We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection
Ranked #75 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great location, older property with updates. Rooms were well appointed, they are very dark though which makes tasks like, applying makeup for ladies, or shaving for men, quite difficult. Additional lighting and mirrors would make the rooms that much better! Bed was comfy, when the windows are closed the room is quiet.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
You’re not alone – one of our most loved qualities is our amazing location! We’re very happy to hear that the comfy bed and quiet room offered you a great night’s rest. We will take your suggestions regarding lighting and mirrors into careful consideration, thank you. We hope to see you again when you next visit Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    374
    139
    58
    20
See reviews for
171
315
47
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Groveport, Ohio, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Booked a king size room for two days stay. Room was no where close to what they had on website. Room was absurdly small, not enough towels, tiny bathroom, scary dark hallways, less than perfect sanitation (no plastic trash bags for example), thin walls & loud/drunk neighbors.
Should have opted and paid little more & stayed somewhere else

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Smender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
We’re very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your recent stay with us. We strive to offer every guest a fantastic stay, and we’d love the opportunity to make things right. We invite you to reach out to us personally at mdeinhart@thehotelchicago.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is a below average Marriott property. It's new to the Marriott family and while I might wonder if some of the issues are growing pains as the hotel gets up to speed, I feel that most are core to the physical property itself. Formerly part of a different chain, it was taken over a few months back and refurbished. (Paint, wallpaper, carpet, etc.). As a Marriott Gold member, I was upgraded to a premium king on the 9th floor and found it to be functional, but not what would be expected for a category 8 property. This property is not a JW caliber by any means! Bathrooms are old style and don't offer much functionality. Furniture is comfortable but not luxurious. Walls are very thin and hall noise is abundant. With so many hotel options in the area, I would urge travelers to consider staying with eyes wide open.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Winter1631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We are very sorry that you were disappointed in your recent stay with us, and we appreciate your honest review. We’re committed to making Hotel Chicago better than ever, and your comments help us reach that goal. We apologize for any inconveniences you encountered due to noise from other guests. We hope to see you again in the future; we’re confident we can win you over with our ongoing improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We were attending a downtown wedding and chose this hotel for the rate and location. The doormen and front desk people were very friendly. It is located next to the House of Blues and if you show your key you do not pay the cover charge. A short walk across the bridge and you can be shopping at Nordstroms Rack and Old Navy and several other stores on State Street.

We were put on the 16th floor that had been newly redecorated. Very modern. A stocked mini bar and honor snacks were on the counter. A coffee pot which included tea. Coffee was also in the lobby with apples. The bathroom was the largest one I have been in while in the city. Really nice linens and I enjoyed the bed. Hair dryer, safe and the usuals. Nice tv and chair that could be wiped down. Fancy wallpaper with silhoutte of chandelier.

This used to be The House of Blues Hotel and then the Sax. Now a part of the autograph collection by Marriott. We used restaurant for breakfast. Entrees $12- 14 but adds up quickly with drinks. Slow service.

Would go back there gladly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindafrommichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Linda,
Thank you for the wonderful review! We’re thrilled you loved our location, recent renovations, room amenities and unique décor. We hope to see you again when you next visit Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel for "Bike the Drive" The bellman (believe name was Constantine) was incredibly helpful in getting our bicycles stored. The service was very good from that perspective. They were having a problem with the elevators, so there were long lines for elevators. Our bathroom sink was clogged and we called someone to fix it. He tried using a plunger but was not successful. He said he would have to come back in 20 minutes with Liquid Drano, but we would have to wait because he had to help with he elevator repair in the meantime. We told him just to forget it because we were tired and did not want to wait. The carpet was also also wet in the room from what appeared to be an earlier flood. I believe the Marriott just bought the property. They have some facility work to accomplish before it meets the expectations of a Marriott.

Room Tip: Not sure if they have rooms with good views, I was on the 10th floor and did not have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dac831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We hope you enjoyed Bike the Drive and your time in Chicago. It’s great to hear that our hotel team took excellent care of you upon your arrival. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you encountered due to the elevator and room maintenance issues. We have completed some fantastic renovations and there are many great improvements still to come. We hope to see you again when you next visit Chicago; we’re confident we can wow you with our ongoing efforts to make Hotel Chicago better than ever.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Brilliant hotel in an excellent location. Staff were courteous and friendly and our check in was speedy and straightforward. After a long flight we were greeted by friendly valet staff who took care of us and we were in our room within ten minutes of arrival. The room itself exceeded all our expectations...it was very spacious with modern contemporary décor and everything you need for a comfortable stay. The beds were great and made for a very good nights sleep. The hotel is ideally located to explore this amazing city and good bars and restaurants are very close by. We can recommend The Tortoise Lounge for a good steak and The Public House bar and gastropub just across the street is a great place for classic American food and a great place to have a few beers. Chicago is a stunning City and we could not have wished for a better place to stay on our first visit and will stay there again on our next visit. Great hotel in a great city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisamcfarlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your fantastic stay with us. You’re location tips are great; we know future guests will be grateful. Our location always keeps us smiling, and we’re very happy that you so thoroughly enjoyed it. Your praise of our team is appreciated. We will pass along your compliments; we know it will make everyone’s day! We can’t wait to see you again when you next visit our amazing Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Jamaica
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a couple days in April, alongside another couple. I would say I was underwhelmed. We both were. First the good:
- location was great. The hotel was smack dab in the city and we could walk to a lot of places around. From our room we had a good view of the roof of House of Blues and the architectural marvel Marina City towers. This allowed us a glimpse of the river with the boats going by and this greatly amused our 3 year old son.
- staff responsiveness was good. From front desk to housekeeping to bellboys to operator. All were pleasant and professional.
- the beds were exceptional. The bed itself and the linens were, in a word, divine.

Now the not so good.
- Price: I am not sure why this cost was so high as I don't think there were that many amenities to justify the price.
- No free wi-fi: in this day and age, not even comp wi-fi in common/lobby areas is so not on; especially with the rates charged
- coffee/tea in room: these were not refreshed on the last day. It may have also been good to even drop complimentary water bottle or two in the mini-fridge
- Limited amenities: I'm not sure what if anything was available to do at the hotel itself. Perhaps this was a ploy to get you to go out.
- parking: yes I know it's a big city and etc, but not even a little parking or at least not so exorbitant a valet fee
- the hotel directory/guide: this was a non-descript sheet printed on regular printer paper which said not much. Perhaps they could consider beefing this up to give the guide to the hotel, the surrounding area, and so on
- no breakfast: not even continental. Come come do better.

Overall, I did not find that anything I got was better or beyond the normal or even what I got at the 3-star Fairfield Inn we stayed elsewhere on this same trip. In fact, the Fairfield included breakfast, parking, the same linens and all for a lower rate.

So in the end, if you want to sleep well, get out of the hotel all day but come back to rest, and don't mind paying a high rate to be located in the city center, this place is perfect for you.

Room Tip: ask for a south/river facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kurtodavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Kurt,
We’re happy to hear that you loved our fun location and comfy beds. Thank you or your praise of our hotel team. We will be sure to pass your compliments along to everyone; we’re sure it will bring a smile to everyone’s faces. We will take all your comments, including your thoughts on our rates, hotel directory, parking and breakfast, into careful consideration. Your review is invaluable in our efforts to always improve. For future reference, Wi-Fi is offered for free to all Marriott Rewards Members. This free program offers great benefits throughout all Marriott properties. We hope to see you again in the future; we’re confident was can win you over with our ongoing improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#20 of 190 in Chicago
2,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#65 of 190 in Chicago
1,028 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection
Address: 333 N Dearborn St, driveway entrance on 350 N State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4956 (Formerly Hotel Sax Chicago)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#69 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#71 Business Hotel in Chicago
#80 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The crown jewel of the Marina City complex in River North, right on the Chicago River - Hotel Chicago, Autograph Collection is steps from The House of Blues. Featuring stylish, rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, you'll soak in all the magic the city of Chicago has to offer. The Magnificent Mile, Merchandise Mart, Art Institute, Millennium Park, Theater District, and of course State Street's nightlife are all within walking distance. All 354 rooms and suites offer plush comforts amenities include Presidential double pillow top mattresses and 370 thread-count Egyptian cotton linens. All guestrooms feature 42-inch high definition TVs, working desk, fully stocked minibars, and floor to ceiling windows with views of the Chicago River or City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sax Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing