We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proceed with caution..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chicago Marriott Midway
Ranked #118 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2008

This hotel seemed to be the nicest in the area and competitively prices. This hotel isn't terrible but it isn't good either. The lobby smells so bad and odd that the smells could actually be fumes that are bad for your health. The staff pretends to be helpful but never follows up on needs or issues. They asked us for a card but incidentals and claimed it would not be charged. We then found random charges for $75, $95 etc... For every day that we were there. And our rooms were pre-paid using Marriot points! They said they would remove the charges but never actually removed them! Puddles of water were left in the elevator on fake marble floors. The star bucks in the lobby has only left over and stale pastries and the neighborhood is surrounded by check cashing places and liquor stores. Stay away and if you do, please only use a credit card.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank discorick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2008

The staff at this hotel could not have been friendlier. We found them exceptional. The hotel restaurant (Dempsey's) had very good food and we would recommend it if you are staying in the hotel. Service was excellent. Our room was well appointed and our bathrooms were a cut above the usual hotel bathrooms. Everything was very clean and the hotel is very well managed with a dedicated and well-trained staff. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fortheloveofgoodfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2008

Flew into Chicago-Midway for the first time. Was spending three nights to tour the City. For someone with NO mobility problems, staying near the Airport works fine. The area around the Marriott has several new hotels - probably all of which are less expensive than the $170/night, single that I spent. But the difference in nightly rate for most is small (less than $30) so decided on the Marriott. All the hotels have access to a shuttle service (every fifteen minutes) to Midway. Once at Midway it is easy to jump on the ORANGE line train that takes you downtown in about twenty minutes. For a two-day pass (unlimited travel) the tarif is $9 purchased in the Midway station. There is a lot of walking if the hotel-airport-train procedure is used - a person with mobility problems might consider staying downtown.
The hotel room was modern, comfortable and quiet. Eating in the hotel consists of either room-service, or visiting the in-house restaurant (Dempsey's), or trying the in-house Starbucks. I tried all three and found the food quality (except Starbuck's) to be
hit-and-miss. Because of the convenience of the shuttle, and the quality of the room, I would definitely stay here again

Stayed: May 2008
Thank trippingJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2007

I recently booked the Marriott Midway at the last minute during the Labor Day weekend. Most of the hotels downtown were sold out (or ridiculously overpriced for the holiday) and I found the Marriott to be reasonable ($159/night). Staff were very courteous and professional, and surprisingly I was upgraded to a full suite.

My room had a small kitchenette, fridge, microwave, & a coffee maker. There were lots of cabinets & drawers in the kitchenette, but curiously there were no dishes or cutlery. The room had a huge combo dining/living room area, with a formal dining room table that sits 6. The adjoining king bedroom was spacious, with a separate TV and comfy linens. The bathroom was also very spacious, with a Jacuzzi whirlpool. The toiletries were rather scant, and weren’t replenished the 2nd day of my stay, but that was a small inconvenience. Marriott’s lobby is very large and there’s an Irish/American restaurant (Dempsey’s) attached. They are currently constructing an adjoining Starbucks.

The fitness center was better than most, 3 TVs, lots of cardio equipment, weights and a universal. It overlooked the indoor pool which was a decent size and also had a bubbly whirlpool.

While I would have rather been downtown, the location of this Marriot was great (5 mins. from Midway). There’s a complimentary shuttle to and from the airport, and the shuttle also goes to the other hotels on the compound (Courtyard, Fairfield, Sleep Inn, etc.).

My only complaint about this Marriott was being charged for a $107 phone call I didn’t make, however the front desk staffer graciously took it off my bill. All in all, a decent hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Pixie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2007

Have stayed in this hotel three times this year. All aspects of the stays have been excellent from the initiial contact with the desk by telephone thru the entire stay,
Excellent place to stay in the Midway Airport area.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gipper58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2006

We stayed here for a long weekend in the middle of August. The price was quite reasonable for an attractive well-maintained hotel. Lobby staff performed their jobs in a really professional manner. Connections, via trolley bus and public-transit train, were great for getting downtown. The hotel is located in an area I affectionately refer to as "the compound", as there were a number of other facilities all grouped together. Free parking is great and the area felt very safe.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MaggieY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2006

We were recently in Chicago for the MLS AllStars vs. Chelsea FC match and had called our travel agent to see where to stay. She suggested Marriott-Midway as it was a nice hotel and close to Toyota Park where the match would be. We were very pleased when we arrived at the hotel. Plenty of parking space, and the room was splendid! Very comfy and cozy, with plump featherbeds, 360+ count sheets and just very very clean. Everything was first class. The staff was terrific, especially their Irish concierge. The loveliest of people to work with and they made our stay one that we will never forget. We will surely stay there again when we are in Chicago for a visit or to see another great soccer match!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank FriendsofStoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chicago
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Midway Airport
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago Midway Airport
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Midway Airport
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago-Midway Airport
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Midway Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Marriott Midway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Marriott Midway

Address: 6520 S Cicero Ave, Chicago, IL 60638-5804
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Chicago
#62 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#73 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £117 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago Marriott Midway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just two blocks from Midway International Airport, Marriott Chicago Midway offers style and convenience with beautifully-appointed décor, 24-hour airport shuttle service and even on-site Starbucks coffee shop. Guests will enjoy the on-site American restaurant and bar, Dempsey’s offering breakfast, lunch, dinner and even room service. The hotel also features 5,700 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space, indoor pool, fitness center and wireless internet access. The Marriott Chicago Midway is your best choice for hotels near Midway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chicago Marriott Midway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Chicago Midway Hotel Chicago
Chicago Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing