We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Its Price, The Majestic is Outstanding”
Review of Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Majestic Hotel
Ranked #54 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Weston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“For Its Price, The Majestic is Outstanding”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I stay at the Majestic on Brompton in Chicago almost every time I get to the Windy City....First, it's location, just off Lake Shore Drive is magnificent...Walking distance to Lake Michigan, close to good neighborhood restaurants. Second, the neighborhood is clean, comfortable, and safe - ideal for walking. Third, the hotel's staff is friendly, hospitable and attentive. Good people. Every last one. Finally, the the rooms, while not fancy, are perfectly adequate - clean and comfortable.
It's a great place to say...Don't hesitate to make a reservation. You'll be surprised how nice it is, and you'll probably save at least $200/night...as compared to the downtown hotels.

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms at the front of the hotel...They're larger, and have a little sun room atta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    251
    59
    23
    9
See reviews for
190
246
59
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Upon entering the hotel, the first impressions were that the hotel was old and possibly dated. However, it didn’t take long before we were absorbed into the warm inviting charm that the hotel possesses. The main gathering room where breakfast is served is warm and welcoming. The dark wooden paneling and fireplace just add to the charm of the vintage room. The guest rooms are more than adequate and extremely clean and comfortable. The location was absolutely perfect as it was a short walk to Wrigley Field as well as many exceptional restaurants. Access to downtown Chicago was a breeze as the 146 bus was just steps away. Above all, the staff was over the top helpful, professional and exceptionally attentive. Specifically, Dan brings a special value to the hotel as he took the time to know each guest so he could ensure that everyone enjoyed not only their hotel stay but the surrounding area as well. His knowledge of the city and its neighborhoods was invaluable. Additionally, both Mona and Roxanna were equally attentive and did everything they could to ensure our visit was comfortable and memorable. We would absolutely stay at the Majestic Hotel again!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My wife and I were recently on our way on a overseas trip from the West Coast, when we were stranded in Chicago for 3 days awaiting a connecting flight. We had no knowledge of the Chicago area, and found this hotel on Expedia as one of the least expensive options, so after a cab ride from O'Hare, we checked into our room. It was a great looking hotel in what turned out to be a very nice neighborhood a couple blocks from Wrigley Field, and a 30 min bus ride to downtown. We came to Chicago with the attitude that we were stuck in an unknown city, but left very happy and absolutely loved the city, and especially the look, feel, and experience of the Majestic Hotel. The staff was very helpful. Rox, Dan, Mona, Jesse, Frank and Dris treated us very well, and suggested great places to go, as well as the best ways to get there. We will definitely come back for another stay here next time we are in the area. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KnR14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Great hotel - comfortable rooms and bed, great service and outstanding location. It is in a great neighborhood not far from the lake and Wrigley Field. Staying here puts you a short walk to some great restaurants, pubs, the beach and Wrigley Field.

The complimentary breakfast is not spectacular, but serviceable, and the common room is inviting and comfortable. Great service from Dan - very personable and great outlook on life! A bit expensive, but we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cross River, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed one night at the Majestic, which is just a short block off of Lake Shore Drive. Hotel was likely an old apartment building that was converted into a boutique. Rooms are small but well appointed and clean; not somewhere that you'd bring the kids for a few days but great for a single person who is there for the weekend for a Cubs game (about a 15 minute walk to Wrigley as well as to the CTA station) or to explore along Lake Shore, The neighborhood is very safe and has a few good spots for drinks and breakfast. You are also only about a $12 cab ride from The Loop, so you can get to anything there easily.The staff at the hotel were outstanding, not only accommodating to needs and requests but just downright friendly -- Mona was especially great. The place is also quite a value at $150 per night; even the $22 for parking wasn't bad, either.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This older boutique hotel is in a very nice area north of town by Wrigley Field. Awesome attention to detail. Dan the Concierge is the "go to" man for current information on what to do in Chicago, where to eat, and how to ride the bus..etc. Would come back here just for his love of the city and the attention he gives to guests. Good morning breakfast..simple and easy, comforting atmosphere
I will be ready to come back. Staff excels. Loved Chicago!.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PalmTreePeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Originally, the Majestic was selected because many other hotels in the Chicago were so expensive. Our group was attending a trade show at the convention center and found the Majestic was a reasonable cab ride to the convention center (approximately $20.00 each way.) The staff at this property went above and beyond to provide excellent customer service. All the staff members were very helpful and willing to assist with any request.

The added bonus was the proximity to Wrigley Field. A friend of mine was meeting our group for a Cubs game and he had to park further than the hotel was located from Wrigley Field. In addition, the hotel is a five minute cab ride to a nice area with a plethora of dining options and activities throughout the night.

The rooms were above average and the bed was very comfortable. A good wireless connection was provided and there were no issues connecting to the internet. In addition, there was a nice breakfast. Fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, cereal, pastries, milk, juices, coffee and other items were provided. The common area was well kept and ample space for sitting and talking with other guests.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#73 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#112 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#145 of 188 in Chicago
3.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Hotel

Property: Majestic Hotel
Address: 528 West Brompton Place, Chicago, IL 60657
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lakeview
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#27 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#28 Business Hotel in Chicago
#31 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Majestic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago hotel located near Lake Michigan. One block south of Addison and Lake Shore Drive ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing