We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location. Good business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Chicago River North
Ranked #64 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I was here for a business meeting. Actually came down the night before to meet with a hiring manager over breakfast about a job situation. The hotel provided a very restful nights sleep and good workout facilities. The only downside is that only valet parking is available and quite expensive

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orso52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Hello Orso52,

I'm delighted to hear that we were able to help provide a renewing night's rest before your big day!

Although valet parking is the only parking we offer on premise, we do offer self-parking with Greenway for $52 per night. The garage itself is less than a block from the hotel and provides our guests with an alternative option to valet parking.

I truly apologize if this was not relayed to you and if you have any other questions or concerns either now or in the future please do not hesitate to reach out to me personally.

Be well,
Bryan W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,004)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

956 - 962 of 2,004 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed here a couple of years ago, and then again this past week for five nights. Quick and efficient check-in. We stayed on the club level overlooking the river. Note that there is construction going on right now on the river, and at times it was quite loud. As we weren't in the room much and it was over at night, it didn't really bother us. But if you're sensitive to noise you may want to request the city view instead. Nice food display in the club lounge, but alcohol is not free. One small irritant is that even though we got the same glass of pinot grigio every night, they wanted to charge us something different every night... something about a new menu. ??? They only had a few wines on the menu, so not that hard to know how much it costs. Anyway, that aside, the rooms were lovely. They had a fan/humidifier in the room which was very nice. Cleaning service was friendly and asked each day what time I wanted to room cleaned. (her name is Julie) They gym is top-notch for a hotel gym, lovely, clean, and well-equipped. We have to attend this conference again next year and will stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Hello Jamie S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I'm delighted to hear that our staff was able to leave a lasting impression on you and that you plan to return - we can't wait!

I'd also like to thank you for bringing the pricing variations in the club to my attention as well. I will follow up with our Food and Beverage team to ensure this is resolved and presents no further confusion to yourself or any other guests.

Be well,
Bryan W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Attended a conference in late February 2014. Whilst it was absolutely freezing outside it was nice a warm inside the hotel. Bar staff are very friendly and a great location close to all of the night life! Would stay again but this time in summer as it was way too cold for an Aussie to be here in winter! The rooms were great and the bed extremely comfy

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Hello steve b,

Thank you for your kind words and it was a pleasure to have you as our guest. Hopefully we'll see you again soon now that it's warmed up!

Be well,
Bryan W.  

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Clean, good service, great access to restaurants, short walk to the blue line train. All in all an excellent stay. I really liked the 20 megabit internet and the big TV. The club lounge on 20 is a bit cozy and the food options in the morning are limited so if you're a hungry person, you might want to go elsewhere.

Room Tip: The rooms on the river end face the river. Otherwise you have an angled view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AgileDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Hello AgileTraveller,

Thank you for taking the time to share the gift of feedback with us. I'm delighted to hear that our hotel made it easy and convenient for you to during your recent Chicago visit. It was truly a pleasure to have you as our guest and I hope we'll be able to welcome you back soon!

Be well,
Bryan W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Westin Chicago River North last weekend. Welcoming and helpful front desk staff, lounge staff & Club Staff. We were on the 20th floor, room was comfortable and quiet, bathroom well-appointed & views would be hard to beat. We had dinner in the lounge one night, steak was prepared well with substitutions as requested -- no hassles. My one thought would be breakfast could use some upgrades (protein besides hard boiled eggs would be great).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerSophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Hello TravelerSophia,

I'm delighted to hear that your recent stay was so refreshing! I'm glad to see that our staff was able to make a positive impact on your recent stay, and we truly appreciate the gift of feedback you've given us regarding the breakfast items in the Westin Executive Club Lounge.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we all look forward to seeing you again soon!

Be well,
Bryan W.  

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Hotel is in great shape. Looks newly renovated. Downstairs bar and lobby area are nice. Rooms were updated, had infinity shower head and nice views in the rooms. Beds were comfy. Location is great, right in downtown, everything we did was very close and this is exactly what we expected. The hotel also gave us a lat checkout of 3pm no problem after we partied until dawn. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TYSON P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Hello TYSON P,

Thank you for sharing this wonderful note with us! I'm delighted to hear that you were able to refresh and renew with the Heavenly Bed and Heavenly Shower. The complimentary 3pm check-out offered on Sundays with Westin Weekend is a newer addition to the Westin brand, and I'm delighted to hear that it had a positive impact on your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Chicago!

Be well,
Bryan W.  

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I agree with the other reviewers who think this is a great location, because it really is. But what you usually find with a great location is a lack of effort to do anything else well. This is usually the case with some restaurants, but apparently certain hotels also follow this same self-righteous approach to running a business.
This was my first stay at a Westin and my first time in Chicago. The temp was about 32.1 degrees and it was pouring down rain. From the start, the bad weather made the location a moo point (cows wouldn't like it so why would I). Upon arrival I checked in at the front desk and was told something was wrong with my company credit card, so I would need to use another one. I never had any issues with the card before or after my stay at the Westin, so the problem is still a mystery. I was told they would try to resolve it, but in the end they just charged my personal card. They also said that internet was free and to ignore the disclaimer about charges when logging on. At the end of my stay I had $45 in internet charges and all I did was log on to my email from my phone a few times. I was surprised they would charge for internet at all, but $15 a day is ridiculous. I complained about the chargers and suggested there may have been some type of miscommunication. They said they would look in it, but I never heard back. My guess is with all the complaints the Westin must receive, my situation was trivial.
The other issues I had was the food. The prices did not match the quality. Albeit, we only ate breakfast there, the prices were enormously inflated for extremely standard fare . I have had better food at Denny's (seriously, I ate there a few weeks ago―not proud). And the Latte I had at the Westin will go down as the worst and most expensive of my whole life. There were also ants on the floor in the restaurant. That wasn't horrible, but shows some lack of concern for detail.
Overall, the people were friendly (especially the bartenders) and my room was adequate, but the place was just too expensive for the experience. At the end of my 3 night stay, my bill was $750 dollars and that was with some type of group rate discount. I cant imagine paying more for three nights.
I have heard good things about other Westins, so I hope this one starts taking the customer criticisms seriously, instead of sending out generic corporate apologies.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerome d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Hello jerome d,

Thank you for sharing the gift of feedback with us. I'm truly sorry to see the troubles you had while here and I certainly wish there would have been better weather while you were here as well. I will follow up with our team regarding the concerns you've mentioned so that we may work to correct these moving forward.

It is my sincere hope that we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back and I'd ask that you reach out to me before any future visits so that I may work with you moving forward and ensure your complete satisfaction with any and all future stays.

Be well,
Bryan W.  

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#6 of 192 in Chicago
2,202 reviews
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#75 of 192 in Chicago
5,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Chicago River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Chicago River North

Address: 320 N Dearborn St, Chicago, IL 60654-5010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#30 Family Hotel in Chicago
#31 Business Hotel in Chicago
#39 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £104 - £505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Chicago River North 4.5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Chicago River North allows guests a chance to experience relaxation and renewal while maintaining access to all of their favorite Chicago activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Chicago River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Chicago River North Hotel Chicago
Westin Chicago River North
Chicago Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing