We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but need to complete renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chicago Lake Shore Hotel
Ranked #160 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
An EasyToBook.com traveler
Augusta
2
Reviewed 1 July 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
214gene, Manager at Chicago Lake Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

GREAT amazing location, decent BED to sleep on and thee friendliest shuttle driver EVER!! And that is where the positives end.

As soon as we pull up to the hotel you can still see the old "Ramada" sign imprinted in dirt on the Front of the building. When we were checking in the receptionist was not friendly, did not smile once, and spoke in a tone that clearly showed her disdain for her job. This was thee worst first impression I have ever had, and I have even stayed at a motel before.

I understand they are renovating the place, but truthfully it was a scary hallway leading up to our rooms. EVERYTHING was dingy and blackened of old dirt. I hope they "renovate" quickly.

The worst thing about the place, however, was the staff. We fought to get towels and couldn't even get a days worth of towels without having to trade the old ones in. I even saw another lady ask the front receptionists for an extra towel and the receptionists denied her. I developed a blister from walking and asked for 2 bandaids, the receptionist had to dig in the drawer not even sure if they had any and only came up with ONE. I asked the environmental services and she did not have one either. Shouldn't the front desk be prepared with a first aid kit and BANDAIDS at the very least? Every time we asked a question, they looked at us like we were burdening them with problems....we just wanted to know about the shuttle and how to get to the lake!! I can probably go on and on about the horrible service we received, but overall I would recommend NEVER stay here!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kristine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamse, Director of Sales at Chicago Lake Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for your comments. Our old sign was removed and what you see is the difference in color in the stucko around the old letters but not dirt as you say. I am happy to say that we are excited about the renovation and they have just begun working on the outside which will give us a new look and remove that faded image of the old name. The hallway you mentioned and went to look at was just a lighting issue and not dirt as you suggested but thanks for bring it to our attention. I am sorry you had an issue with towels and we have discussed it with the front desk staff and hopefully we have addressed the issue. The band aid issue is something that we cannot help with as it would be construed as giving medical advice or medical service and from a liability issue no hotel would be willing to offer such in today's litigious society. Our front desk clerks attitude is normally quite good as many of the comments have expressed so I'm sorry you experienced something different. I hope you have the opportunity to come by again soon and see the difference with our renovation. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Shannon, front-desk staff member, is truly outstanding. The hotel itself clearly has seen much better and earlier days, however, and the lobby area should be among the first to get a really good makeover. The affiliated restaurant was excellent, while pricey (you are lakefront in Chicago, after all). The price was reasonable, even considering the additional premium to guarantee a lakefront view, and one of the very few properties we considered that didnt charge atrocious rates (free!) for parking. We strongly suggest that future guests ensure when both reserving AND checking in that (1) they are in a room that has been (nicely!) renovated and (2) that the room they are in is not anywhere in the vicinity of any OTHER rooms currently being loudly and thoroughly renovated, even up into the night hours. Also, the lake view rooms are right on Lake Shore Drive -- a busy and noisy thoroughfare at all hours -- but the view is definitely there. Another caveat -- be sure to check all of the windows -- none of ours were locked upon arrival although they were only on the second floor and just above the front marquee! In brief -- caveat emptor -- check and double-check specifics and do try to take advantage of these pieces of advice, and you should have a pleasant, relatively inexpensive stay in Chi-town. It is located in a good area for lots of interesting things to do, and only six relatively easy miles from Grant/Millenium Parks, Symphony Hall, the Art Center and Loop area, etc. (We ended up driving instead of using the shuttle, since our schedule was dependent upon others.)

Room Tip: Just be sure not to be in any way near any part of the property undergoing renovation -- it is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merrybrook11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamse, Director of Sales at Chicago Lake Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for your response. We are trying to address alot with our renovation and our new windows we are installing should help with the sound issue mentioned. Your right about our location in that we are close to everything and our free parking can save our guests as much as $50.00 a day. Our free shuttle to downtown and local public transportation is very convenient

Thanks again and I hope you stop by to see the results..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed at the Chicago Lake Shore Hotel in June 2014, during a conference held at the Univ of Chicago. Although the hotel may not look appealing to those who expect a fancy and luxurious experience for a holiday, I tremendously enjoyed my stay here, for its excellent location, helpful and friendly front desk staff, and the fair price.

In particular, I would like to give my special thanks to the shuttle bus driver Mr. John Brown, who is responsible, friendly and warm-hearted. I took the shuttle bus for the entire week during my conference, and I was the only passenger on each ride (most guests drive their own cars). To my (pleasant!) surprise, every morning John arrived several minutes before 8:30am and kindly waited for me in the lobby, and every evening he picked me up at the university, punctually as well. Moreover, we had many good conversations during the bus ride, and he gave me very detailed and helpful information about the neighbourhood of Hyde Park and the city. Once I asked him about the dining places near the hotel, and he even arranged a special tour passing through two Thai restaurants! Well, in brief, John is a superb driver and a very kind person, and I believe that every guest using the shuttle bus service will have a great experience meeting him.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Monge_Ampere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamse, Director of Sales at Chicago Lake Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words. Yes we and everyone that comes here seem to love John! He's a great driver and a great tour guide! We do have many assorted restaurants and shops nearby for our guests convenience. Our staff as a whole does try to do their best to make your stay an enjoyable one. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed 5 days as a family at this hotel. Our overall experience was good, mostly due to the excellent customer service from the front desk staff and the shuttle drivers, John and Ann. The room was clean and comfortable, though small. The layout of the hotel, with private hallways with only 6 rooms per hallway, made for a quiet sleep. We had a few glitches, but nothing big. The outside of the facility is in need of repair and is nothing to look at, but it sounds like they are working to renovate the property.
As for location, the hotel offers a great view of the lake, and walking trails very close by. The hotel is a good distance from downtown, but thanks to John and Ann, the super friendly and helpful shuttle drivers, we were able to get everywhere we wanted to go. (Thanks John and Ann for the excellent service!).
We found a couple of small markets within walking distance to purchase snacks and breakfast from. The neighborhood was nice, and we felt fine walking around there with our kids.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SarBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamse, Director of Sales at Chicago Lake Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thanks for your review. Yes Ann and John do a great job and our whole front desk staff tries hard to make your stay enjoyable. The shops nearby are convenient and offer a lot for our guests. Our location and price is the number one reason guests choose us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed there for a week. The hotel has an excellent location, good room service and a fairly good price. Hotels in chicago are generally very expensive. Bathrooms are very small with sinks outside the room. There is also a parking lot for hotel customers. The near by walking track by the lake is breath taking. There are also some resturants near by.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hok9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamse, Director of Sales at Chicago Lake Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thanks for your review we appreciate you taking the time out. Yes our views of the lake and the city skyline are fantastic and our guests comment that they would have to pay three times as much downtown to get these kind of views! Hope we see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We read all the reviews and wondered what the hotel would be like once we arrived, but the price and location were appealing. We were pleasantly surprised. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and nice with a partial view of the lake. The drivers, John and another lady whose name we didn't catch were wonderful tour guides on the free shuttle into the city. For another trip to the university, we would stay again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
4  Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamse, Director of Sales at Chicago Lake Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your kind words and were glad you enjoyed your stay. Not everyone who has a positive experience takes the extra time to write. So thank you for that. Many families stay with us every night while visiting their kids at the University of Chicago. We always enjoy them when they come and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Kenwood
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago - Lake Shore
O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
#141 of 192 in Chicago
671 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amber Inn
#166 of 192 in Chicago
75 reviews
Carlton Inn Midway
#52 of 192 in Chicago
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Lake Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Lake Shore Hotel

Address: 4900 South Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60615-3277
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Kenwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £61 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chicago Lake Shore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago Lake Shore is an independent hotel located just ten minutes from downtown Chicago overlooking Lake Michigan We are near McCormick Place and University of Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Chicago Lake Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Lake Shore - Chicago Hotel Chicago
Ramada Lake Shore Chicago
Ramada Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing