We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great downtown Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Chicago River North
Ranked #65 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Had one night here. Rooms very clean ( not well lit). Very modern and bed was very comfortable. Staff very helpful. Great location and easy walk to Michigan Ave for shopping the mile. Parking very expensive($40 to $50+) so keep that in mind if you have car. Good dining places and bars nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Livingthedream647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,988)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,357 - 1,363 of 1,988 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2012

Our stay spanned the end of April and beginning of May, 2012. We had a scenic view of the river and took advantage of the hotel's central location to walk north, south, east and west. But, a great plus for us was the in and out parking privileges which allowed us to take multiple excursions in a single day without paying for additional parking. In the early morning, we drove out to the Magic Hedge in Montrose Point for some fantastic bird watching (multiple warbler species, indigo buntings, kinglets, flycatchers, hummingbirds, orioles and more). Then after returning to the hotel, we'd venture out again to visit friends who lived outside the city. The cost is higher than daily parking elsewhere, but it's a good deal if you have multiple driving destinations originating out of a central hotel base.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2012

Dear Jimad,

I was happy to hear the details of your recent visit to The Westin Chicago River North. We understand the need for in and out privileges and are glad to provide this for our guests who drive in. Thank you for taking the time to give us the gift of feedback.

Be Well,

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Nice businesshotel, well situated and very good staff specially at the bar. Lounge also serviced nicely, although breakfast buffet at the lounge could be better - definitely too few choices. Support from concierge a bit slow and room was made after 16:00 the first day, which is very late

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Of course, the Westin Hotel is a wonderful place to stay. Quiet, comfortable, fantastic location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnDG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Westin Chicago-River North has some nice features: 1) the upper-level rooms have good views; 2) the beds, as at all Westin properties, have the 'heavenly' trade-mark; 3) the in-room coffee-tea service is well-equipped and re-serviced daily; and 4) my room was spacious and well-furnished. Plus: although this Westin hosts conventions, the feel of the place is not 'commercial' and the public areas are furnished tastefully.

But strange blips occurred: After mid-night the phone rings with a question about water leaking in the floor below. I checked the bath in my room, saw no problem, and reported this. Then, early the next morn, the phone rings, and it is apparently an accidental ring. Try to get back to sleep . . . and the phone rings again ! This time, the front desk wants to send someone up to service/fix my bath. I inform the time when I will be leaving the room (that is, later in morning). A few minutes pass, and the alarm clock goes off! Apparently, set by a previous guest, and not turned off my housekeeping. The story of the bath resolves when the engineering staff finds some missing caulking around the faucets.

The experience at Westin is mixed - and in my stay, rather unsettling.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank triptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear triptraveller,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Westin Chicago River North. I am sorry to hear of the strange blips that occurred and can assure you that your experience is not the norm. I can understand your frustration of being awoken early in the morning not only once, but three times. Please call the hotel directly (312-744-1900) and ask for my office the next time your travel plans bring you back to Chicago as I would love to personally oversee your accommodations and show you a better experience. Again, I thank you for your feedback.

Be Well,

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Our party of 8 stayed here during the Memorial Day holiday and couldn't have been more pleased. The location is great, close to transportation, dining, the river, and many attractions. The rooms were in need of some updates, but nothing major. However, the excellent rating is mainly due to the friendly, professional, accommodating staff. Check in was easy (and early), the concierge desk was extremely helpful with wonderful suggestions and directions, and James Reed should be the Westin ambassador. We so looked forward to his bright smile and cheery greetings. He even remembered our names!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shepherdsflock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear shepherdsflock,

I’m glad to hear of the pleasing stay you and your party had this past Memorial Day holiday. We will celebrate your feedback with the team and especially James Reed. He truly does exemplify our core values of Personal, Instinctive, and Renewal. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Be Well,

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We stayed in this hotel last May 12-14, 2012. Check in was supposed to be after lunch but we were able to do so around 12 noon which was great. It was a no-hassle check-in. Our room had 2 queen beds and the usual amenities of a 4-star hotel. It was satisfactory. One thing that bothered us was the sewer-like smell in the bathroom. We're sure it wasn't us because we just got to the room and hadn't had the chance to do number 2. So we went downstairs and Justin, the front-desk associate, transferred us to a different room right away. The bathroom had the same smell. Not as strong as the first one but it was still there so we figured it's their their sewer system. Anyway, despite this, we still enjoyed the stay because the staff were so courteous and helpful. Even though there was a queue in the front desk when we asked for a room transfer, Justin helped us with maps and directions the best way he could and he did not make us feel we're being rushed. Also, the woman in the concierge gave us all the info we need and the luggage drop-off attendant was nice and funny too.

As for the location, it's great! You can walk around even at night and feel safe. There's a 7-eleven and CVS nearby. After clubbing, we didn't have a hard time looking for a breakfast spot that's walking distance. Cabs are not hard to get as well. If you're a tourist and will be going on the Hop-on, Hop-off bus, a stop is only a couple of blocks away.

All in all, it was a pleasant stay. The only thing they need to do is renovate or fix the rooms to make it more modern.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aurora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fom1031, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Dear shadylady51,

It was our pleasure to serve you! I was glad to hear the impact the team had on your visit from Justin at the front desk to the concierge and the luggage attendant. I’m sorry to hear of the sewer smell you spoke of and can be sure to alert my team. Thank you for bringing not only this, but all the details of your visit to our attention. We truly did appreciate the business.

Be Well,

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#22 of 192 in Chicago
2,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Chicago River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Chicago River North

Address: 320 N. Dearborn Ave., Chicago, IL 60654-5010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#30 Family Hotel in Chicago
#31 Business Hotel in Chicago
#38 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £114 - £573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Chicago River North 4.5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Chicago River North allows guests a chance to experience relaxation and renewal while maintaining access to all of their favorite Chicago activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Chicago River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Chicago River North Hotel Chicago
Westin Chicago River North
Chicago Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing