We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gold Coast and Mag Mile Steps Away!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #108 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Had the pleasure to stay here this past weekend. Very, very happy with our choice. Nice, spacious, and spotless room. Walking distance (1 block) to Michigan Ave. shopping and dining. You will not be disappointed staying here!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Badger2451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

369 - 375 of 773 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

I was traveling with my 9 year old son, so high luxury was not what we needed; a comfortable, friendly place with laundry facilities is what we needed. This place scored on all fronts. We arrived by cab about 3:30 PM, were able to check-in without delay, got quarters and set about the task of doing a week's worth of laundry. The hotel is clean, the laundry facilities large, the personnel (to a person) friendly, the room MOSTLY clean (we can forgive), and the bed comfy.
The next day, while waiting for our 3:00 PM train departure, we were afforded a 1:00 check out. All of this within a minute's walk of Chicago's famed Magnificent Mile.
The evening meal and breakfast were just icing on the cake.
Bravo.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boeing767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We have been staying at the Residence Inn on East Walton since it was converted into a Residence Inn property. We treat it like a little home away from our home. Located off busy Michigan Ave, near the 900 block the RI is within walking distance of museums, restaurants and shopping. The rooms have been recently been updated and pets are welcomed. We always take a one bedroom suite so the there is plenty of room and having a seperate bedroom allows for tv watching without bothering my wife. With all the hotel options available in Chicago we feel that this one fits our need and price bracket. Free breakfast is another perk.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms on E.Walton St. side give a fabulous lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsy W, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback on our property, your home away from home. We really are an urban sanctuary, a block off Michigan Avenue, but yet situated in a very quiet residential area. Thanks for your continued loyalty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Hotel was very clean and the staff was attentive and kind. We were impressed by the size of our 2 bedroom suite, but we understood why the sitting areas and bedrooms were so huge - only one TINY bathroom. We did fine since there was only 2 of us but a bigger group might want to take note. Great location near the lake, shopping, food and fun. A little hard to find and the one way streets in that area can be confusing. Also note if you are claustrophobic that its a very BUSY hotel and there will usually be a large crowd at check-in times, plus at their breakfasts. Again, however, they have an excellent staff and wait times were short. All in all, a great stay. I would definitely stay again, and would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Our two bedroom suite only had a view of the street, and a very limited view of the lake. If you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TnTraveler1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I only stayed one night at the Residence Inn. It is steps from the Magnificent Mile and many great restaurants and bars. Check in was great, Valet was very attentive. The rooms were a bit small but thats probably to be expected in an urban hotel. The room however was very clean and well maintained. Breakfast and evening social were very run of the mill Marriott but good none the less. I'd stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dario F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

After a week at Marriott in DC I was not looking forward to this. But....
great modern clean room with cooking facilities if needed
Complementary breakfast if needed
Very pleasant staff
Great location byLake
slow lift / elevator
likely to be back

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank LordH64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsy W, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We look forward to having you return.

Lindsy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We loved the convenience of being so close to the Magnificent Mile and staying in this top quality, beautifully maintained hotel. Our suite was spectacular. The staff was courteous and helpful. The hot breakfast was wonderful. We will definitely stay here again when we come to Chicago next time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zeemoores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 201 E Walton Pl, Chicago, IL 60611-1685 (Formerly Residence Inn Chicago Downtown)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#52 Family Hotel in Chicago
#73 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £89 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing