We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding inn in the Lakeview area of Chicago”
Review of Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Majestic Hotel
Ranked #54 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding inn in the Lakeview area of Chicago”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I enjoyed 4 nights at the Majestic during the recent "deep freeze" in Chiberia. The accommodations were comfortable. My two room suite was spacious with a sofabed in the living room and TV, minifridge, microwave and sink. Bathroom was comfortable with excellent shower/bath. Bedroom had comfortable bed, dresser, TV. desk and chair. Heat was provided by radiators in all three rooms and a small in-wall forced air heater in the bedroom. Fans above the bedroom and living room helped keep air moving. I had to keep the radiators turned down as the rooms became quite toasty. On the main floor, a fireplace was going most of the time, adding additional warmth.

Despite not having the modern feel of newer hotels, the Majestic shined with classy traditional warmth and furnishings. The common room on the first floor offered plenty of overstuffed seating, the fireplace, morning breakfast and afternoon tea.

Staff were very helpful in all respects. Despite the cold and snow outdoors, the environment inside was always comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    262
    60
    24
    11
See reviews for
205
262
60
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This hotel is located on a quiet, yet central street in the Lakeview area. It is clean, the staff is friendly, there is always coffee, tea, and fruits, as well as cookies throughout the day. Best of all, however, are the people who run the hotel, from Tavian, who was attentive to my friend when he helped him with his luggage, to Dan, who printed out some important documents for me, to Mona, who made sure we always had everything we needed during the "Polar Vortex" days as I recovered from a cold. I highly recommend the Majestic Hotel. It's comfortable and the service is great.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LunaViajeraPuntoEs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed at the Majestic Hotel about a week before Thanksgiving and had a wonderful experience with the hotel. All of the staff were very helpful with any questions we had and arrangements for activities we had planned to do. The front desk manager (Mona) was
particularly nice and gave all of us a feeling of being part of an intimate boutique hotel
atmosphere, not unlike that of bed and breakfast establishments. Very nice morning fare
served in the "front parlor" and a bonus that the coffee was particularly good (most lobby
coffee is just awful), such a welcome detail.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We got a great rate from groupon. This hotel was wonderful for us.. Great location, easy to get anywhere in the city via cab or the red line. Nice complimentary breakfast items in the am and coffee all day. Easy to walk to bars and restraints in wrigleyville.
As with any older hotel the rooms are small, the walls are thin and you can hear every noise, also was right by the elevator and heard that easily through the walls and could hear the people above us walking around at 3am. If you are a light sleeper bring earplugs. Radiators make the room hot. All in all a great stay but I wouldn't pay over 100 bucks for this place unless we needed to be in that area.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rocknreconstruct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

My daughter recently moved to Chicago and was unable to return home to our large extended family for Christmas. We all meet at my sister’s home - Martha Stewart could take lessons from her in creating a Dickens Christmas in her Victorian era home. My daughter was facing her first Christmas of her life..alone..(you tearing up yet?)..So as the Dad, I arranged to be with her.

I searched for a hotel near her home and found the Majestic. It is a fine hotel located in a nice neighborhood, clean, staff are super nice regular people..great architecture. Boutique hotel.

They went above and beyond for me. I requested the king suite (on the first floor, 500 sq feet..they use it for a meeting room as well). I asked if they could decorate it for Christmas. They did it all including a live tree. It was elegantly done. Including a hot chocolate machine that I understand was brought in from a staff member’s home.

They made this Christmas magical for my daughter and me.

Stay here, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Along with the king suite, they have Sun suites that looked very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mishawaka, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We came to Chicago to celebrate our 10th anniversary and were looking for a quiet, romantic hotel and that was exactly what we got at the Majestic. Customer service is top-notch here and the atmosphere is quaint and comfy. Located in Lincoln Park, just off Lakeshore Drive, it's easy to find. The parking was only $22 for 24 hours. It's small with a tiny elevator and grand staircase, only 3 levels, and furnished in antique-type furniture to match the historical architecture. We were upgraded to the honeymoon suite and just after we checked in, a wonderful, young man named Cory brought a complimentary bottle of delicious wine to our room. The suite had an extra sitting room that looked out over the street and neighborhood with a couch & chair and flat screen TV mounted on the wall (there was another large flat screen TV on the wall in the bedroom). The bed was very comfortable and the comforter was down-filled with a high headboard attached to the wall. There was a nice sitting room downstairs with a fireplace and a Christmas tree, decorated for the holidays and free cookies, coffee and tea service. It was very pleasant to sit by the fire on that chilly afternoon and sip a cup of tea. Very warm and inviting! The bathroom was clean and adequate with plenty of hot water and wall dispensers with soap, shampoo, and conditioner-- lots of towels. I actually used the tub for a bath and it was bigger than mine at home. The minibar was stocked with everything we wanted after a long drive (whiskey, rum, coke, candy, & snacks). The TV worked fine and the heat was more than adequate. There were radiators in each room in addition to extra vents in the wall, which were adjustable. Best of all, there were plush spa robes in the closet! I felt like royalty here. Cory went out to the corner and hailed a taxi for us to go to dinner and he did the same the following day when we left to go shopping downtown. They also locked up our luggage until we were done shopping after checking out. The Wifi was free too! We have stayed in many of the big expensive hotels downtown and NEVER have we had such cheerful and personal service like at the Majestic. The manager on duty, Mona, was right when she said we would like the Majestic better. In the morning they served a FREE breakfast in the adorable sitting room which included hard boiled eggs, sausage & egg muffin sandwiches, croissants with ham & cheese filling, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, juice, coffee, tea, milk, etc. You will really get your money's worth here. It's not close to downtown shopping, which is the ONLY negative thing I can think of, but in our case, it was perfect. The taxi drive downtown was only around $10 and didn't take more than 10-15 minutes in traffic. I would highly recommend Mon Ami Gabi restaurant, which is about 2-3 miles south across from the Lincoln Park conservatory for a romantic dinner. Thank you, Majestic, you will always be in our hearts and I will forever be singing your praises!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlepigeon926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Room was very small but clean and efficient. The front desk people were very helpfull. Good room service and clean towel and sheets. Overall it was a good experience. The breakfast was just enough and contain all kind of necessary items including boil egg, muffin, cereal, fruit, donut , mild ,yogurt and many othe stuff.



  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#113 of 190 in Chicago
514 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#74 of 190 in Chicago
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#147 of 190 in Chicago
229 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Hotel

Property: Majestic Hotel
Address: 528 West Brompton, Chicago, IL 60657
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lakeview
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#27 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#28 Business Hotel in Chicago
#31 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Majestic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago hotel located near Lake Michigan. One block south of Addison and Lake Shore Drive ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing