We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointing...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection
Ranked #77 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little disappointing...”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here over Memorial Day weekend. It is a great location, but the hotel was far from being a Category 8 Marriott hotel -- I have stayed in Marriott Courtyards that were much nicer!

Nothing major, but a few things about our stay...

- The check-in took forever -- I was about 5th in line and probably took 20 minutes!
- The elevator and room keys are different, so you always had to carry both.
- The back of our toilet was just some sort of tray placed over the top.
- The TV remote didn't work.
- The phone by the bed didn't work.
- The ice machine on our floor didn't work.
- Went to ask the concierge about some dinner recommendations and she was completely clueless.
- The staff was pretty ambivalent about everything.

I guess this is a new property for Marriott, but wish they would get it up to snuff before acting like it is a premier property!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevieB28270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Stevie,
We’re very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your recent stay with us. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We’re committed to making Hotel Chicago better than ever, and your comments are invaluable to our reaching that goal. We apologize for the wait time you encountered upon check-in, and for the inconveniences you experienced in your room. We hope to see you again when you next visit Chicago; we’re confident we can win you over with our ongoing improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    370
    136
    57
    20
See reviews for
168
310
45
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
193 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The hotel is a great location, centrally located to everything Chicago has to offer.
I stayed here when the hotel was Hotel Sax and it has now become part of the Marriott family. It is in DESPERATE need of a major update. The hotel has no identity - it is a mishmash of unconnected ideas. The carpet is worn, wallpaper damaged & faded. Hallways are so dark it is difficult to see.
I think the staff had the best intentions there need to be some major retraining and higher levels of service standards put in place. This hotel has potential.
I am hoping with them being taken over by Marriott that some much needed money will be invested in this property. I looked at the photos on the new website and while the photographer did a great job as the pictures look nice, it doesn't look like any improvements have been made yet.
As far as I am concerned the only redeeming quality if the location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HavePillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Kristi,
We LOVE our location, and we’re very happy you love it too! Thank you for your feedback. We’re committed to making Hotel Chicago better than ever, and the process is already underway! We’re very excited to be scheduling a new photo shoot once we’ve completed the last few updates. So check back; we’re confident we can wow you with our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culver, Indiana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This was a last-minute overnight trip to Chicago. This was my first time to stay at the Hotel Chicago. It was well located for my purposes and I found most everything to be just fine. The front desk staff were both professional and pleasant. My guest room was very nice and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable. My only complaint was that the air conditioner blew right to the bed, and now, two days later, I am still suffering from a sore throat and congestion.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jney777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
We fully agree; our location is ideal. It’s fantastic to hear that our hotel team offered you excellent service and that you found your room to be comfortable. We apologize for any inconveniences you encountered due to the positioning of the A/C unit. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was the second time we stayed at this location – first when it was Hotel Sax and then most recently after it became Hotel Chicago. We love the location – easy to walk almost anywhere we want to go when we're in Chicago. The Crimson Lounge is a very groovy place to hang out after a day of shopping on Michigan Avenue or swing through Bin 36 to grab a reasonably priced bottle of wine to take up to the room. I like the rooms on the side that faces the House of Blues and the river better than the other side so see if you can score one of those. I'm thinking we'll be back the next time we're in Chi-Town!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the side of the House of Blues and river if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pulpo_Grande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your loyalty and welcome back to Chicago. We couldn’t have said it better, it is “easy to walk almost anywhere” from our great location. It’s great to hear that you found the Crimson Lounge groovy and that you loved our river views. We can’t wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great location, older property with updates. Rooms were well appointed, they are very dark though which makes tasks like, applying makeup for ladies, or shaving for men, quite difficult. Additional lighting and mirrors would make the rooms that much better! Bed was comfy, when the windows are closed the room is quiet.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
You’re not alone – one of our most loved qualities is our amazing location! We’re very happy to hear that the comfy bed and quiet room offered you a great night’s rest. We will take your suggestions regarding lighting and mirrors into careful consideration, thank you. We hope to see you again when you next visit Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groveport, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Booked a king size room for two days stay. Room was no where close to what they had on website. Room was absurdly small, not enough towels, tiny bathroom, scary dark hallways, less than perfect sanitation (no plastic trash bags for example), thin walls & loud/drunk neighbors.
Should have opted and paid little more & stayed somewhere else

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Smender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
We’re very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your recent stay with us. We strive to offer every guest a fantastic stay, and we’d love the opportunity to make things right. We invite you to reach out to us personally at mdeinhart@thehotelchicago.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is a below average Marriott property. It's new to the Marriott family and while I might wonder if some of the issues are growing pains as the hotel gets up to speed, I feel that most are core to the physical property itself. Formerly part of a different chain, it was taken over a few months back and refurbished. (Paint, wallpaper, carpet, etc.). As a Marriott Gold member, I was upgraded to a premium king on the 9th floor and found it to be functional, but not what would be expected for a category 8 property. This property is not a JW caliber by any means! Bathrooms are old style and don't offer much functionality. Furniture is comfortable but not luxurious. Walls are very thin and hall noise is abundant. With so many hotel options in the area, I would urge travelers to consider staying with eyes wide open.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Winter1631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We are very sorry that you were disappointed in your recent stay with us, and we appreciate your honest review. We’re committed to making Hotel Chicago better than ever, and your comments help us reach that goal. We apologize for any inconveniences you encountered due to noise from other guests. We hope to see you again in the future; we’re confident we can win you over with our ongoing improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#21 of 189 in Chicago
2,481 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#63 of 189 in Chicago
1,008 reviews
Near North Side
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection
Address: 333 N Dearborn St, driveway entrance on 350 N State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4956 (Formerly Hotel Sax Chicago)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#69 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#71 Business Hotel in Chicago
#80 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The crown jewel of the Marina City complex in River North, right on the Chicago River - Hotel Chicago, Autograph Collection is steps from The House of Blues. Featuring stylish, rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, you'll soak in all the magic the city of Chicago has to offer. The Magnificent Mile, Merchandise Mart, Art Institute, Millennium Park, Theater District, and of course State Street's nightlife are all within walking distance. All 354 rooms and suites offer plush comforts amenities include Presidential double pillow top mattresses and 370 thread-count Egyptian cotton linens. All guestrooms feature 42-inch high definition TVs, working desk, fully stocked minibars, and floor to ceiling windows with views of the Chicago River or City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sax Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing