We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chicago Marriott Midway
Ranked #114 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just okay!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Came here for a family reunion and wasn't very impressed. The service and hotel was just okay. I did not feel like anyone went out of their way to make my stay great. Also, my tv in the room didn't work my entire stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodgarcia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager6520, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago Marriott Midway, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Greetings,

Thank you for staying with us and for providing your feedback. I was surprised to see that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. Our goal is to exceed guest expectations and I am sorry that we did not do that. We are always looking for way to improve and will use your comments as a training tool for our staff.

If there is anything else I can do for you please let us know. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    126
    38
    16
    5
See reviews for
74
79
25
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
detroit
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is truly one of the BEST Marriott properties out there!! The Desk Staff is outstanding and always makes sure that the stay is the best one possible. Nicole is usually at the Desk when I arrive and always remembers me and makes the check-in process easy and fast. She is delightful.

This location has by far the very best Conseirge Lounge hosts in both the morning and evening. Karen and GIna work hard to make srue that the not only the refereshements served are supurb but also make you feel like a visitor in their homes. They are both friendly, professional and enjoyubale to stend some time with. Gina and Karen remember their "regulars" and always have just what they want ready (for example, Karen rememberd that when i was in thelounge a few weeks prior and had left a bottle of water that i could not take iwht me to the airport. WHen i arrived at the lounge she remembered waht i had left and brough it to me. Gina always has sliced lemons and my favorite Tazo tea there ready as well. While these may seem like trivial theings, they make a HUGE doffernece to a person like myself, who travels all week long ans stays in Marriott properties across the central part of the US most nights of the week.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodi b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager6520, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago Marriott Midway, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Hi Jodi!

Thank you for telling us about your stay. It is always wonderful to hear that our staff is taking special care of our guests. To us, the little things matter a lot and could be the difference between a guest choosing to stay with us again or not.

I truly appreciate your feedback and will surely share this with all of our staff.

Take care! We will see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

My second time to stay in one year. But many changes, no safe in the room which is not convenient . Towers in bathroom not enough. As a Marriott not courtyard Marriott, the no mini bar inside the room which is not accept to me. Check in staff do not check my package is including breakfast and internet and parking until I told her to check again. Most upset part is I am a Marriott member which I have free internet and I ask her about free internet , she say no and after she find out I have free internet and she said she can give it to me for free. Oh this is just an excuse for her careless but I did not say anything.
Breakfast at 9 am still see their own Marriott restaurant staff having breakfast inside the restaurant , I do not know why they let their restaurant staff have breakfast at the same place as the customer. Cannot accept this in the Marriott hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Tommyyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager6520, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago Marriott Midway, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Greetings,

Thank you for providing your feedback on our hotel and I am sorry that felt it unacceptable to see our hotel staff eating in the restaurant. This is certainly not the norm. Each year our hotel takes a week out to celebrate our associates and the hard work that they do. On Monday, our management team served our hourly employees breakfast in the restaurant, Dempsey's. We understood that this may seem a bit odd to our dining guests so we informed them of what we were doing and waited until everyone was served before allowing our employees proceed.

Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here the night before we flew out of Midway Airport the next morning. I chose this hotel due to its proximity to Midway, it being one of the nicer hotels in the vicinity, and the free airport shuttle and 14 days of parking included with the "Park Here Fly There" rate. There were other hotels that included extended parking in their rate, but only for 7 days and we needed a little longer.

The isn't the nicest Marriott I've ever seen, but it is probably the nicest hotel within a 5 mile radius of Midway and I acknowledge that its primary purpose is accommodating Midway travelers. I booked this hotel not necessarily for pleasure but for the function of being close to the airport the night before a flight, so I was looking mostly for value, safety, and convenience. We had no issues with parking or the airport shuttle, and I felt good about leaving my car and generally safe in an otherwise sketchy area. I wouldn't say I think the value is overwhelming. Our stay after taxes and fees ended up being $286 (which include some overpriced snacks from the lobby). However, I will say that the base rate is on par with what we found from other hotels in that area, so I understand you're paying for the convenience of the location in addition to the Marriott brand.

In summary, I would say our stay was "Very Good" but not "Excellent". I would award an "Excellent" rating had the $286 included something else (breakfast, extraordinary service, etc.) OR if the rate was simply lower. However, I would recommend this hotel to someone staying for a similar purpose.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thg08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager6520, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago Marriott Midway, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback on your recent visit. We strive for excellence and feel that anything less is unacceptable. I am sorry that we did not exceed your expectations and will make sure to do better next time.

Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed there for business, in two separate nights, in early May. We booked it through priceline with about half price $65+tax.

The service quality of front desk varies but overall friendly and not rude.

Pros:
Great value if you book it through priceline.
Hotel is clean and nice. Facilities are well-maintained. Swimming pool is clean though smaller (about 10 meters long) than the picture looks. Jacuzzi is nice. Business Center offers printing for free.
Free shuttle from/to Midway airport every 20 minutes.
The location is conveniently close to the airport.

Cons:
Poor sound insulation. You could hear the TV or chatting through the thin doors between the rooms.
Wifi costs ~$10 a day, which is not what you would like to see in a 3 star hotel.
Without car, you might have to walk for a while to reach any restaurant. There is not much to do nearby.

Refrigerator was not provided even though I requested it on the phone. Either they forgot about it or they hoped I would forget about it.

The room quality varies. I have experienced two rooms. One was old with broken faucet and no microwave. The other one was better with microwave but the bathtub was clogged all the time.

Room Tip: Ask for a microwave and/or refrigerator if you need one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDCA2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager6520, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago Marriott Midway, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for providing us with your feedback. I appreciate you pointing out the highlights and areas of opportunity for us. I am glad that you were able to enjoy some of the many amenities that we offer such as the pool area, our 24 hour shuttle to Midway Airport, and our Business Center which features brand new computers for guest use. I am, however, very sorry that we did not meet your expectations in other areas. We are continually striving to improve our services and amenities. In fact, we are in the process of installing microwaves and refridgerators in all of our newly renovated guest rooms.

Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I just stayed here for two nights for business training at the American Management Association next door. I basically picked the location because it had a walkway to the training building.

I was completely blown away by the service, the condition of the rooms, the staff and the amenities in the hotel.

The lobby was always filled with an appropriate number of staff for any questions. They helped me figure out how to get into town to do some site seeing and also how early to get a cab for my flight home.

Storing luggage wasn't an issue and the restaurant in the lobby has the most amazing chicken soup and steak. I'd stay here again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Rooms in the North Floor three area are closet to the American Management Association walkway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvstotravel321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager6520, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago Marriott Midway, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you so much for your comments, however, I believe you are referring to the Marriott O'Hare which is located next to the American Management Association. We are located by Midway Airport.

I will surely pass along this wonderful feedback to them. I just don't want to misinform any readers that might book our hotel based on being close to the AMA. Thanks for choosing Marriott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgecrest, California
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

It never occued to me to stay here intentionally, until the one day I was stuck at Midway Airport without a flight home. Loyaly programs do have advantages, I called, I reserved, I was surprised with what greeted me when I climbed out of the cab. Stellar staff, great reception, comfortable accommodations, and the Concierge Lounge was tip-top. I was treated as if I was Mr. Mariott himself...over the top maybe but when you're at your wits end with weather and cancellations you can't ask for anything better that this jewel of a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager6520, Guest Relations Manager at Chicago Marriott Midway, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we are truly glad that you enjoyed staying with us. Service is our top priority here and I am glad that you experienced what we have to offer, including our newly renovated Concierge Lounge that has a great view of the planes landing and taking off!

Come back and see us again on your next trip to Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chicago
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago-Midway Airport
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Midway Airport
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Midway Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Midway Airport
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago - Midway Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Marriott Midway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Marriott Midway

Property: Chicago Marriott Midway
Address: 6520 S Cicero Ave, Chicago, IL 60638-5804
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Chicago
#62 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#73 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago Marriott Midway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just two blocks from Midway International Airport, Marriott Chicago Midway offers style and convenience with beautifully-appointed décor, 24-hour airport shuttle service and even on-site Starbucks coffee shop. Guests will enjoy the on-site American restaurant and bar, Dempsey’s offering breakfast, lunch, dinner and even room service. The hotel also features 5,700 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space, indoor pool, fitness center and wireless internet access. The Marriott Chicago Midway is your best choice for hotels near Midway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chicago Marriott Midway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Chicago Midway Hotel Chicago
Chicago Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing