We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite Hotel in Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #41 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“My Favorite Hotel in Chicago”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This property is a quaint, quiet, well run newly remodeled Hyatt. Offering all of the amenities of the Hyatt experience from pleasant, clean décor to extremely well trained staff that puts the guest first. Conveniently located 2 blocks east of Michigan and app 8 blocks north of Wacker you will find yourself in the heart of shopping and fine/casual dining to your hearts content. If you don't enjoy the hustle/bustle of the convention type hotel you might just love this location.

Room Tip: Open a Hyatt passport account and the front desk will give you the best available room in your class...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Just knowing that the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile is your favorite hotel in Chicago has made my day! We like to think that we are as stunning as we are convenient because we are actually just one block away from Michigan Avenue and the Magnificent Mile. Our recently completed renovation has been overwhelmingly received and we are getting a lot of positive feedback from our guests as well as meeting planners who love the design effort and upgrades such as our "Escape Bar" next to the hotel lobby which includes space for informal small meetings, intimate social gathering or just as a place to check emails and/or enjoy a good book from the hotel's library. We also realize that many of our visitors choose us because our staff treats all of our guests as "family." Come back and see us again soon!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,321
    585
    117
    50
    32
See reviews for
571
444
88
733
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The staff was very friendly and very helpful. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Would recommend to anyone. Located a block off the magnificent mile.Many shops and restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcorea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Your very kind review of the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile is one to be treasured! We like to feel that our hotel is a great place for a weekend getaway, business trip, special event or whatever reason brings you to our city. Our location makes it easy for guests to check out everything that Chicago has to offer. We thank you for your nice comments about our staff - very friendly and very helpful are what they are all about! Our staff cannot wait to welcome you back once again.

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This is a great hotel one of the nicest I have stayed in while in Chicago. They have updated a lot and the restaurant area and rooms are fresh and new. The fitness area is fantastic. The staff is more than friendly and helpful. The TV and amenities are new and and up to date including a great internet signal. The location is great for shopping and downtown fun and entertainment. The only negative and if your a light sleeper you will want to use the supplied ear plugs is the hospital across the street has ambulances all night and day and it can be loud. I was on the 17th floor the highest in the building and I heard them. I do recommend this hotel because the positives far outweigh the evening sirens.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor with a city view, and park next door and save $15 a day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OntarioFundaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
We are glad that you recommended our hotel for guests to Chicago. Our newly renovated hotel which is located near the Northwestern Hospital and University campus is a favorite with those who frequent our city. Everything is brand new from top to bottom and our hotel has an added bonus in that we have special rates for our Northwestern guests who are visiting. We also offer discounted rates to guests of Lurie Children's Hospital and the Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago. These rates are subject to availability, but are priceless to those who spend time or are employed by at any of the area hospitals. Our great hotel with its fabulous location is one that we are proud of. We hope to see you again soon.

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013

From the time I booked the hotel to the time I left I was absolutely amazed at the how much effort and care the staff at the Hyatt put in to making sure we had a good stay. They upgraded us to a suite for our anniversary and anytime we had any requests, they were at our door within 5 minutes! The hotel was clean and nice. The location could not be beat as it was an easy walk to the lake and a block from the shopping. I would most definitely stay there anytime we want to go to Chicago.

Room Tip: Ask if you can get a room on the other side of the hospital. Sometimes the ambulances could get a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
We love the word AMAZING when talking about our hotel! The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile appreciates your feedback on TripAdvisor about your recent visit. Even though we have a brand new product, it is our fabulous staff that is really our best asset. Great hospitality and good customer service is what we at Hyatt are all about and we are glad you were able to experience this for yourself when you were here. Please spread the word to all of your friends, family and business associates!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We recently stayed in this Hyatt overnight for our two-day getaway to Chicago with my friend. We booked one room with two queen beds.

I was a little worried booking, as there weren't a lot of reviews about this particular hotel - compared to the other hotels in the area. But I decided to go ahead and book it, keeping in mind all other Hyatts I ever stayed in. And it was good decision!

The hotel was very nice, well designed and clean. The room was very clean and well equipped, there was even a mini-refrigerator in the room, which I always am happy about, but which is hard to get unless you are staying in "suite-type" hotel. We got AAA-rate with breakfast included, which was a good deal really, as the buffet-breakfast was great, with good selection of hot items, pastry and fruit available.

The hotel lobby and the breakfast place are on the second floor, but also there is a Starbucks on the first floor, which is nice: we used hotels valet parking, and were sitting in Starbucks nicely while waiting for our car.

The valet parking is pricy, but it's normal price for downtown Chicago. I chose valet parking, because parking in downtown Chicago is a bit confusing for a person who doesn't park there every day. Last time we parked without valet there, we could not find our car for a while in the huge parking structure. So I decided to pay a little more - to save my nerves.

Also we got pleasantly surprised: my friend flew to Chicago by airplane, and she forgot to bring her hairbrush and hairspray with her. Guess what - we got them from Hyatt for free. There is a list of items, like hairbrush, toothbrush and stuff like that you can get, if you forgot your own. My friend was very-very happy, that she didn't need to buy hairbrush, as she already had one at home :)

Overall - I was not disappointed, we got real Hyatt quality, enjoyed staying there, and we'll definitely be back once we need an accommodation for two in downtown Chicago.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItsmeJoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile thanks you for your 5 star review on TripAdvisor. We do not have as many reviews as other Chicago hotels as we are new to the Hyatt family having just completed a $25 million dollar renovation in June 2013. We are happy you chose us to stay with for your recent getaway. Our guests love the renovations, the contemporary design and state-of-the-art amenities. Hyatt Gold Passport members such as yourself as excited to have another wonderful option when coming to Chicago. The valet parking that we offer is great for those unfamiliar with the city as you mentioned and there is no extra change for in and out privileges while you are staying with us. It is a comfort to our visitors to know they can just pull up in front of the hotel and not have to worry about where to park. Come back and see us again soon!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Great location...have stayed here 3 times when I'm in Chicago...very hospitable...loved Eric at the front desk, his outstanding personality and kindness made are girls weekend even better..The service has always been amazing and the rooms are very clean. Parking overnight is $59.00 a night for valet service. Seems a little high but all parking in Chicago is HIGH...

Room Tip: Have stayed at this hotel 3 times and would definitely recommend staying here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
It sounds like your girls weekend was a huge success! Thank you for your feedback and kind words. The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile is located just steps from Michigan Avenue and the Magnificent Mile with all of its fabulous shopping which makes a sought-after hotel when travelers are coming to Chicago. We are just a short walk to Navy Pier, Water Tower and the shores of Lake Michigan. The hotel is surrounded by charming neighborhood restaurants, bars and shops that are the area's vitality. Your acknowledgment of one of our staff will be recognized at the next employee meeting. We look forward to hosting you and your girlfriends again soon!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I had previously stayed at this hotel when it was a Wyndham property many years ago and recently learned that it underwent a major renovation after changing ownership. It has been some time since I've stayed at a Hyatt property but came away impressed on several levels after my recent stay. The location is ideal for anyone interested in shopping on Michigan Avenue...close enough to stop back at times to drop off packages or just take a break from walking. I was a bit wary of the sirens being next to the Northwestern Memorial Hospital but it did not disturb my sleep. The ambulances were much more active during the day and perhaps I simply lucked out for the evenings that I was a guest. I did notice that the hotel provides ear plugs in the nightstands if it becomes onerous.
I pay close attention to hotel cleanliness and the Hyatt did not disappoint. The only complaint in this category could be a slower than normal shower drain but it wasn't bad enough to request a room change.
The breakfast and bar area is very comfortable and was pleased with morning buffet. In general, it can be overly crowded for the breakfast buffets and despite a seemingly full hotel, it was a very relaxed and nice atmosphere with good service. Breakfast can be made to order or simply a buffet with a wide variety of food.
Finally, the staff from top to bottom were all attentive and friendly. On seemingly every walk through the lobby, I was warmly greeted by at least one but often multiple staff members. Special kudos to Bill, Evan and Becky who provided terrific customer service with a glitch that we experienced at checkout.
Will certainly put this property on my short list of hotels for future stays.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsc344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Your review title says it well: Impressive, clean and welcoming! What more can we say? Your 5 star review of the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile is very much appreciated. We thank you sincerely for commending Bill, Evan and Becky as your recognition will be very well received. Our hotel was recently reviewed as a great place for a "weekend getaway, business trip, or perhaps a special event" and we wholeheartedly agree! We are glad that your trip to Chicago was one where you could check out some of the things that make our city so great. We love being on your short list of hotels for future stays in Chicago!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#32 of 190 in Chicago
3,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#9 of 190 in Chicago
2,035 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#8 of 190 in Chicago
1,600 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#11 of 190 in Chicago
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 633 North Saint Clair Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3234 (Formerly Wyndham Chicago)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Chicago
#19 Family Hotel in Chicago
#20 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile Hotel, you'll experience the electric energy of the Windy City with a coveted address right by Michigan Avenue. Explore all the city has to offer-from noted attractions like Navy Pier to high-end shopping along the Magnificent Mile-then relax in one of our welcoming guestrooms. The hotel's 419 guest rooms, 20,000 square ft of meeting and banquet space, trendy restaurant & lounge, lobby, indoor pool and fitness center have all received a recent dramatic renovation in customer convenience, design and furnishings. State of the art technology has been incorporated throughout the hotel. Our two magnificent ballrooms will dazzle you and are perfect for social events as well as business functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing