We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some aces and some really big spaces (for you bridge players)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chicago Lake Shore Hotel
Ranked #154 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Some aces and some really big spaces (for you bridge players)”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Shannon, front-desk staff member, is truly outstanding. The hotel itself clearly has seen much better and earlier days, however, and the lobby area should be among the first to get a really good makeover. The affiliated restaurant was excellent, while pricey (you are lakefront in Chicago, after all). The price was reasonable, even considering the additional premium to guarantee a lakefront view, and one of the very few properties we considered that didnt charge atrocious rates (free!) for parking. We strongly suggest that future guests ensure when both reserving AND checking in that (1) they are in a room that has been (nicely!) renovated and (2) that the room they are in is not anywhere in the vicinity of any OTHER rooms currently being loudly and thoroughly renovated, even up into the night hours. Also, the lake view rooms are right on Lake Shore Drive -- a busy and noisy thoroughfare at all hours -- but the view is definitely there. Another caveat -- be sure to check all of the windows -- none of ours were locked upon arrival although they were only on the second floor and just above the front marquee! In brief -- caveat emptor -- check and double-check specifics and do try to take advantage of these pieces of advice, and you should have a pleasant, relatively inexpensive stay in Chi-town. It is located in a good area for lots of interesting things to do, and only six relatively easy miles from Grant/Millenium Parks, Symphony Hall, the Art Center and Loop area, etc. (We ended up driving instead of using the shuttle, since our schedule was dependent upon others.)

Room Tip: Just be sure not to be in any way near any part of the property undergoing renovation -- it is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merrybrook11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamse, Director of Sales at Chicago Lake Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your response. We are trying to address alot with our renovation and our new windows we are installing should help with the sound issue mentioned. Your right about our location in that we are close to everything and our free parking can save our guests as much as $50.00 a day. Our free shuttle to downtown and local public transportation is very convenient

Thanks again and I hope you stop by to see the results..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    28
    32
    17
    36
See reviews for
31
25
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed at the Chicago Lake Shore Hotel in June 2014, during a conference held at the Univ of Chicago. Although the hotel may not look appealing to those who expect a fancy and luxurious experience for a holiday, I tremendously enjoyed my stay here, for its excellent location, helpful and friendly front desk staff, and the fair price.

In particular, I would like to give my special thanks to the shuttle bus driver Mr. John Brown, who is responsible, friendly and warm-hearted. I took the shuttle bus for the entire week during my conference, and I was the only passenger on each ride (most guests drive their own cars). To my (pleasant!) surprise, every morning John arrived several minutes before 8:30am and kindly waited for me in the lobby, and every evening he picked me up at the university, punctually as well. Moreover, we had many good conversations during the bus ride, and he gave me very detailed and helpful information about the neighbourhood of Hyde Park and the city. Once I asked him about the dining places near the hotel, and he even arranged a special tour passing through two Thai restaurants! Well, in brief, John is a superb driver and a very kind person, and I believe that every guest using the shuttle bus service will have a great experience meeting him.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monge_Ampere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamse, Director of Sales at Chicago Lake Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. Yes we and everyone that comes here seem to love John! He's a great driver and a great tour guide! We do have many assorted restaurants and shops nearby for our guests convenience. Our staff as a whole does try to do their best to make your stay an enjoyable one. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenexa, KS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed 5 days as a family at this hotel. Our overall experience was good, mostly due to the excellent customer service from the front desk staff and the shuttle drivers, John and Ann. The room was clean and comfortable, though small. The layout of the hotel, with private hallways with only 6 rooms per hallway, made for a quiet sleep. We had a few glitches, but nothing big. The outside of the facility is in need of repair and is nothing to look at, but it sounds like they are working to renovate the property.
As for location, the hotel offers a great view of the lake, and walking trails very close by. The hotel is a good distance from downtown, but thanks to John and Ann, the super friendly and helpful shuttle drivers, we were able to get everywhere we wanted to go. (Thanks John and Ann for the excellent service!).
We found a couple of small markets within walking distance to purchase snacks and breakfast from. The neighborhood was nice, and we felt fine walking around there with our kids.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SarBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamse, Director of Sales at Chicago Lake Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thanks for your review. Yes Ann and John do a great job and our whole front desk staff tries hard to make your stay enjoyable. The shops nearby are convenient and offer a lot for our guests. Our location and price is the number one reason guests choose us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed there for a week. The hotel has an excellent location, good room service and a fairly good price. Hotels in chicago are generally very expensive. Bathrooms are very small with sinks outside the room. There is also a parking lot for hotel customers. The near by walking track by the lake is breath taking. There are also some resturants near by.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hok9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamse, Director of Sales at Chicago Lake Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thanks for your review we appreciate you taking the time out. Yes our views of the lake and the city skyline are fantastic and our guests comment that they would have to pay three times as much downtown to get these kind of views! Hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We read all the reviews and wondered what the hotel would be like once we arrived, but the price and location were appealing. We were pleasantly surprised. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and nice with a partial view of the lake. The drivers, John and another lady whose name we didn't catch were wonderful tour guides on the free shuttle into the city. For another trip to the university, we would stay again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamse, Director of Sales at Chicago Lake Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your kind words and were glad you enjoyed your stay. Not everyone who has a positive experience takes the extra time to write. So thank you for that. Many families stay with us every night while visiting their kids at the University of Chicago. We always enjoy them when they come and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I have to say, after reading some of the reviews I was nervous. I was pleasantly surprised! Neighborhood was lovely, staff was more than nice, room was clean and comfortable. Gabby and Shannon at the front desk treated us like family. The shuttle drivers John, and Annie were overly accommodating. Having free shuttle to and from McCormick place was a huge surprise bonus! I must say, I have never felt so welcome at a hotel before. Customer service is obviously very important to these people and it shines through their demeanor. I hope they realize how much we appreciated their kindness. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor and we had no issues with it. If you want frills, stay somewhere e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamse, Director of Sales at Chicago Lake Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words! We do try and go that extra mile whenever we can. We were glad you stayed with us and we hope you come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

really, the only reason to stay here is location. but even if you are visiting the University of Chicago, you are much better off driving and staying somewhere else. I stayed in a room which had been "renovated". yes, the tv is now digital, and the arm chair and bedspread were new, but the end tables and dresser are still old, faded wood with brass handles, like something from a garage sale. this place just feels like a 1970s motel. I tried to cancel my reservation at 4;15, 15 minutes past the deadline, and the woman who answered the phone was extraordinarily rude and wouldn't let me do it. you will get a better deal bidding on a well-reviewed hotel at a bidding website instead. i would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Illinois_traveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Kenwood
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago - Lake Shore
Hyde Park
Hyatt Place Chicago-South/University Medical Center
Amber Inn
#160 of 189 in Chicago
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
#137 of 189 in Chicago
637 reviews
Southwest Side
Quality Inn Midway Airport
Quality Inn Midway Airport
#141 of 189 in Chicago
171 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Lake Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Lake Shore Hotel

Property: Chicago Lake Shore Hotel
Address: 4900 South Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60615-3277
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Kenwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chicago Lake Shore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago Lake Shore is an independent hotel located just ten minutes from downtown Chicago overlooking Lake Michigan We are near McCormick Place and University of Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chicago Lake Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Lake Shore - Chicago Hotel Chicago
Ramada Lake Shore Chicago
Ramada Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing