We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service with a personal touch”
Review of Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Majestic Hotel
Ranked #54 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Service with a personal touch”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

I found the service of this quaint hotel exceptionally nice. Large cities seem so distant and cold. But this was not the modus operandi of this hotel staff. Friendly, informative, patient in their check in, each of the amenities were discussed, including parking. Finding my way around Chicago for my first visit seemed daunting and I could not begin to fathom where I might park were it not for the hotel's facilities. My truck was snuggled in with no problems by a valet in a structure just behind the hotel. The rooms were ANCIENT but exceptionally clean. It added to the feeling that I was staying at a well cared for abode, and I was. I felt part of the family. It's no wonder that this hotel is getting such nice reviews. Located just next to the N Lake Shore Drive, and Addison st (behind the hotel), one can go under the tunnel and pop out right by the lake and recreation area! Wasn't that convenient! I'd say its magical. I felt the whole area was just delightful and the hotel was a gem.

Room Tip: Yes: Tip 1, go to Majestic's website FIRST, rather than book through Orbitz. I got a better rat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    249
    59
    23
    9
See reviews for
189
245
59
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We were on our way home from WI and had tickets to a Cubs game, the Majestic location was four blocks from WRigley field. Quiet residential neighborhood, clean, comfortable, great breakfast offerings and very helpful, pleasant staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tallowhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grove City, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We spent a few days in Chicago and stayed at the Majestic Hotel. The inn is a quaint hotel with the ambience of a castle. The architecture and decor are medieval without being heavy and overbearing. There is a large sitting room where coffee and breakfast are served. Our room was spacious, especially with the sun room option we chose. The kitchenette was very convenient; there was a microwave, fridge with working freezer, and a sink. Alas, no coffee maker, as coffee is available 24 hours a day. The bathroom was even roomy. The bed had too many fluffy, downy blankets which made me too hot, but most may think it luxurious. The hotel is in a safe, family-friendly area with plenty of good restaurants and shops to patronize. Wrigley Field is a quick, 10-minute walk from the hotel door. The room comes with 2 small flat-screen TVs, so the hotel is very up-to-date.

Room Tip: Get the sun room. It's an extra sitting area with many windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandy8302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurst, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

My husband, 16-year-of son and I stayed here and loved it! It is a wonderful, old building in a wonderful neighborhood. We had tickets to a Cubs game at Wrigley Field and this hotel was within easy walking distance to and from. The sitting area in our room was nice, the bathroom small but what we expected in this type of hotel. Breakfast was wonderful - not huge amounts of food but very adequate to start the day and the room it was served in was like an old library with wonderful piano music playing in the background. We would most definitely return in the future!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We selected this hotel based on its proximity to Wrigley... 4 1/2 blocks away. For those not familiar, the Addison Red Line stop is located right next to Wrigley too, so you are minutes away from the 'L'. Our room was 402...directly across from the registration desk. Note that all 400 series rooms are on the ground floor. It was a large suite with two queen beds. The room and bath were clean. The beds were comfortable. The staff were very accommodating and service was prompt and courteous. The parking is off-site at a secured garage with a reasonable, additional cost.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FollowingHistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We were in town for an event in the neighborhood. For what we needed the hotel was in the PERFECT location. The Hotel was very clean, and in a quiet part of town, but close enough to all of the places we needed to be.

But without a doubt my favorite part was the interaction between ourselves and the staff. Ms Mona (She handled our check in and basically anything we needed) is great. She is so engaging and just has a wonderful personality. She (and the hotel in general) went well out of thier way to make our stay better. Our group needed to be out early, before the breakfast would normally be served, she worked it out so that it was ready to go for us. She also made it possible for us to have a room upgrade, into a lovely suite that had a fantastic veiw of the neighborhood. She helped us out so that we wouldn't have to wait in line at a nighborhood hotspot, and she directed us to some great places to grab food.

Very happy with our choice to stay at this hotel. A trip into Chicago is a yearly event for us, and I plan to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Enjoyed a couple of R&R days at the Majestic, after staying downtown to attend a conference. Very charming, well-run hotel. Located in a quiet residential neighbourhood, the Majestic room I stayed in (#114) was small, but had the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in - a perfect balance between firmness and softness. Also appreciated the very reasonably priced in-room snacks and minibar. More good things: nice towels and bath soap/shampoo, and eager-to-assist staff who directed me to some great deep dish pizza (Bacino's in Lincoln Park) and a beach for swimming (Montrose). Minor complaint: the air conditioner had a "nervous tic" - a clicking noise whether it was on or off. Regardless, I enjoyed the Majestic and would be a guest again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestcoasterVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#71 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#112 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#145 of 188 in Chicago
3.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Hotel

Property: Majestic Hotel
Address: 528 West Brompton Place, Chicago, IL 60657
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lakeview
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#27 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#28 Business Hotel in Chicago
#31 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Majestic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago hotel located near Lake Michigan. One block south of Addison and Lake Shore Drive ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing