We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #106 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2010

I cannot say enough about the great staff at this property. They were pleasant, helpful and informative. The hotel is in a great spot for Michigan Avenue and Rush Street. Near to Lakeshore Drive. Navy Pier is a healthy walk away, and the Shedd, etc., are not walkable, but the amenities and staff make up for that.

The valet parking, while expensive (it is Chicago after all), was very responsive. The staff reminded us of free dinner on Thursday night when we arrived. The taco bar that night was just fine and well-stocked, as was breakfast each day.

The two bedroom suite was great for our family of five.

The frontdesk helped with restaurant recommendations and with a discount coupon for one of them.

Very near to Michigan Avenue shopping and the Hancock tower.

Key recommendation: if you're hitting the museums, get the CityPass. It saves time and money. We avoided an hour wait at the Hancock and got rock star treatment in the fast line at each museum.

Great stay at an excellent Marriott property

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadTownTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

631 - 637 of 760 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2010

I would like to Thank the wonderful staff at the Residence Inn Downtown Chicago. I had a great time. Front Desk Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Also a" Great Thank You" to" Ismeha" a Residence Inn Breakfast Staff Member. Every morning Ismeha was Warm, Pleasant and Very Helpful. Thank You Marriott Residence Inn for a Wonderful Vacation!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndyTraveler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2010

Really great family friendly hotel. Staff very helpful and polite - esp welcoming at breakfast (Ismerta loves kids). Rooms clean and small kitchens great - they let you take milk, yoghurt and fruit from breakfast. Pool for kids on top floor a real plus. Great location. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caschic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2010

Could not have asked for a better hotel for our trip. We booked a two bedroom suite, which was bigger than most apartments. The beds were comfortable, living area large and inviting, the kitchen was perfect for our needs. The fridge even has an automatic ice maker. It takes a while to get going, but once it did, we had plenty of ice for our three night stay. Employees are incredibly friendly, especially the doormen.

The only negative, is the expensive parking...ouch...but we understand that this is typical for Chicago.

We would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.
Hogg Family, Collingwood, ON, Canada

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liketotravel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

My immediate family as well as my mother stayed at this establishment for a graduation at Navy Pier, and couldn't have been more pleased. Location was great, and the room comfort and size was even better. For this price don't expect views ANYWHERE in downtown chicago, but we hadan awesome room on the 14th floor and felt like we could talk with residents in the next building over and had a great view of the Hancock Center, top to bottom. I was impressed considering the density and size of most buildings downtown. The ONLY draw back was one rude nightstaff person that refused to help, but will not judge all the other friendly and accomodating staff based on ONE rude person. Hope to stay at RIDC again

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadtriprhys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

My husband and I had to find short term housing when our condo caught on fire during the summer. Staying out in the suburbs wasn't an option for us, so the Res Inn on Walnut made the most sense. Plus, they are dog friendly. While the circumstances of our stay put a damper on everything, we managed to make the most of spending a month in a hotel.

The staff was very friendly and helpful throughout our entire stay. The king suite was very roomy and comfortable. Lots of places to throw our stuff and hang our clothes. The bathroom/vanity area had lots of drawers to store all of the items we needed for the month. The internet was free and easy to use. It was helpful to have an equipped kitchen so we could make our own meals. They provided towels, clothe napkins, etc... Although I don't think they had dishsoap....that would have been helpful.

They also had activities from time to time in the lobby. Whether it be a "nacho bar Thursday" or "guest appreciation cocktail hour", it was nice to have events built into the week.

This is a good hotel if you're traveling w/a group or over a longer duration of time. It's near a lot of main bus lines and not too far from the L. Plus, Oak St Beach is right around the corner! It's also easy to get to the bike path.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

After many hours of reading reviews of many choices I picked the best Hotel for us. Everyone was so helpful and extremely nice. The room was awesome, clean, great view,fantastically comfy beds, wonderful breakfast. A few quirky things happened like our room key didn't work a few times I think because it was held next to a cell phone, a no no, it will delete your room info. We had to call the main desk from our 21st floor elevator phone for help, they were there within seconds to help us. No worries, you have to have ID though before they will let you in the room, or get it once the door opened, a good policy I must say. And the hot tub closed early one night for maintence when we really needed it. The next day they must have put too many chemicals in it cause my legs to break out and itched terribly. I didnt go back in it after that. We ate breakfast on the suite side. There is a definet difference from the residence and the suites in the lobby and the breakfast. The difference is in the comfort of the chairs in the eating area and computer area, not the staff though. Upon our departure we had several hours before our train departure. They were without question happy to hold onto our luggage after check out while we continued to shop Michigan Avenue. This was a wonderful experience. Save yourself any further checking into other hotels, this is your best bang for your buck. I'm very frugal and picky too.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boynegirl2400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Streeterville
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
#117 of 191 in Chicago
916 reviews
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 201 E Walton Pl, Chicago, IL 60611-1685 (Formerly Residence Inn Chicago Downtown)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#52 Family Hotel in Chicago
#73 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £109 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Chicago Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing