We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #108 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed here in late July and found this hotel a tremendous value. The hotel was clean and friendly. The staff extremely helpful. people were whining about elevators at this place but we felt they were fine? Not sure why people complained. Hint: Use the service elevator! Easy to do and OK to use! Breakfast was plentiful. Delicious hot food and fruit! Nice. We asked for a Lake view on a top floor. Georgeous!! Why would you gamble with another hotel when this one meets all your needs and is on the Magnificent Mile.

Room Tip: ask for a room on 17 or higher! Spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

489 - 495 of 773 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed here on three different occasions during the winter 2011-12. The service is excellent! Very friendly staff from the front desk to the ladies serving breakfast. The location is fantastic and the suites are spacious and comfortable. We stayed in a one bedroom and a two bedroom. The layout and space is basically the same, minus the extra bedroom. The cons - the beds are extremely uncomfortable. The parking is expensive. Summer rates are too high. In the end, this is a great deal at the winter bargain rates, but the high simmer rates sent me elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

The spacious room and ideal locale helped make this stay enjoyable, but what I appreciated most was the excellent service that Lindsy provided. She made this Gold Level Marriott member feel like a Platinum. The Dodd family says a heartfelt THANK YOU to her.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovebruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Really enjoyed my stay at the marriott. The rooms were very large and spacious. The hotel was conveniently located. The breakfast offered was much better than what most hotels offer. The only drawback was the slow elevators. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadameD677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We shared a 2 bedroom suite with our son, DIL and their 2 little boys. Every thing was good, had to have more towels sent up and some dish soap. Location was great and I agree with another reviewer regarding the sticker shock at many of the venues. The biggest draw back was we needed another bathroom all to often. One small room with tub and toilet with very small vanity area outsde with another mirrior/ counter in the hall was not good for any degree of privacy. Breakfast was good with a nice variety, but there was not enough tables and seating. There was a lady that sang and she was fantastic!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with extra bathroom if your group needs more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

The location is excellent, you can walk to the Magnificent Mile, restaurants and shops. The rooms are large and clean, not perfect, but pretty good. The breakfast is quite good with pretty much everything you would expect. The front desk people are pleasant and helpful. The only negative was that the elevators were busy and slow at peak times. Hint: We did find a service elevator tucked around a corner.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marleneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

The staff at this RI were pleasant and friendly. Clean and comfortable rooms. Typical breakfast and happy hour (Tue, Wed & Thur) were great! The location could not have been better. One block off of Michigan Ave and very close to several CTA bus stops. For two moms traveling with four girls ages 6-12, we felt safe walking back to our motel no matter what time of day or night. City and traffic noise were nonexistent and the breeze from the lake was refreshing.

A couple of suggestions:

Hit breakfast between 6:45 and 7am. It starts getting really busy by 7:15.
Buy grocery items at Walgreens, especially if you are traveling with kids. Cereal, Mac and cheese, almost evreything is comparable in price to a regular grocery store. Fruit is more expensive.
Take a taxi to and from Union Station, but navigate the city by CTA busses. So convenient and you can get a 3 day unlimited ride pass for $12.
You can buy postage at the front desk and they are more than happy to send out post cards, letters, etc for you.

Overall, a wonderful experience for our first trip to Chicago and I would suggest this RI to anyone traveling to the Windy City!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the5kites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 201 E Walton Pl, Chicago, IL 60611-1685 (Formerly Residence Inn Chicago Downtown)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#52 Family Hotel in Chicago
#73 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £89 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing