We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Family Visit to Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #102 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quick Family Visit to Chicago”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel is in a perfect location and the service was impeccable. Gwen at the front desk made us feel welcome the second we arrived. She even went the extra step to give my two sons gummy bears. There was a hotel representative at breakfast greeting all of the guests. The service was what really made our experience special.

Room Tip: We went to a high level so that we didn't hear street noise, it was super quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    295
    85
    23
    15
See reviews for
283
161
37
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel was a great value, and I am picky about hotel rooms. It is clean, updated, huge, convenient, and in a great location. Considering the price, it is a great value. This is our go-to hotel when we are in Chicago.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank melcarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is my go-to hotel in Chicago. Friendly staff, great location, just a few blocks from Water Tower. I stayed at this location three times during the month of June, so it's nice to have a "home away from home" when I travel. Wonderful value in the Near North Side area of the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anastasia_in_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2014

me and my wife stay in for 4th of July
we enjoyed the firework by navy pier and the breakfast was great .we had great stay......
we like the hotel and we will recommend it to our friends. we will back again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Safwat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I travel both for business and with family and find the twain don't often meet. However last time through Chicago my business needs required a certain area so I wound up in this Residence Inn. It's a vertical Residence Inn, as opposed the townhouse style they like in suburban locales. Room was great, spacious and clean. As this level, there's no restaurant per se but they've got the free breakfast bar and snacks for sale. Being in town, all the amenities of the big city are a short stroll away, including Water Place.

Room Tip: Not the place for full range facilities but a great family location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kentrisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois US
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

A return visit once again proved that this is about the best hotel value in the city. The 1 bedroom suites are huge and comfortable. The location can't be beat. Don't stress out about a high floor or not, the views are not the reason to go with this hotel. Staff is efficient and pleasant.
Breakfast is very good and tends to get crowded after 830 AM. Each room has a small kitchen, big fridge and a coffee maker with tea and coffee provided. Suites have an oven and ice maker, Studios don't. Each have a microwave and stovetop and dishes. There is not a restaurant serving lunch or dinner in the hotel. Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday nights there is food provided for free at 6PM. There is not a manager's drink reception at this RI. ATM in the lobby.
About the location. Perfect. If you want to visit some sites.....walk out the door, turn left walk a block and catch buses to all the major places. The free Lincoln Park zoo and park (bus 151 North) are 15 minutes away and the Art Institute and Millennium Park (151 or 147 South) are 10 to 20 minutes away by bus. Walk to Oak Street Beach (out the hotel, left then right to walk under LSD, you're there!) in about 5 or 10 minutes. The walking/running path along the Lake is right there. The path is a must do. Walk north about 15 minutes, turn around and start taking pictures of the skyline. You can walk for well over an hour in one direction then back if you want. The Mag Mile shopping and restaurants are right out your door. There are grocery stores within walking distance. If you want to get out of Downtown and visit a neighborhood- Lakeview and Lincoln Park are north and you can get there via the same 151 bus that will take you to the zoo.
A pointer about the John Hancock building which is next door -almost. Go up to the Signature Room and have a cocktail with a view. You'll have great views and you won't have to pay an observatory fee. There's a Cheesecake Factory on the lower level of the Hancock with a huge takeout dinner and lunch menu and efficient take out desk. The Hancock has much better views than the Willis tower....just saying.
Studio, or Suite...this hotel is a superior value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurinburg, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Nice hotel in a great location. Walking distance to a lot of great locations. Easy access to bus and rail. We travel often with another couple and have stayed in Residence Inns often. We prefer the 2 BR suites and have stayed in them in many cities. This 2-BR only had one bathroom. Sink in the hallway, common area. 3 mirrors all in hallway. None in BR. We're much better friends now. Breakfast is acceptable. Staff was excellent. Would use again but 2-BR suite is not sweet!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Streeterville
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
#115 of 190 in Chicago
848 reviews
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Property: Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Address: 201 E Walton Pl, Chicago, IL 60611-1685 (Formerly Residence Inn Chicago Downtown)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#52 Family Hotel in Chicago
#73 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing