We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for families, nice location in Chicago” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #98 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
129 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good for families, nice location in Chicago”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom suite, which was very spacious and comfortable. The bathroom is small, quite different from the other Marriott hotels I've stayed before. Breakfast was included and just OK for the first two days, After that we found it boring and crowded, but as we had a kitchen, we took advantege of it and could prepare our own breakfast, which was very convenient. The location is very nice, quiet and safe, but still near all we needed, just two blocks from the Michigan. Quite close to Rush Street and all restaurant, cafes and cool shopping. It's a good choice for families or group of friends. Although pet friendly, I didn't see any dogs around, so not a problem. There is also a separate "pet lift". Excellent internet, which is always cool.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anatereza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    274
    78
    18
    14
See reviews for
260
155
36
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The staff is such a delight, giving recommendations and coupons for local dining. They had an umbrella to loan when it was raining and all had the most cheerful smiles. Loved every minute! I will be back in the fall to enjoy this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsy W, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking a moment to share your recent experience. Our team is very seasoned and loves to provide personalized service. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great location, quiet part of the street. I enjoyed being able to grab a cup of coffee in the lobby first thing in the morning & walk up a block to the lake. Staff seemed very nice, breakfast was good. I stayed on the 2nd floor which had it's pro's & con's. Pro - It always seemed that the elevator came quick, I think because there's usually one waiting at the lobby just below. Also, you can easily walk down one flight of stairs & walk right out on to the street. Con - The weight room is on the 2nd floor, In my room I could hear the treadmill/elliptical machines as well people dropping weights, that got annoying.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the 2nd floor if you're a lite sleeper, you'll hear noises from the weight room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank w650dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Marriott has pretty much spoiled us over many years. We have come to expect great customer service, cleanliness, value, a feeling of being welcomed while we are in a hotel over a long history of staying in Marriott properties. This property meets and goes beyond all of these standards. From the moment we walked in, we were greeted with staff whose interest was to make sure we were welcomed and comfortable. The hotel was full for the three nights we were there and even though the staff at the front desk had a constant barrage of questions every time we walked by, they gave every single customer the same big smile and sincere effort to make their stay a pleasant one.
Although the property seems to be a bit older, you would never know it by the way the place is kept up. They were actually taking the light fixtures in the lobby apart to clean them while we were there.
Healthy breakfast choices and coffee/tea available throughout the day.
Whoever is doing the hiring at this place has an eye for getting customer service oriented folks on the job. You can tell this ship has some good leadership at the helm!
Great location, off the beaten path but close enough to get to the magnificent mile and other locations quickly. Our room was a bit on the small side, but worth giving up the space for the premier customer service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellenem1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I was nervous when I read some if the other reviews but we had a wonderful experience here. We were looking for a room with a separate living space and kitchenette since we were bringing along my 11 month old son and this place had it all.....and it was huge. The room was very clean we had a decent view of Different buildings in a Chicago and we could walk to great shops, restaurants and the beach. The location was perfect! It was quiet (and our room was by the elevator...couldn't hear a thing) and the bed ax comfortable. The breakfast (which was free) was great, lots of choices. We would absolutely like to stay here again. Oh....one downside, which is common in all city hotels, parking is excruciatingly high! Leave your car at home and you will thoroughly enjoy your stay here!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gamecockgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We made the reservation in internet, expecting two bedrooms and two bathrooms. The rooms we had, the bathrooms we did not. There was just one, the tiniest I have ever seen. The whole establishment was a bit 80s. Nothing wrong with the 80s. The place is well maintained. The staff was second to none. They gave us all the info we needed, and with a big smile. Top points to them! The atmosphere was friendly and the breakfast and evening food standard - if you can stomach all that starch, carbohydrate and high power fructose syryp. I lived on scrambled eggs. We would go back. The Inn is extremely well situated, down the street from The Drake and the Knickerbocker.

Room Tip: Can't say. We faced Walton Place and heard nothing. Great.
See more room tips
Green Features: Can't say. You can choose whether you want fresh towels every day.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lamppu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsy W, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your recent experience with the Trip Advisor community. As you mentioned our 950 square feet two bedroom suites are equipped with one bathroom and an adjacent vanity area housing the sink and mirror. I apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you and your family. Thank you again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel is in a perfect location and the service was impeccable. Gwen at the front desk made us feel welcome the second we arrived. She even went the extra step to give my two sons gummy bears. There was a hotel representative at breakfast greeting all of the guests. The service was what really made our experience special.

Room Tip: We went to a high level so that we didn't hear street noise, it was super quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Streeterville
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
#122 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Property: Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Address: 201 E Walton Pl, Chicago, IL 60611-1685 (Formerly Residence Inn Chicago Downtown)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#52 Family Hotel in Chicago
#73 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing