We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just a two day training, but I'll be back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #39 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Just a two day training, but I'll be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

I had a two day conference and stayed at this hotel for the venue. It was a lovely experience. Once I got over that check-in was on the second floor... I had a two queens for just myself and I really enjoyed the contemporary decor and night light everytime I hit the floor in the middle of the night! The beds were like sleeping on a cloud and the entertainment unit was very ingenious to utilize space. I liked the sliding door on the bathroom and the lamp/shelf upon entryway to put keys, etc. when entering room. this hotel was next door to Friday's and a couple blocks from the shopping areas that I frequented in the two days visiting. Because of the location it was perfect for wintery weather to either go out for dinner or stay in the hotel. The ballrooms were perfectly set up for the conference everyday and there were some many willing to assist with navigating the break out sessions. excellent contential breakfast, lunch and snacks.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Your 5 Star review of the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile was very much appreciated! It was the goal of the designers of our newly reinvented property to give our guests a lovely experience with top-of-the-line technology. We like to think of our hotel as comfortable and contemporary. Everything is new from top to bottom. Meeting planners have been giving us high marks for the ease in which they can book a meeting with our sales team. One phone call or email to get the ball going and they take it from there! As you could see for yourself, our banquet staff is very experienced on how to provide excellent service to all of the attendees of each meeting or conference that is held here. Please keep us in mind the next time you travel to Chicago whether it be for business or fun!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,199
    543
    103
    45
    28
See reviews for
527
412
82
643
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
333 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Stayed here for a long weekend trip. Location is central to magnificent mile shops, spacious newly remodeled lobby. Booked a suite and it was huge, the size of a NYC apartment huge. Living room had a L-shaped sofa that can seat 9 people and still plenty of room to do yoga. The bedroom is equally large and bathroom was spacious as well. The only small complaints to beware, front entrance currently under remodel, so only side entrance is accessible and sometimes difficult for taxis to get to. Our taxi let us off at the corner and we can to wheel our luggage around to the entrance. Also, we checked in on a Friday early evening (clearly later than standard 3 or 4pm check in) and was told our room was not ready. They asked us to wait in the lobby for a few minutes, problem was, it's Friday night and the lobby bar was packed! The lobby and bar is sort of one long continuous area, so every seat was taken. They did not even have a bench or any area reserved for guest check in. With our roller bags, we finally found empty chairs to sit and wait. It was probably closer to 15+ mins before they came to get us. They offered an nice apology but no other gestures for our room clearly not being ready past check in time and the inconvenience in having to wait in uncomfortable chairs after a long day of flying; and we're Hyatt Platinum members too. Didn't particularly like welcomed guests that day.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luvtosafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Our one bedroom executive suites at the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent are super popular with our guests! You can escape the city in our 735-square-foot completely renovated suite, appointed with one king bed, pull-out sofa, living area and oversized remodeled bathroom with large vanity. A well-lit desk allows guests to work in comfort, while available high-speed wireless Internet access keeps visitors connected away from home. Two 46” Flat Panel LCD HDTVs allow multiple guests to enjoy different shows. You will be happy to learn that our front entrance renovation was completed in July along with our new Starbucks which is on the first floor. Our Escape Bar on the second floor next to the front desk gives our guests a chance to sit and relax and has a large library. Our visitors are encouraged to sit and read a book and they can also bring them up to their room if they would like. Come see us again so you can enjoy a huge suite again!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Indiana
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

I have become a Chicago hotel snob thanks to Hotwire but for this trip I needed to have more control over the size of our room so I scoured so many hotels until I found this incredible hotel. First, the location is perfect. Central to Navy Pier, Water Tower and the Mag. Mile. We love The Corner Bakery and there is one right across the street! A Starbucks in the lobby...perfect for this time of year (winter). Gino's is very close, another bonus. We were in town for a surprise celebration for our sons engagement. He invited us and her parents as a post proposal surprise and oh was it!!! We chose the King Suite, room 1413 so that we could have a little cake & champagne party afterwards with our new soon to be daughter in-law and her family. We comfortably had 10 people in the living room. I have stayed in many hotels rooms in Chicago and this has been the most spacious even compared to another all suite hotel we love...almost double the space for more than $150.00 less! The decor is warm and cozy. There were many details I appreciated like throw pillows all over the couch to a variety of books on the shelves. The TWO 46" t.v.'s were very appreciated by all the men especially. There were so many seats available ... The large sofa, two cloth chairs, desk chair, room chair, large ottoman and bench at foot of the bed. Everything was great in this room and bathroom! The dining and bar area were so inviting. The service was excellent and everyone was very friendly. There was a very homey atmosphere throughout the hotel. If there were any negatives at all it was the occasional siren heard throughout the night but that didn't bother us as we expect a little noise in Chicago. We cannot wait to return to this hotel. My teenagers were disappointed we weren't spending more time in the room.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Your marvelous comments about your stay at the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile on TripAdvisor made my day! We are so glad your special occasion took place at our hotel. I am sure that the surprise proposal was the highlight of your trip! Our beautiful Grand Ballroom would be a perfect choice for your son's wedding as the entire ballroom has been renovated recently and is just lovely. Our wedding guests like to book extra nights when they come here for weddings so that they can combine the wedding and a little vacation at the same time. As you know, the location is fabulous and the staff is extra friendly and helpful. Our one bedroom executive suites are a big hit with families, even teenagers! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this amazing review and come back again soon!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

I travel frequently and this hotel ranks among the top I have stayed at, other than the sirens heard in the rooms (you're in the city after all), there is nothing I can fault at this Hyatt.

The rooms are modern, spacious and incredibly clean. Recently renovated/totally redone so no dirt or marks anywhere. TV is large with a great picture, wifi fast and free with many social media promos they run. Lightning different than a normal hotel but really strong.

Bathroom also spotless with excellent water pressure/temperature. Nice small pool with an excellent hot tub with jets ... felt good after walking around the Windy City.

Location is perfect for all the tourist sites in Chicago, you can walk most everywhere. Staff also very friendly.

All in all not just a great Hyatt, but a great hotel and I would definitely return if back in Chicago.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PlateMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile is thrilled with your review on TripAdvisor! We can't ask for a better word to describe our hotel other than "perfect" and we thank you so much. Our recently renovated hotel has resulted in happy guests like yourself who appreciate the brand new product. Our special guest room lighting has been a big hit with our travelers as most of our lighting is on sensors which assists our guests and helps us save energy. We hope that you will think of us as your "home away from home" when visiting Chicago whether it is for business or leisure.

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Our family stayed here for Thanksgiving and this hotel was perfect. The renovation is nice and the rooms were clean. The suite had 2 large rooms and a nice size bathroom. But the greatest thing about the hotel was the staff!! Everyone at the hotel was amazing, friendly and very helpful. Location is just one block from Michigan Ave. Starbucks in the lobby was nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 903Meg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
We thank you for the wonderful review on TripAdvisor of the Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile and for spending Thanksgiving with us. Our one bedroom executive suites have proven to be very popular with our families as well as those business travelers who like to have plenty of room to move around. The suite includes a living room area with a pull out sofa sleeper as well as a separate bedroom with a king bed. Each room has a large TV. Your acknowledgment of our friendly staff will be mentioned at our next employee meeting. It is our hope that you and your family spend all of your holidays with us!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portage, MI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

When you stay at the Hyatt Magnificent Mile you are right in the middle of everything. We stayed on Black Friday. The location makes it easy to shop for a while, then bring your items back to the room and go out for more. All the staff were very helpful and the upgrades make it a nice property.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gar1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile appreciates your kind words about our hotel. We are happy that you were here with us on Black Friday to shop, shop, shop! Michigan Avenue stores on the magnificent mile were decked out in their holiday finest to welcome guests to their fabulous shops! Our great location just steps from Michigan Avenue make it easy for our visitors to come and go with their packages when they need some retail therapy! After a long day, our guests are happy to come back to their "home away from home" and enjoy a good meal at our Level Two Restaurant. We look forward to hosting you again.

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Over all It was a great experience especially now that the property got renovated would totally recommend anyone to visit and stay at this property.The treatment you get is quite exceptional thats the reason why I became a Platinum Member

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 29rodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJ B, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile extends our deepest thanks for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We love that you found your stay to be "phenomenal". Our Gold Passport Platinum members as well as all of the Hyatt Gold Passport members love staying at our property when they are in downtown Chicago. We are relatively new to the Hyatt family, but are quickly becoming a favorite destination. Our Gold Passport members know that they can enjoy exclusive benefits and earn points towards free nights with every stay and there is no charge to sign up. Think of us as your Chicago "home"!

Warmest regards,
The Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
M.J. Butler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#31 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,169 reviews
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#12 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#72 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,174 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#7 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 633 North Saint Clair Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3234 (Formerly Wyndham Chicago)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Chicago
#19 Family Hotel in Chicago
#20 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile Hotel, you'll experience the electric energy of the Windy City with a coveted address right by Michigan Avenue. Explore all the city has to offer-from noted attractions like Navy Pier to high-end shopping along the Magnificent Mile-then relax in one of our welcoming guestrooms. The hotel's 419 guest rooms, 20,000 square ft of meeting and banquet space, trendy restaurant & lounge, lobby, indoor pool and fitness center have all received a recent dramatic renovation in customer convenience, design and furnishings. State of the art technology has been incorporated throughout the hotel. Our two magnificent ballrooms will dazzle you and are perfect for social events as well as business functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing