We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chicago Marriott Midway
Ranked #114 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I'll be back!”
Reviewed 31 December 2008

As a lover of Marriot hotels, I booked two rooms for a mother/darughter weekend to see The Color Purple. My mom, grandma and cousin arrived that afternoon. They didn't hesitate to call me to rave about how beautiful the hotel was. "Great pick," they said. Later that evening, I flew in to Midway then caught the trolley straight to the hotel. It was the best experience- fast and convenient. There are several restaurants nearby both fast food and dine in. If you're looking for a taste of Chicago Giordano's is down the street and they deliver. Another plus is that to get downtown is a ten minute drive, much closer than O'Hare. Would definately stay again.

  • Liked — cleaniness, convenience
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveling4StLouiis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    126
    37
    16
    5
See reviews for
73
79
24
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2008

My husband won a trip to Chicago to see the Titans and Bears play. It included airfare and Hotel accommodations at The Hilton Chicago. Compare the two, my husband and I were much more pleased with the Marriott that we booked ourselves, as far as the comfort, room accommodations and price difference between the two.

Thumbs up all the way for the Marriott at Midway, 2008!!!!

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — No smoking
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TitanJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2008

This hotel seemed to be the nicest in the area and competitively prices. This hotel isn't terrible but it isn't good either. The lobby smells so bad and odd that the smells could actually be fumes that are bad for your health. The staff pretends to be helpful but never follows up on needs or issues. They asked us for a card but incidentals and claimed it would not be charged. We then found random charges for $75, $95 etc... For every day that we were there. And our rooms were pre-paid using Marriot points! They said they would remove the charges but never actually removed them! Puddles of water were left in the elevator on fake marble floors. The star bucks in the lobby has only left over and stale pastries and the neighborhood is surrounded by check cashing places and liquor stores. Stay away and if you do, please only use a credit card.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — They took money without explanation and dide not credit mmy money back.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank discorick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2008

The staff at this hotel could not have been friendlier. We found them exceptional. The hotel restaurant (Dempsey's) had very good food and we would recommend it if you are staying in the hotel. Service was excellent. Our room was well appointed and our bathrooms were a cut above the usual hotel bathrooms. Everything was very clean and the hotel is very well managed with a dedicated and well-trained staff. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — the friendly staff
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fortheloveofgoodfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2008

Flew into Chicago-Midway for the first time. Was spending three nights to tour the City. For someone with NO mobility problems, staying near the Airport works fine. The area around the Marriott has several new hotels - probably all of which are less expensive than the $170/night, single that I spent. But the difference in nightly rate for most is small (less than $30) so decided on the Marriott. All the hotels have access to a shuttle service (every fifteen minutes) to Midway. Once at Midway it is easy to jump on the ORANGE line train that takes you downtown in about twenty minutes. For a two-day pass (unlimited travel) the tarif is $9 purchased in the Midway station. There is a lot of walking if the hotel-airport-train procedure is used - a person with mobility problems might consider staying downtown.
The hotel room was modern, comfortable and quiet. Eating in the hotel consists of either room-service, or visiting the in-house restaurant (Dempsey's), or trying the in-house Starbucks. I tried all three and found the food quality (except Starbuck's) to be
hit-and-miss. Because of the convenience of the shuttle, and the quality of the room, I would definitely stay here again

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank trippingJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2007

I recently booked the Marriott Midway at the last minute during the Labor Day weekend. Most of the hotels downtown were sold out (or ridiculously overpriced for the holiday) and I found the Marriott to be reasonable ($159/night). Staff were very courteous and professional, and surprisingly I was upgraded to a full suite.

My room had a small kitchenette, fridge, microwave, & a coffee maker. There were lots of cabinets & drawers in the kitchenette, but curiously there were no dishes or cutlery. The room had a huge combo dining/living room area, with a formal dining room table that sits 6. The adjoining king bedroom was spacious, with a separate TV and comfy linens. The bathroom was also very spacious, with a Jacuzzi whirlpool. The toiletries were rather scant, and weren’t replenished the 2nd day of my stay, but that was a small inconvenience. Marriott’s lobby is very large and there’s an Irish/American restaurant (Dempsey’s) attached. They are currently constructing an adjoining Starbucks.

The fitness center was better than most, 3 TVs, lots of cardio equipment, weights and a universal. It overlooked the indoor pool which was a decent size and also had a bubbly whirlpool.

While I would have rather been downtown, the location of this Marriot was great (5 mins. from Midway). There’s a complimentary shuttle to and from the airport, and the shuttle also goes to the other hotels on the compound (Courtyard, Fairfield, Sleep Inn, etc.).

My only complaint about this Marriott was being charged for a $107 phone call I didn’t make, however the front desk staffer graciously took it off my bill. All in all, a decent hotel.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Pixie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2007

Have stayed in this hotel three times this year. All aspects of the stays have been excellent from the initiial contact with the desk by telephone thru the entire stay,
Excellent place to stay in the Midway Airport area.

  • Liked — Location and ease of reservations
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gipper58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chicago
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago-Midway Airport
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Midway Airport
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Midway Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chicago-Midway Airport
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Midway Airport
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago - Midway Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Marriott Midway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Marriott Midway

Property: Chicago Marriott Midway
Address: 6520 S Cicero Ave, Chicago, IL 60638-5804
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Chicago
#62 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#73 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago Marriott Midway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just two blocks from Midway International Airport, Marriott Chicago Midway offers style and convenience with beautifully-appointed décor, 24-hour airport shuttle service and even on-site Starbucks coffee shop. Guests will enjoy the on-site American restaurant and bar, Dempsey’s offering breakfast, lunch, dinner and even room service. The hotel also features 5,700 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space, indoor pool, fitness center and wireless internet access. The Marriott Chicago Midway is your best choice for hotels near Midway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chicago Marriott Midway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Chicago Midway Hotel Chicago
Chicago Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing