We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection
Ranked #75 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Good location. The hotel is about 2 blocks away from the nearest bus and subway stop. It's also not too far from popular eateries, steakhouses, and attractions. Staff was friendly. Only downside is that it can be loud at night. I was on a high floor and could hear sirens, car alarms, and honks all night. The bathrooms are fairly big and they have large over-sized shower heads. Not a bad hotel, just a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Mar,
We are very happy that you loved our location; we couldn’t agree more! We apologize for any inconveniences you encountered due to noise from outside the hotel. We are also very sorry that you felt our rates were a bit high. We will take all your comments into careful consideration, thank you. We hope to see you again in the future; we are confident we can win you over.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    370
    136
    57
    20
See reviews for
168
310
45
308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Murphy went above and beyond to ensure that I was well taken care of during my stay. He worked with a private car company and negotiated a lower rate for my travel outside the city. His attitude and exemplary customer service are a credit to the hotel. Murphy followed up with me to make sure I had all my transportation arranged and even recommended several restaurants. I would recommend the hotel based solely on the experience that Murphy delivered.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Marlo,
Thank you for the high praise you’ve given Murphy! He is truly a valued asset to our hotel. We will pass on your many compliments; we know it will make his day! We hope to see you again when you next visit Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed for 3 nights as had some business at the mart and visited family too. Location was perfect! Took train from from Midway and easy 3 block walk to hotel. Great location for the mart, Michigan Ave and lots of restaurants. Staff was super friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay next time I am in Chicago! Note: another user complained about vanity being outside room... my bathroom was fully incorporated and updated.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review! We're thrilled that you had such a great stay at our hotel, that our staff offered you excellent service and that you loved our location. We can't wait to see you again when you next visit Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Close to downtown attractions. Metro lines. Shopping spots. Staff always willing to help! Rooms with vintage deco. Warm and neat. Of course we are invited to return pretty soon. 100% recommendable. Breakfast is included but need to remind to the front desk you have that ammenity included.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gerardo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
It sounds like you had a fantastic trip to Chicago. We're very happy that you enjoyed your deal which included breakfast and the rest of your stay with us. We can't wait to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, KY USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My primary reason for booking this particular hotel was location and it served well for easy walks to the Chicago Theater and restaurants. The valet fee was a little much - $65 - and I'd take advantage of online reserved parking next time. The hotel was very nice but it didn't strike me as a small boutique hotel. The decor was a little pretentious. No upgrades or vouchers although we are members of their rewards program. Plus, breakfast was not offered to Silver Elite. A little disappointing considering how many nights we've stayed at Marriott. Still, great beds and comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Josie,
Our location always makes us happy; we are glad you enjoyed it. We are very sorry to hear that you felt our parking was a bit pricey and that you were disappointed in your benefits as a Rewards Member. We will take all your thoughts into careful consideration. We are committed to making Hotel Chicago better than ever, and your feedback is invaluable in our reaching that goal. We hope to see you again in the future; we are confident we can win you over.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hotel is in a good location, right opposite the House of Blues and close to many restaurants and attractions - it makes a good base in Chicago. We got a good deal on a room booked a week in advance on-line but when we checked in we got a room upgrade thanks to a Marriott loyalty card. Also received vouchers for two drinks at the hotel's Crimson Lounge, which certainly has interesting, fun decor. Room on the 12th floor was very comfortable. We did get caught out at first by the need to use a separate key card for the elevators - we were trying to use the room key and couldn't understand why it wouldn't work. A tip for parking - the hotel's valet parking is around $60 so try Interpark Sterling Self Park on the corner of LaSalle and Kinzie - a short walk from the hotel. The posted rate for 24 hours was $38 but we stayed a little under 24 hours and the charge was only $24.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emptynester2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AhcGM, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your great stay with us! We are glad that you loved our fun location and drinks at the Crimson Lounge. Your parking tips are fantastic; we know future guests will be grateful. We hope to see you again when you next visit Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed here just recently for a girls weekend. I knew upon booking that this is considered a "boutique" style, therefore, probably smaller than what most people prefer, and I also knew that the chances of 2 separate beds was not guaranteed. All that said, I loved this place. The king size bed I got was very comfortable as were the pillows. The bathroom was decent size. The location was stellar. Walking distance to pretty much anything, including the "L" which was great. No car rental needed. I found the staff and bellhops very friendly and helpful. Some lady wrote expensive and "classy" not the same thing. Well duhhhh! It's downtown Chicago, I expect pricey. But, I thought this hotel was classy. If it's not your level of classy, go the Ritz! I'll definitely stay here again. In fact, thinking for a summer stay and next year again with my friends, who I was just with.

Room Tip: I chose average for last 2, as, I didn't seek them out, so I have no idea if they even have thes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AhcGM, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Vanessa,
Thank you for the awesome review! Your comments were refreshing and made us smile! We’re thrilled that you loved our location and that our staff took excellent care of you. We can’t wait to see you again this summer and for another fun girl’s weekend next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#21 of 189 in Chicago
2,481 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#63 of 189 in Chicago
1,008 reviews
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection
Address: 333 N Dearborn St, driveway entrance on 350 N State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4956 (Formerly Hotel Sax Chicago)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#69 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#71 Business Hotel in Chicago
#80 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The crown jewel of the Marina City complex in River North, right on the Chicago River - Hotel Chicago, Autograph Collection is steps from The House of Blues. Featuring stylish, rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, you'll soak in all the magic the city of Chicago has to offer. The Magnificent Mile, Merchandise Mart, Art Institute, Millennium Park, Theater District, and of course State Street's nightlife are all within walking distance. All 354 rooms and suites offer plush comforts amenities include Presidential double pillow top mattresses and 370 thread-count Egyptian cotton linens. All guestrooms feature 42-inch high definition TVs, working desk, fully stocked minibars, and floor to ceiling windows with views of the Chicago River or City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sax Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing