We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #102 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“great location”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

me and my wife stay in for 4th of July
we enjoyed the firework by navy pier and the breakfast was great .we had great stay......
we like the hotel and we will recommend it to our friends. we will back again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Safwat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    295
    85
    23
    15
See reviews for
283
161
37
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I travel both for business and with family and find the twain don't often meet. However last time through Chicago my business needs required a certain area so I wound up in this Residence Inn. It's a vertical Residence Inn, as opposed the townhouse style they like in suburban locales. Room was great, spacious and clean. As this level, there's no restaurant per se but they've got the free breakfast bar and snacks for sale. Being in town, all the amenities of the big city are a short stroll away, including Water Place.

Room Tip: Not the place for full range facilities but a great family location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kentrisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois US
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

A return visit once again proved that this is about the best hotel value in the city. The 1 bedroom suites are huge and comfortable. The location can't be beat. Don't stress out about a high floor or not, the views are not the reason to go with this hotel. Staff is efficient and pleasant.
Breakfast is very good and tends to get crowded after 830 AM. Each room has a small kitchen, big fridge and a coffee maker with tea and coffee provided. Suites have an oven and ice maker, Studios don't. Each have a microwave and stovetop and dishes. There is not a restaurant serving lunch or dinner in the hotel. Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday nights there is food provided for free at 6PM. There is not a manager's drink reception at this RI. ATM in the lobby.
About the location. Perfect. If you want to visit some sites.....walk out the door, turn left walk a block and catch buses to all the major places. The free Lincoln Park zoo and park (bus 151 North) are 15 minutes away and the Art Institute and Millennium Park (151 or 147 South) are 10 to 20 minutes away by bus. Walk to Oak Street Beach (out the hotel, left then right to walk under LSD, you're there!) in about 5 or 10 minutes. The walking/running path along the Lake is right there. The path is a must do. Walk north about 15 minutes, turn around and start taking pictures of the skyline. You can walk for well over an hour in one direction then back if you want. The Mag Mile shopping and restaurants are right out your door. There are grocery stores within walking distance. If you want to get out of Downtown and visit a neighborhood- Lakeview and Lincoln Park are north and you can get there via the same 151 bus that will take you to the zoo.
A pointer about the John Hancock building which is next door -almost. Go up to the Signature Room and have a cocktail with a view. You'll have great views and you won't have to pay an observatory fee. There's a Cheesecake Factory on the lower level of the Hancock with a huge takeout dinner and lunch menu and efficient take out desk. The Hancock has much better views than the Willis tower....just saying.
Studio, or Suite...this hotel is a superior value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurinburg, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Nice hotel in a great location. Walking distance to a lot of great locations. Easy access to bus and rail. We travel often with another couple and have stayed in Residence Inns often. We prefer the 2 BR suites and have stayed in them in many cities. This 2-BR only had one bathroom. Sink in the hallway, common area. 3 mirrors all in hallway. None in BR. We're much better friends now. Breakfast is acceptable. Staff was excellent. Would use again but 2-BR suite is not sweet!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The Residence Inn Downtown is conveniently located near shopping, tourist attractions and restaurants. It was also within walking distance to my meetings. The hotel is typical for a downtown Residence Inn, meaning that the rooms are larger than in most downtown hotels, but the staff is smaller. The beds were comfortable, the hotel was reasonably quiet, although I did hear some traffic noise. This is a good hotel for business because the rooms are set up for work and the Internet access works perfectly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsy W, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Good afternoon! Thank you for staying with us while travelling on business to Downtown Chicago. We are fortunate enough to have very spacious suites in this premium location. Our suites range from 450 sq. feet to 950 sq. feet in our two bedrooms. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to seeing you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My family heads to Chicago a couple weekends a year to enjoy the city. We generally stay somewhere just off the Mag Mile, and we recently stayed at this hotel. The service at the hotel was very good, valet parking was reasonable for Chicago, and our room was large, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was free, and was fine - if you want fine dining for breakfast, there's lots of other places to head - but if you want something to get you going for the day, their breakfast is fast and pretty good. The only drawback to the facility (if you have kids) is no pool.

Room Tip: go for a high floor - less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R1ch_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsy W, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 17 February 2015
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback about your recent stay. I am sorry to learn that your experience in our hotel failed to meet your expectations and that your nights sleep was interrupted.

I hope that if your travels bring you back to Chicago, you will consdier staying with us again and we will have an opportunity to provide you with a peaceful nights rest.

Thank you,
Lindsy Wnorowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We like this hotel and come here often. What we find most appealing is most of the staff has been there for over 20 years - the bellman and doorman always remember us when we pull in and are so accommodating. I highly recommend this hotel. Great location for North Michigan Ave.

Room Tip: High floor facing the "street"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nissi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsy W, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. As you mentioned, we are very fortunate to have many of our associates working at this particular property since we opened the doors over 20 years ago. They love having the opportunity to recognize our repeat guests. We appreciate your loyalty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Streeterville
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
#115 of 190 in Chicago
849 reviews
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Property: Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Address: 201 E Walton Pl, Chicago, IL 60611-1685 (Formerly Residence Inn Chicago Downtown)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#52 Family Hotel in Chicago
#73 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing