We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit to Chicago (July 3rd - July 6th)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Chicago River North
Ranked #58 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First visit to Chicago (July 3rd - July 6th)”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We were in town for son's wedding and The Westin Chicago River North was on the wedding website as a choice to stay. Everyone at the front desk, door and the Concierge were wonderful and helped us in every way possible. We asked for and received great suggestions for places to eat (Eggsperience for breakfast, Mother Hubbards for our Chicago Hotdog, and Lou Malnati's for the best Pizza Pie, were great!) and all were within walking distance from hotel. I had emailed the hotel a few weeks before we left to see if we could check in early due to early flights. Even though I did receive a response that we likely would not be able to do that, the front desk checked us in as soon as we arrived (about 3 hrs. before check-in) and changed us to a corner room, which had a great view. We did not have the opportunity to visit the bar or restaurant due to the wedding festivities, so we can't comment on that. Great place to stay and we would stay there again!!!

Room Tip: Corner room was a little larger and had a great view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hello Wendy E,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us! I'm delighted to hear that we were able to accommodate that early check-in for you. It's great to hear that not only was our team able to make helpful recommendations but that you were able to take in many of the great sights, sounds, and tastes of Chicago while you were here!

I hope that the next time you return to Chicago that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again!

Be well,
Bryan W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,070
    604
    152
    60
    44
See reviews for
278
450
117
801
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My first choice in Chicago hotels is Westin Chicago River North. The front desk goes out of their way to help you...including Alex who helped me get printed pages for a presentation at 2 a.m....weather delay and lost luggage created a huge problem from which he saved me. And Sam the Westin Workout manager is top notch. I'd feel bad not getting up early to workout as Sam always provides inspiration. He's in the gym by 4:30 a.m., which makes 5:30 seem not so bad. Great people and service all round. Oh, and the Grill, try the crab eggs benedict...much deserved and delicious after a good work out.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hello Stacy S,

Thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful note with us. It's delightful to hear that both Alex and Sam were able to have such a positive impact on your recent stay and ensure that you were comfortable and taken care of while you were here with us.

We're truly proud to be called your home away from home while in Chicago, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Be well,
Bryan W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

In general the rooms are good and spacious. My only complaint is that Bar is right in the lobby and you can hear noises in room till very late in the night. All rooms are connected with a main lobby so you may not avoid it. Overall, not a bad hotel to stay

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vineet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hello Vineet A,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We truly appreciate the feedback you've provided and I'm deeply apologetic if noise from the Hana Lounge disturbed your sleep. I am however delighted to see that you did overall enjoy your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Be well,
Bryan W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Nice hotel in a great location. Was packed with convention-goers. Good bar and nice rooms. No complaints except that the front desk "lost" an important package and our company suffered some consequences from it. Oh well. Otherwise it was a great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hello Amber D,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I’m delighted to hear that overall, your stay was enjoyable and that you had kind words to share.

I'm very sorry to hear about the missing package and certainly any repercussions that came from this. Although you've departed the hotel and may no longer need this item please feel free to reach out to me personally so that we can work together to locate, retrieve, and return the package to you should you wish to have it returned to you.

Once again thank you for sharing the gift of feedback and I hope we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Be well,
Bryan W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I have been travelling for business for a few years now, and hotels seem to blend into one another quite easily. It is easy to remember the bad, and only the exceptional gets noticed. In the case of this Westin, the room was ok, not the best I've ever had. The shower had issues (either too hot, or too cold), and it was difficult to regulate. However the best thing about this hotel was the gym, and the personal trainer that works there, Sam. It was a particular pleasure working out at the gym, which was a lot more complete than a lot of hotels I've been in. Sam helped me with some exercises, and also with stretching. He then gave me a fabulous deep tissue massage, and told me to come back the next day for a workout plan for my goals. He was personal and friendly, and very enthusiastic. So if you are in the area and use hotel gyms, this hotel is a definite destination.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShebaAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hello ShebaAJ,

Thank you for taking the timet o share your recent expereince. I'm delighted to hear that Sam was able to have such a postiive impact and leave such a lasting memory with you. Sam truly does provide a unique expereince to our guests and helps the every day traveler be able to keep up with their wellness goals even when travelling.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and to be your home away from home. We look forward to the next time we have the opportunity to welcome you back!

Be well,
Bryan W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

the experience was great, altogether.
Check in at 4Am was fast and easy, room was clean and tidy, but really small.
The breakfast lounge was packed, the servers were awesome and the service provided outstanding.
The location is great, the ambiance quite chilled and relaxing.
We moved to the Hyatt Regency afterwards, that was a hot mess!!!how did we miss the Westin!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaudiaRz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hello ClaudiaRz,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent experience and we're delighted that you did!

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Chicago!

Be well,
Bryan W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Paltz, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

From check-in to check-out, it was great throughout my entire stay. The room was clean and nice, the staff is friendly and knowledgeable, great location as well. Only thing I can think of is the club lounge is small and snack option is limited.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan W, Front Office Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hello blueswing,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience and feedback. We truly appreciate the kind words and it was our pleasure to have you as our guest.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Chicago!

Be well,
Bryan W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Chicago River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Chicago River North

Property: The Westin Chicago River North
Address: 320 N. Dearborn Ave., Chicago, IL 60654-5010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#30 Family Hotel in Chicago
#31 Business Hotel in Chicago
#37 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Chicago River North 4.5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Chicago River North allows guests a chance to experience relaxation and renewal while maintaining access to all of their favorite Chicago activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Chicago River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Chicago River North Hotel Chicago
Westin Chicago River North
Chicago Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing