We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice change from the downtown hotels”
Review of Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Majestic Hotel
Ranked #54 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice change from the downtown hotels”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Just needed a room for the night and wanted to try something other than downtown. While the rooms were a bit worn they had a lot of character. The prices for the minibar items was a nice surprise. The hotel has a good location and it is easy to get to transportation and dining. Parking is a bit different with the lot around the corner, but a good value. The people were very nice. If you want something nice in a neighborhood this hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    259
    60
    23
    11
See reviews for
200
258
60
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Great quick trip for a Cub's game customer outing. Ten minute walk to stadium, close to the L train, places to eat nearby and I felt safe. Yes the hotel is somewhat dated, but it added to the experience and the staff was great. I plan on bringing my wife back for a future quick trip and will most likely stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york suburb
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We were in Chicago for the first time for 4 nights and totally took a chance by booking the Majestic Hotel over the internet. We were extremely satisfied by this hotel. The staff was more than friendly, they went way out of their way to make recommendations. The location was great also. Walking distance to some great places to eat on Broadway and was a short 10-15 minute bus ride to down on the express bus, which we never waited longer than 10 minutes for. The room was on the small side, but totally what I expected in a large city hotel, and also much bigger than European hotels. What really caught our eye was the way the honor bar was set up in the room. Most items were one dollar! Yes one dollar! Can of diet Coke, one dollar. I really liked the fact that they did not bang you over the head and charge 5 dollars for a can of soda or any other items. Very much impressed us. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We could not come up with a tip since we enjoyed everything about our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kennyuncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Yes, as people have stated, things are a bit tattered around the edges. But the location is perfect for a cubs game, on a pretty, tree lined street that felt very safe. Walking distance from lots of restaurants, etc. Staff were helpful and friendly. Room was a bit small, but the a/c cooled well, and the bed was very comfortable. No noise whatsoever from outside or neighboring rooms. Snacks and drinks in the room were reasonably priced. Very clean and comfortable. No complaints, and I will certainly stay here again. Also, the CTA stop is at the end of the street to get to downtown.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsm317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I was shocked at this hotel. It was clean and was close to Wrigley Field, but nothing else recommends this place. I really do expect more for $400 a night. My laundry list....

The bathroom was very much in need of an update - 1950's 4x4 tile.
The bed linens were ok at best - not boutique by any standard.
The "breakfast" was a joke - continental breakfast at Holiday Inn is much nicer.
We had two suites, each had a couch that was threadbare and 40 years old.
Their website boasted free parking, but it was $22 anyway.

It's was not a boutique hotel by any standards, I have stayed in many other nicer hotels in Chicago that were half the price.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kendra w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marino44, Regional Manager at Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We will be doing a full renovation of the hotel with a completion date set by the end of the year.

I hope to get a chance to restore your confidence.

Sincerely,

Keith E. Scott
Regional Manager
Broughton Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

In the middle of the high end north-side neighborhood is this hotel that your grand father could have stayed in. It's updated but with its old charm in tact! Very affordable (109$ with breakfast). I will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank admtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson,MS
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Perfect location for a Cubs game weekend! Walking to great restaurants and shopping and Wrigley. Staff was very nice. Parking and in-room honor bar was cheap by Chicago standards. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morningcain26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#112 of 190 in Chicago
510 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#78 of 190 in Chicago
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#149 of 190 in Chicago
226 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Hotel

Property: Majestic Hotel
Address: 528 West Brompton, Chicago, IL 60657
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lakeview
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#28 Business Hotel in Chicago
#31 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Majestic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago hotel located near Lake Michigan. One block south of Addison and Lake Shore Drive ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing