We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always the Perfect Stay at the Majestic!”
Review of Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Majestic Hotel
Ranked #70 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2013

On a recent weekend getaway to Chicago, we decided to stay at the Majestic near Addison and Lake Shore. We've stayed at this hotel before and, while much of our activities were going to take place in other parts of the city, we've always enjoyed the Majestic's friendly staff, location and the hotel itself.

This trip lived up to those expectations. Our King Suite room was more than enough room for our two-night stay. The free wi-fi and extra space to spread out really makes the stay more comfortable. They also offer a free breakfast buffet in the lobby in the morning, free coffee and tea throughout the day and fresh cookies in the afternoon.

The staff is great, ready to offer advice on places to eat and things to see and do in the area. It's a great neighborhood for strolling with Lake Michigan just a few blocks away. They offer some great packages throughout the year directly through their website.

Chicago's wonderful public train system - specifically the red line - is just a few blocks away. In fact, the Addison Street stop is at the famous Wrigley Field, home of the Chicago Cubs. Even if you aren't a baseball fan, be sure to take a few minutes to check out the view.

Chicago's Boystown is just a few blocks from the hotel. That means lots of gay and gay-friendly bars, restaurants, shops, etc. in the neighborhood. Most of the activity is located along or near Halstead, but you'll find all kinds of fun in Chicago. It's also just a short cab ride downtown, if you prefer.

There is great food of all types all around. Our favorite is Angelina Ristorante, located just a couple of blocks away. It's a tiny Italian place with maybe the best food in Chicago. You'll definitely want reservations.

If you're looking for a comfortable place with easy access to lots of Chicago fun, at a reasonable price, you can't beat the Majestic Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (830)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

620 - 626 of 830 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

This hotel is a nice old hotel, but could use some updating. The rooms are small and outdated, however I believe the heating is what really needs updating. Our radiator heat could not be controlled. By about 3am it was over 80 degrees in our room and we couldn't open a window, along with the heat came a loud banging noise every few minutes that kept us up most of the night. I literally sounded like a wrench hitting the radiator pipes. We did put the air conditioning on to try and cool it down a bit. We later learned that our friends in the room next to us we haing the same heating issues. I would stay there again if the heating is fixed. The location was wonderful and the hotel really is a pretty old place. Almost forgot .....they have a very reasonable snack/beverage selection in the room!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MurWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

The staff here is amazing. Such nice people who will go out of their way to help you with anything. The rooms are nice and clean as well as quite big for a city location. The breakfast included isn't the best, but it was fine for a quick grab-n-go meal. I highly advise staying here if you would like a cheap, but wonderful hotel while staying in Chicago!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jelena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Fantastic Hotel! The staff I interacted with were superb, especially Mona and Corey! They were so friendly and helpful. Haven't having been to Chicago in many years, they were so kind in helping me find where things were and what was going on around town. Highly recommend the Majestic! Will certainly stay there again....

Room Tip: The king suite was very large and comfortable, with a kitchenette, a sofa and 2 TVs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marino44, Manager at Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that you were satisfied with the standard of accommodations and service offered by our team members. The outstanding service you received from Mona and Corey is representative of the type of service we wish to provide for our guest. We hope we will have an opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Roxana Dumbrava
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This is definitely a good deal, given the location and the amenities. Room was small (we were, unfortunately, in the room right next to the linen closet facing the neighboring building) and threadbare but comfortable. It's an old building, so sound DOES carry far. Easily walked to meet family for dinner, parking was close, if not super convenient, and $22/night. Neighborhood seemed safe and walkable. Free breakfast was fine- cereal, hardboiled eggs, pastries, coffee.

Only serious beef was that the morning we left we had no hot water (let run 10+ minutes). Calls to the front desk resulted in promises that the boilers were working, which.. is fine, except it was 4 degrees outside and I would have liked a shower. 20 minutes later the hot water mysteriously recovered.

Take home: I would stay again, but request a room away from the elevators (which are next to the housekeeping and linen facilities).

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antennapedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Can't say enough about this hotel! Awesome, Awesome, Awesome! My husband and I along with our 3 boys stayed here for a weekend back in December. From the minute we walked in, we felt like we were home! Warm, inviting, extremely clean....and I could go on and on. The staff? Amazing! Mona, Driss, the blonde bellman (I forget his name!!)--couldn't go out of their way any more to make us feel at home! On our last day, we had the pleasure of meeting Keith Scott, the Regional Manager at Broughton Hospitality. Keith was a true professional. While talking with him, a family with an infant stroller was walking in and Keith excused himself and ran over to help them carry the stroller down the stairs! Need I say more? Love this place and we will be back!! Ciao Bella!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WDBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

This hotel was so warm and inviting. The decor is antique but not shabby. The atmosphere is friendly but private. You feel like you are in a nice home. The people here think of the little things that make a person feel comfortable and at home (smiles, helpful information, robes, fireplace, nice breakfast and cookies, everything is clean and comfy, plenty of personal care items in the bathroom, very reasonable and nicely stocked wet bar in the suites, convenient indoor parking.....). AND the prices and location are fantastic!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kellie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#77 of 192 in Chicago
968 reviews
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#112 of 192 in Chicago
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Hotel

Address: 528 W Brompton Ave, Chicago, IL 60657-1828
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lakeview
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#27 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#28 Business Hotel in Chicago
#31 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £72 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Majestic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago hotel located near Lake Michigan. One block south of Addison and Lake Shore Drive ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing