We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chicago Lake Shore Hotel
Ranked #160 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed at the property for Thanksgiving week. The staff is friendly and the rooms were kept clean (daily). Yes the decor and carpet were outdated; but, I also noticed that they were in the process of renovating the hotel. Our room had a refrigerator and microwave. The hotel offered a free shuttle which dropped us off by the John Hancock. We took the metra (a 5 minute walk from the front door) most times to enjoy the theater and other activities in downtown Chicago. For the price we paid, it was well worth our stay. The staff was very friendly & cheerful & helpful. We were within walking distance from some very good dining options in Hyde Park. Luxury, no. But an affordable/comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tim43929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamse, Director of Sales at Chicago Lake Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments. Were glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will have the time to visit again and see our "new look" when we are done! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

Clean property in a handy, Hyde Park, Chicago location. Lakeshort was just across the highway. Hotel infrastructure (i.e. elevator) is older but the furnishings and decor is nicely updated and very clean. Desk staff were efficient and pleasant. There is a reasonably priced breakfast available on the property. All was good but the best value and enjoyment for our family was the free shuttle. There are 2 standard routes - one to the U of Chicago and one to standard drop spots at John Hancock/downtown. The driver (John) is an excellent conversationalist, Chicago historian and promoter of the City along with being a very competent, on -time Chicago driver! He made our trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
3  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamse, Director of Sales at Chicago Lake Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Thanks for your wonderful comments. John our driver does go out of his way to make our guests visit a memorable one and I'm glad you got to experience "Chicago." Yes our breakfast buffet is very popular with our guests and so is our Sunday Brunch. Thanks again and we hope to see you back here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The staff is very helpful and friendly, they go out of there way to make you feel at home! The hotel itself is in need of updating, the carpet in the halls is frayed and loose! But I would go back just because the staff makes it so inviting!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brecat72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamse, Director of Sales at Chicago Lake Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Thanks for your kind comments about our staff! They do try hard to make our guests feel welcome. Hopefully the results of our renovation will please you even more when you come back. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Our group was very happy to stay in the hotel. Spacious rooms with comfortable beds, complimentary shuttle bus to downtown and back with very helpful drivers! Live jazz night in Lake Shore Cafe with great sea food buffet was just amazing!
In general for a very reasonable price you get great service and the location with lake view is very convenient as it is located really close to all important places!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamse, Director of Sales at Chicago Lake Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Natalia, Thanks for your kind words. We enjoyed your groups stay with us and glad to know you made it back home safely since you traveled so far. Yes our Seafood Buffet with live jazz is very popular on Friday nights, were glad you enjoyed it. We hope to see you back in 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We used this property for wedding guests. It was the best location for our needs. Though the hotel stated the rooms were to be renovated, the majority of the rooms were in poor condition and most of the renovations were sub par at best. All of the wedding guests that stayed there stated that despite this, the staff made up for it in excellent customer service. When my hysband and I stayed there for 3 nights after our wedding, we would have to agree. The renovations weren't done very well but everybody we came into contact with were very friendly and went above and beyond. The location of the hotel is phenomenal! Right on Lake Shore Drive with great views of the lake.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Lake Michigan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iris I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamse, Director of Sales at Chicago Lake Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Iris,

Thanks for sharing your thought about your experience here. I'm glad our staff did a great job. Unfortunately, when you were here the renovation was far from over and I'm pleased to let you know that as we are now wrapping things up you won't believe the positive changes. We hope to see you back here again. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Our first room had a green wall of mildew. We were able to change it to one mildly mildewed. This place is a health hazard. The front desk is crowded with people complaining. There is no service. It is convenient to lake shore drive but not to Hyde park itself

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dp_2000NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamse, Director of Sales at Chicago Lake Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

I apologize your stay did not go well. We did an immediate inspection of the rooms and have yet to find what you are describing. I wish you had asked for a manager as we would of taken care of it immediately. Fortunately for us our guests do not normally have that type of experience but were glad you brought it to our attention. In actually we are located in Hyde Park and were just two blocks from great shopping and some of the finest restaurants in Chicago. We even offer our guests a free shuttle to the local area for their convenience. Were sorry you didn't get to experience that during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I would just like to state first hand that we as a couple do not tend to complain when things aren't favorable. We stayed here in October of 2013 because this is where we reserved a room in the wedding block for a wedding we were attending. When we got to our room we did not notice anything out of the ordinary except they were really rather run down rooms, especially compared to the lobby. We've stayed in worse though, so it wasn't a big deal. After we went out for a few drinks with friends, we came back to our room, and was overwhelmed by an awful sewage smell. We called the front desk and they sent someone up to look at it. He told us there was a bad seal on our toilet and then just looked at us expecting us to just say okay? I'm not sure. My boyfriend asked if we could switch rooms because the smell was overwhelming. The maintenance man came back about a half-hour later with keys to a new room. Yippee!

When we got up to the new room, I had to open the windows immediately because it smelled like they sprayed a whole bottle of old air freshner in there. We aired out the room for a few minutes, then as we were getting ready for bed, we noticed the same sewage smell! We don't make a habit of complaining, so we just stuck it out, but every time we left the hotel we made sure to open our windows so we wouldn't come back to an overwhelming sewer stench. Thank goodness the windows did open, but the problem was it would get so cold, and it is right off of lakeshore drive so it was extremely loud. It was honestly a miserable experience.

Just a few other things, our toilet paper roll that was on the fixture ready to use had some sort of bodily fluid smeared across the side of it and our tv channels kept going out. I heard of a bad experience in one of the elevators by another couple that was staying there, so we avoided that elevator. I must say that the man that picked us up on the shuttle from the Palmer House, was very nice and filled us in on some of the local information about Chicago. He was great!

Now on to check out. We stayed there 4 nights, and were told our total was $647 (or something around there) and my boyfriend asked what it was a night and if that was the military discount price. She said no it was $139, military discount is $109, but we can't change it. Oh really? You can't change it? How convenient for you. So we paid $650 for a crappy experience (pun intended), that, had we not wanted to hurt our friends feelings by switching hotels, we would have in a heartbeat. Especially with the hindsight after we checked out, with their blatant refusal to give us the military price we should have received. Are you kidding me? I guess we should have spoke up about the sewage and switched rooms a few more times. It's always nice to see the respect that Chicago as a whole gives to military men and women serving our country, but I was severely disappointed in this hotel. It was definitely the worst experience I've had in Chicago.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SideShowRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamse, Director of Sales at Chicago Lake Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Thank you for telling us about your experience. We do want our guests to have a positive experience during their stay and I can say that yours was not typical. I was on duty that weekend and I wish you had spoken up more as we could have rectified the situation. John our driver does a great job as you mentioned thank you. Again I'm sorry that this was your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Kenwood
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago - Lake Shore
O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
#141 of 192 in Chicago
671 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amber Inn
#166 of 192 in Chicago
75 reviews
Carlton Inn Midway
#52 of 192 in Chicago
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Lake Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Lake Shore Hotel

Address: 4900 South Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60615-3277
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Kenwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £61 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chicago Lake Shore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago Lake Shore is an independent hotel located just ten minutes from downtown Chicago overlooking Lake Michigan We are near McCormick Place and University of Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Chicago Lake Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Lake Shore - Chicago Hotel Chicago
Ramada Lake Shore Chicago
Ramada Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing