We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem Downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #102 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem Downtown”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We've stayed here several times now, and you just can't beat the location for the money. It's just off Michigan Ave, around the corner from the Hancock Tower -- which means you've got restaurants, shopping, etc. all within a few blocks in all directions -- plus you can see Lake Michigan from the front door. Staff is always extremely helpful, and we love being able to have a separate bedroom for our daughter.

Room Tip: We prefer rooms on the front side of the building (odd), rather than the back side (even). The corn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gr8TravelerTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsy W, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Welcome to the Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile. We are grateful for your continued loyalty and appreciate the kind review you have shared with the Trip Advisor community. As you mentioned we are situated a block West of Lake Michigan and a block East of Michigan Avenue. The neighboorhood is refered to as Streeterville or the Gold Coast.
We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Lindsy W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    295
    85
    23
    15
See reviews for
283
161
37
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Pros: Walking distance to shopping albeit very expensive high end and plenty of restaurants. The staff were friendly. Free breakfast and wifi. There were free appetisers mid week during our stay from 6-7:30pm. Coin operated Guest Laundry is very handy!

Cons: The size of the Bathroom for a 2 Bed apartment was absolutely ridiculous. The sink was in the hallway with no room to get passed??? Toilet and shower in together with no fan!!!!!!, so to get ready in the mornings and evenings with 4 people was difficult. It does however have a gigantic main bedroom, so I'd suggest putting in a second shower at least. The aircon doesn't work on "auto" so you have to get up in the middle of the night to switch it on. The rooms are also outdated and in need of a makeover and so is the "fitness centre".

For the price they charge you can do way better. If i did stay again I would get two separate rooms. But i would look to stay on the other side of the bridge not Gold coast.

Room Tip: Get two rooms forget the 2 bedroom apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsy W, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Good afternoon. Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback on your most recent stay with us. We are very excited to announce that the hotel will be renovated ini Q1 of 2015. This will include the guest rooms, lobby, and fitness center.
We look forward to welcoming you back to experience the new product.
Kind Regards,
Lindsy W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

3

Our room was amazing, beautiful layout and everything was spacious, comfortable,  and very clean.  The valet parking was very expensive,  but still worth itto not have to drive around the mag mile traffic searching for a better deal.

 

the staff were friendly and helpful, especially the maid working on the 2nd floor this morning (8/15).

 

My one main complaint is that our key cards never worked. Everytime I left the room, the keycard stopped working and I had to go back downstairs every single time to get them to redo it.  It is a little ridiculous and they should really fix that as it defintely left me with a negative feeling toward the place.

 

But otherwise the stay was very nice!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alyson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

What was supposed to be a 50th birthday celebration with a friend turned into a comedy of errors minus the comedy. They gave away our reserved rooms on the first night, overcharged us for the weekend, and then refused to refund the money. Save yourself the hassle and book with another hotel. There are plenty other establishments nearby who will treat you so much better!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Virginia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsy W, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for the feedback, however we do not have any record of your stay at our Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile. Please contact me directly so we can provide this feedback to the proper hotel.
Kind Regards,
Lindsy W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shiloh,Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed 4 nights. Very nice hotel and the staff were great. Pros: Location: easy walking distance to great food and attractions, clean, comfortable room, good free breakfast and Tuesday/Wednesday/Thursday they have free food after 6PM. Although we didn't try it because we were heading out to eat it looked good. Cons: Parking $$$$. Parking is also available for less if you check on-line; we did and paid half the hotel rate. We really enjoyed our stay and after sightseeing all day it was great to relax and rest up for the next day's adventure. Recommended and we will stay again next time in Chicago.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wdc3293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsy W, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your recent experience. We are delighted to offer a complimentary hot breakfast buffet to include eggs, potatos, fruit, yogurt, and waffles seven days a week. We also offer complimentary evening social from 6-7:30 p.m. Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday to include light appetizers before you head out to dinner.

Our onsite valet parking includes complimentary in and out services throughout your stay as well as easy access to your vehicle. There are multiple other garage options available throughout Streeterville area that may be more cost effective based on their demand.

We look foward to hosting you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom suite, which was very spacious and comfortable. The bathroom is small, quite different from the other Marriott hotels I've stayed before. Breakfast was included and just OK for the first two days, After that we found it boring and crowded, but as we had a kitchen, we took advantege of it and could prepare our own breakfast, which was very convenient. The location is very nice, quiet and safe, but still near all we needed, just two blocks from the Michigan. Quite close to Rush Street and all restaurant, cafes and cool shopping. It's a good choice for families or group of friends. Although pet friendly, I didn't see any dogs around, so not a problem. There is also a separate "pet lift". Excellent internet, which is always cool.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anatereza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The staff is such a delight, giving recommendations and coupons for local dining. They had an umbrella to loan when it was raining and all had the most cheerful smiles. Loved every minute! I will be back in the fall to enjoy this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsy W, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking a moment to share your recent experience. Our team is very seasoned and loves to provide personalized service. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Streeterville
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
#115 of 190 in Chicago
856 reviews
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Property: Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Address: 201 E Walton Pl, Chicago, IL 60611-1685 (Formerly Residence Inn Chicago Downtown)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#52 Family Hotel in Chicago
#73 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing