We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Left Disappointed from Marriott's newest Chicago property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection
Ranked #76 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Left Disappointed from Marriott's newest Chicago property”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Wanting to check out the newest Marriott property in Chicago and one that looks like a W Hotel on their website, was anything but. Very nice atmosphere and great location just north of the river, the Hotel Chicago rooms were very similar to what you would see at a W Hotel. My disappointment started with the check-in and lack of enthusiasm from anyone. I walked past three people and no one bothered to say hello. In fact, I stood in line directly in front of the concierge who did not say a word. My room was nice and spacious however had no view and overlooked the House of Blues.

In summary, new hotel to check out if the rates are low, however once the rates increase I would rather stay at another similar type hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high-floor to help reduce the noise from the House of Blues
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Bill,
It’s wonderful to hear that you loved our location; we couldn’t agree more! We’re also happy our atmosphere and décor were welcoming. We sincerely apologize you were not offered excellent service from every member of our team. We’ll take all your comments into careful consideration as we strive to always improve, thank you. We hope to see you again when you next visit our amazing city; we’re confident we can win you over.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    367
    133
    56
    20
See reviews for
164
303
44
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Being my first time in Chicago I had much trouble finding this hotel because its entrance is on a one-way side street. But all troubles ended when I entered my room. They have the most comfortable hotel beds I ever slept in. The room is large and hushed out all outside noise. The hotel's location is in the middle of where you want to be. I just wanted one more night in that most comfortable bed but alas I had a plane to catch.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Christine,
Thank you for the fantastic 5 star rating! We’re thrilled to have been a part of your first experience in Chicago. We apologize for any inconveniences you encountered while finding our entrance. It’s wonderful to hear how much you loved the comfy bed and quiet room. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
658 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We arrived early Friday morning and we were able to check into our room - such a lovely surprise! The reception was really friendly and our room was massive. A king room, facing the river, it had everything we needed. I ordered a package from Canada to be delivered and they accepted it and ensured I received it - no drama.
The location is perfect. Seriously the best. You are by everything you need and just a couple blocks away from the L. The bed was comfy, our room was clean, the only tip I have for you if you are thinking about staying here is to ask for a room away from the river. The House of Blues is next door and we were woken up each night by the party goers, leaving the show.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-river view (less noisy as the House of Blues patrons did tend to wake us up each night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Megan,
We’re thrilled that the great service our team offered you impressed and that you loved your room. Our location is one of our most loved qualities, and it makes us happy each time a guest enjoys it. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by noise from outside the hotel. We hope to see you again when you next come to enjoy our amazing city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The hotel could need a little tweaking here and the room view is really sad. (parking lot building view) and there but if I were to visit Chicago again , I would stay here because the location is great. House Of Blues right in front , pubs and clubs all around to enjoy the nightlife and a simple walk from all the main attractions this fun city has to offer.
The room was very spacious and super clean, very friendly service. We got our rooms with a deal so I think it is on the pricey side otherwise.

In all cases, I would recommend this hotel. I personally enjoyed it.

Room Tip: We chose ours away from the elevator. Always a wise choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myrza313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Myrza,
You’re not alone; our location is one of our most praised qualities! It’s great to know you loved the room size, cleanliness, service and value. We can’t wait to see you again when you next enjoy the Chicago life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
226 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I actually don't mind this hotel. Needs a bit of a face list and new decor. It is in a great location and the staff are very helpful and friendly. The bed are comfortable and the hotel is quiet. Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank belfastim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
A comfy bed and a quiet room; two important parts of any great night’s rest. We’re glad to have offered both to you during your recent visit. Thank you for your feedback regarding our décor. We’re always looking for ways to make our hotel better than ever, and your comments are invaluable in our efforts. We fully agree; we love our location! It made us smile to hear that our great hotel team took excellent care of you. We hope to see you again when you next visit Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Chicago for two nights. We were in town for a conference. As most reviewers have stated, the hotel is in an excellent location to almost everything you could want or need to do while in Chicago. A riverwalk is steps away and Lake Michigan is only a few blocks. I enjoyed a couple of good runs along the lakeshore and it was great to have the hotel so close. Millennium Park and the Bean are also very close.

The Sienna Tavern is across the street and you should definitely give it a try. They have excellent food and the atmosphere is fun, lots of people-watching late into the evening. If you're looking for beer, the Public House is also very close and has a huge selection of both draft and bottled beer. Try the Bloody Mary with the Loaded up Skewer!!

Our room was comfortable and well-appointed. We didn't have much of a view, as we were on the 6th floor, but the size of our room was very large with plenty of space for the two of us. The bathroom was nothing spectacular, but the towels and toiletries were lovely. The bed itself was fitted with soft sheets and I had an excellent night's sleep.

We did not find the hallways to be exceptionally dark. I have stayed in NYC hotels where you can barely find your room. The elevators were always quick and available. Customer service during check-in and check-out was very amicable. We were able to get in and out quickly.

My husband and i enjoyed our trip and would definitely consider staying at the Hotel Chicago for future Chicago trips.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Runnergirl89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Runnergirl 89,
We are glad that the Hotel Chicago met the needs of you and your husband while you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful city. We agree that our location is close to everything that you may want or need to make your trip more comfortable. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed a few runs along the beautiful rive. We’re happy to hear that your room was comfortable, and that you found the hallway lighting to be appealing. We are so glad that our customer service treated you well. We welcome you back anytime, and hope to have you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is not 4 star hotel. Funky poorly lit room that's furrnished oddly. Mirror above sink is hanging crooked, PVC piping sticking out from under sink in main room, paneling bubbling off wall, safe doesn't work, lamp shames hanging crooked that cannot be straightened. So many good hotels in Chicago, this is not one of them. I came for conference here, I will not return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Kevin,
We’re very sorry you were disappointed in your stay with us. We will carefully consider all your comments as we strive to make Hotel Chicago better than ever. We would love for you to reach out to us personally at mdeinhart@thehotelchicago.com. We look forward to hearing from you and for the opportunity to make things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#23 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,455 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#63 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection
Address: 333 N Dearborn St, driveway entrance on 350 N State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4956 (Formerly Hotel Sax Chicago)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#69 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#71 Business Hotel in Chicago
#80 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The crown jewel of the Marina City complex in River North, right on the Chicago River - Hotel Chicago, Autograph Collection is steps from The House of Blues. Featuring stylish, rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, you'll soak in all the magic the city of Chicago has to offer. The Magnificent Mile, Merchandise Mart, Art Institute, Millennium Park, Theater District, and of course State Street's nightlife are all within walking distance. All 354 rooms and suites offer plush comforts amenities include Presidential double pillow top mattresses and 370 thread-count Egyptian cotton linens. All guestrooms feature 42-inch high definition TVs, working desk, fully stocked minibars, and floor to ceiling windows with views of the Chicago River or City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sax Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing