago River, and the room was very large and comfortable, with a tasteful decor and wonderful bathroom. The location is perfect, in river north but right in front of the river, what is very convenient both for mag mile and for the downtown loop and it's attractions and transportation system. The hotel staff is nice and accommodating and they have provided transportation to Ohare early in a busy after thanksgiving Monday with a very fair price.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marciopsiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

We booked a special package which included a $100 Macy's gift card; we felt the room rate was really reasonable for a Westin. The night in the city was a way to celebrate a special anniversary. We arrived early and the gentleman at the desk was so polite/professional and informed us our room wasn't ready, but only because they had upgraded our room. Sweet! We left our bags with the bell hop and went off to shop at Macy's with our gift card. They called us an hour or so later to let us know the room was ready. In the lounge we discovered complimentary hot chocolate which was warm and delicious for guests coming in from the cold. Upon entering our room we were so impressed....wow! Beautiful (Room 1425) with 3 full windows with a chaise lounge in front and a view of the city and the river. The room was spacious, the bed so comfortable, and had all the little amenities you'd expect from a Westin. After dinner we came back to our room to find chilled champagne and chocolate covered strawberries atop shredded coconut with a Happy 10th Anniversary note. Really?! Wow, talk about out doing themselves to allow us to enjoy a truly special anniversary. We've already decided we are going to have another stay at this Westin in the spring. Also, this is a great location, nice restaurants and Michigan Ave. are within a 10 minute walk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river, otherwise you may just be viewing other buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kabecka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fom1031, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, 16 December 2011
Dear Kabecka

Thank you for your very descriptive review. I’m glad you had such a good time at The Westin Chicago River North while celebrating your special anniversary. Our team is dedicated in delivering personalize service and it seems as if we accomplished this during your visit. We can’t wait to welcome you back in the spring.

Be Well,

James Bristow
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

We stayed in the Westin River North for 5 nights & really enjoyed our vacation. The main plus points for us were;
1. Very speedy check-in
2. Friendly staff - always a polite greeting & very well informed
3. Very clean & spacious rooms - we had an excellent view over the Chicago river from our 15th floor room.
4. The beds really are HEAVENLY!!!!
5. Excellent concierge service.

We would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: Try & secure a room with a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gazlough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

(+) Courteous personnel
(+) Very good central location in Chicago
(+) Very clean
(-) Valet parking is a rip-off: $52 (overnight parking available nearby for third the price or less)
(-) Several fixtures in the bathroom were broken (e.g., shower head was cracked and sprinkling all over)
(-) Very difficult to get to any power plugs in the room
(-) Room was somewhat spartan, felt cheap. ...Especially, considering that that was upgraded "Delux" room.

Room Tip: don't plan to use valet parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrei K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fom1031, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, 16 December 2011
Dear Andrei K,

Thank you for the constructive comments. I can assure you I will have my engineering team take a look at your bathroom. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We understand the importance of feedback and how it helps us to improve our operation. Please reach out to me the next time your travel plans bring you back to Chicago. I would like to personally oversee your accommodations and ensure an experience far better than average.

Be Well,

James Bristow
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#21 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,446 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Chicago River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Chicago River North

Property: The Westin Chicago River North
Address: 320 N. Dearborn Ave., Chicago, IL 60654-5010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#30 Family Hotel in Chicago
#31 Business Hotel in Chicago
#34 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Chicago River North 4.5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Chicago River North allows guests a chance to experience relaxation and renewal while maintaining access to all of their favorite Chicago activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Chicago River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Chicago River North Hotel Chicago
Westin Chicago River North
Chicago Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing