We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Majestic Hotel
Ranked #70 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I was somewhat apprehensive in booking this hotel as I am a self-proclaimed hotel snob. I entered the experience jaded and was proved wrong at every corner. Let me begin with the incredible check in service provided by front desk agent, Dan. While following all hotel policies, Dan was able to provide exceptional quality service when I was prepared not to receive it. Follow this by Mona and Omar and you have an incredible experience at a well-kept (although small) hotel located in a residential area. While not located directly at the action, a short walk through a elegant Chicago neighborhood places you right where you belong. I spruced up the room a bit by adding a cheese box and glass of wine. Yes, the walls are thin and I could hear movement outside and above me. However, it was not enough to cause an issue with me. However, for extremely light sleepers this could be problem. For me, the white noise app on the trusty iPhone, and my evening prayers, became my best friend. I loved the 24 hour coffee and tea, the wonderful breakfast, and the very comfortable lounge area. There is no pool or work out room on-site. And, let's be honest, the standard room with a queen bed was indeed smaller than I would have liked.I felt an added sense of security since there is only one entrance and one exit to the hotel-and you must walk by the front desk upon entering and exiting. No sneaking around here. And, I like that. Now, before bed, I shall sip some of the wine that was available in room, dawn one of the complimentary robes, watch a little television on the flat screen mounted to the wall, and drift away until breakfast downstairs beckons me. La de dah!

Room Tip: If you are one person, the standard room with a queen bed is adequate, but small. Personally, sprin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (829)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

534 - 540 of 829 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

Took a chance on Groupon for this boutique hotel. It's a great hotel. It's close to buses and the red line so getting around the city was easy. Our room had 2 double beds and a separate sitting area with a couch, desk and tv. It also had a small fridge and microwave. Continental breakfast was more than just danish and coffee. This would be an awesome hotel for attending a Cubs game and Lincoln Park Zoo. All within walking distance along with some great little places to eat. It's a nice friendly neighborhood. Yes the walls could use some soundproofing but I didn't feel it disturbed my stay. It's an old building so the elevator is very tiny but again nothing to ruin my stay.
I would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbarabO8692OP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Reserved this hotel through Groupon. Picked it due to the close proximity to where a friend lived. The hotel was very shabby. The room had paper thin walls - I could hear EVERYTHING that was going on above and around me. My hotel room had holes in the walls where pictures and mirrors had been hung and then were removed. Just no attention to making the interior look presentable.

For $150, I expected a nicer room. This room shouldn't have cost over $80.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aimee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marino44, Regional Manager at Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Guest,

I want to apologize for the experience you had staying with us. I want to assure you we pay careful attention to feedback such as yours as it allows us the opportunity to improve our services and facilities for our guest. I would like a chance to speak with you further about your stay and how we may redeem ourselves in the future. Please contact me directly at 773-404-3499 or via email at keith@broughtonhotels.com.

Beat Regards,

Keith E. Scott
Regional Manager
Broughton Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My 19-year-old daughter & I stayed at the Majestic for the first time and could not have been more pleased! We were on a 2-night visit to shop and see theatre performances. The location was superb--close to Lake Shore Drive and 1/2 block from bus line that takes you to Michigan Avenue shopping, Millennium Park & theatres. We drove to Chicago & used the hotel's $22 parking option. It was much less than other hotels & more convenient because we could come & go if needed. The enclosed garage also made me feel that my car was more secure. You have to walk through another building & outside about 1/2 block to get back to the hotel, but it's not a problem even at night. LOVED the architecture and ambiance of the Majestic! Beds were comfy, room was well-appointed, & everything worked fine. It was cold outside, but our room was plenty warm. The breakfast was fine & seemed fresher than chain hotels. Every single person on the staff that we encountered was gracious, helpful & kind. We especially appreciated Dan, who guided us through the bus system to get to a postal store when we had to overnight a package unexpectedly. He was right: Bus 151 takes you almost anywhere you want to go! The young men at the check-in desk were also very helpful in orienting us to the area when we needed to drive to the Pier. The housekeeping staff members were also great & willingly agreed to show me another (empty) room so I could considered it for our next visit. I would change nothing about this hotel! Can't wait to come again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Memphisnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Doing campus tours of Depaul and Loyola. Looking for nice (reasonable price) hotels in that area is not easy (free parking, pool, free breakfast). We drop the pool and added $22/day parking through the hotel we picked the the Majestic. My wife and I like the old hotels so this was a perfect choice. I would like to go back again. The staff was very helpfull. The rooms and bed were clean and in good shape. We sleep well. Morning breakfast was OK. Coffee was very good (from a local roaster).

Room Tip: They put out fresh cooked cookies until 6pm. We arrived at 545pm, just in time to get the last batc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodcrest55129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at the Majestic from 12/31/13 - 01/27/14, & we loved it. Yes, it is an older hotel, but quite beautiful, and the staff go over and beyond to take care of you. We are from Hawaii and arrived in the middle of a snow storm, New Year's Eve & within 10 min., of checking in "Mona", had us on our way to a fun bar "Rocks" w/t great food, & within walking distance. A romantic start for the New Year!! We were in Chicago visiting our son who's receiving medical treatment there, so somedays I would really be dragging & I was always met with smiles, and my room was always very clean & fresh smelling. There was always coffee, tea, & hot chocolate available.The staff really make the "Majestic". Mona, Dan, Cory, & Tavian not only do they take good care of you, but they also work well together. They were always ready to answer any questions, give directions, or hail a taxi for you. Coffee, tea, & hot chocolate is available 24/7, oh and the mini bars in the rooms are the most inexpensive I have ever seen. I can't wait for my next trip to Chicago!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Yvette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed one night (special trip here for my birthday) and would love to stay here again. Great location! It's right by the lakefront, walkable distance to Wrigley Field, short cab ride to Music Box Theatre, walkable to great restaurants, etc... Breakfast was only OK for me (dairy allergy and they didn't have dairy-free milk for my coffee nor much for me to eat) but my guy was happy enough with the breakfast. Coffee was good (most important, right?!). The room was clean and very comfortable (if a little small). Shower was GREAT! Good pressure and water stayed HOT for a lovely LONG shower. The robes are super comfortable. The staff was professional, courteous, and super helpful. Did I mention I would TOTALLY stay here again?

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKEParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#77 of 192 in Chicago
968 reviews
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#111 of 192 in Chicago
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Hotel

Address: 528 W Brompton Ave, Chicago, IL 60657-1828
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lakeview
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#27 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#28 Business Hotel in Chicago
#31 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £72 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Majestic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago hotel located near Lake Michigan. One block south of Addison and Lake Shore Drive ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing