We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection
Ranked #76 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Warm welcome at check-in. Concierge was incredible! She provided extremely helpful directions on best way to get to the EL to see the Cubs, and the bus for a trip to the Field Museum. She also managed to get some laundry done for me on a rush basis (returned same day). Good location, and the rooms are uniquely appointed - wallpaper, wooden panels, etc. I believe we were told Marriott plans to renovate the property, and there are some things that are showing their age a bit, but I hope the hotel can keep its unique decor and overall feel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BLB1052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hello,
We love hearing when one of our hotel team members goes above and beyond, thank you for telling us about your experience with our concierge. We’ll happily pass your praise along to her. Our location is one of our highest praised qualities, and we’re happy you enjoyed it. Thank you for your feedback on our décor, and we’ll keep your appreciation of our unique style in mind. We hope to see you again in the future for another amazing Chicago vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    360
    132
    56
    19
See reviews for
161
296
44
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We used hotwire to book our hotel to Chicago- I normally do not use travel booking sites as such but if any of you have been to Chicago or a large city similar to it, you know that it is extremely pricey to stay downtown without using one of the booking sites. So, hotel Chicago- all staff was super friendly so that was good- the room was clean- however, the lighting in the room is terrible- this may not seem like a big deal but when you are there for 4 nights and most nights include nice dinners or some sort of evening out and about, not being able to see to fix your hair or makeup is pretty tragic- and I don't think it was just our room, It's the way they have chosen to light the rooms in general- also, if you're from anywhere that has a hotter summer than Chicago and you're used to AC, you're probably going to be disappointed with theirs- they do have a unit that is controlled by a panel on the wall- however, we had ours set to 64 because it would not get cool at any other setting. So, past those two issues- everything was fine- no other issues.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunshinetiff02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hello,
It sounds like you enjoyed several nights out in our stunning city; we hope you had a fantastic time. We’re very sorry for the difficulty you encountered while getting ready. We’ll take your lighting feedback into careful consideration, thank you. We also sincerely apologize that the A/C in your room was not working properly. We hope to see you again when you next visit Chicago; we’d love to wow you with our ongoing improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

The concierge lounge needs some attention, guess they are still working it out since switching to Marriott not that long ago. Otherwise could have been a better experience. The hotel is in the perfect location in Chicago and we had no problem getting to all the sights. The Hotel Chicago has a welcoming atmosphere and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATL30101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hello,
Thank you for your feedback regarding our concierge lounge. You’ll be happy to hear we are in the processing of updating the lounge right now! We’re thrilled you loved our location, atmosphere and great hotel team. We hope to see you again soon; we’d love to show you our lounge once it’s completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tierra Verde, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We had a great visit to Chicago, impart to our stay here.

Everyone was so nice and professional. The location is perfect. We walked everywhere, only needed cabs when we were running late to the Shedd.

I am from Chicago, but have been gone for 1.5 years. This hotel felt like home, like a pied a terre.

I would highly recommend, and I am very picky.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heathersan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hello heatersan,
Welcome back to Chicago; we’re thrilled you chose to stay with us for your visit home! Your praise of our incredible hotel team has truly made us smile. We know all our staff will feel the same when we pass along your compliments, thank you. We hope to see you again when you next visit “home.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Ridge, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay this last weekend. I was there for conference so they gave us the wi-fi code free. If McDonalds & Starbucks can offer internet free, then so should a hotel that charges these rates. Our room had a small fridge mini-bar which was nice. I just moved all the snacks out & put ours inside. The bed was comfortable & the shower had strong water pressure. I like the in room coffee maker too- must have for me. All the staff was very courteous & prompt with service.

I liked the location of the hotel. We walked everywhere. We were about a 25 min walk from Union Station after our bus ride in. Grant & Millennium park were just a leisurely stroll away. Plenty of shopping & main attractions within a 10 min walk.

The conference facilities & food were fine too. Nice place for business or pleasure.

The only reason I gave not a 5 star was the price was high (room & parking) & small bathtub (too small to take a bath).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ivsleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hello,
Our location always keeps us smiling; we’re thrilled you fully enjoyed it too! We’re happy the in-room mini-fridge proved convenient, the bed comfy and the shower water pressure perfect. We appreciate your feedback regarding our rates, parking and bathtub size. We carefully consider all our guests feedback in an effort to always improve. We hope to see you again when you next visit our amazing city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Everything went well and was great. The check-in was smooth, as was the check-out, the staff was friendly, helpful and attentive.

The hotel is located close to everything in downtown Chicago with easy walking, buses, trains and cabs right outside the front door. Access to Lake Michigan, Navy Pier, the Theatre District, Grant Park, museums, restaurants and entertainment couldn't be easier.

I attended a weekend meeting, the facilities were fine and on par with most any other location I've attended.

I was very satisfied with my visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank mn-ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hello,
All your location tips are fantastic, thank you! We’re happy you enjoyed our downtown location, service and meeting facilities. We’ll love sharing your compliments with our hotel team; we know it’ll make everyone smile. We hope to see you again when you next visit Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Friendly at check in is a good start. Room was good size,facing the Chicago river. Bed was excellent, bathroom spacious. One slight towel problem was fixed in 10 minutes. Room was quiet and very comfortable.Easy check out with apple and coffee. This is an excellent property and we hope to stay here again.

Room Tip: try room 1105
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bernie1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hello Bernie,
We love hearing when our guests fully enjoy their Chicago vacation, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to the towel problem you mentioned. Thankfully, it sounds like our team was able to quickly remedy the situation. We’re happy you loved our quiet, comfy rooms and easy check in and check out. We can’t wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#22 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,446 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#64 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection
Address: 333 N Dearborn St, driveway entrance on 350 N State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4956 (Formerly Hotel Sax Chicago)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#69 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#71 Business Hotel in Chicago
#80 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The crown jewel of the Marina City complex in River North, right on the Chicago River - Hotel Chicago, Autograph Collection is steps from The House of Blues. Featuring stylish, rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, you'll soak in all the magic the city of Chicago has to offer. The Magnificent Mile, Merchandise Mart, Art Institute, Millennium Park, Theater District, and of course State Street's nightlife are all within walking distance. All 354 rooms and suites offer plush comforts amenities include Presidential double pillow top mattresses and 370 thread-count Egyptian cotton linens. All guestrooms feature 42-inch high definition TVs, working desk, fully stocked minibars, and floor to ceiling windows with views of the Chicago River or City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Marriott, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sax Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing