We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ASK FOR MURPHY!!!!!!! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection
Ranked #73 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“ASK FOR MURPHY!!!!!!! ”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Oh my gosh!!! This place was so amazing to stay at! The staff was so nice! We had a bit of miscommunication on our room accommodations... They worked with us and made us feel at home!
Thanks Murphy for all your hard work, help, and kindness!!! We appreciated you!!!

(One bad thing is they don't have a pool or hot tub)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Danielle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Hello Danielle,
Murphy truly is amazing! We know it’ll make his day when we pass along your message, thank you! We’re thrilled you felt so welcomed and cared for while staying with us. We hope to see you again for another fantastic Chicago visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    385
    140
    59
    22
See reviews for
177
327
48
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This place is what I would call "over-decorated". Not that that's a bad thing.
Pros:The staff were very attentive and helpful when I checked in and out. Location is perfect, between House of Blues, and Harry Careys.
Cons:They forgot my creme brule with my room service order, but when I called about it they brought it right up. There was no TV channel listing, which I could have used instead of flipping through the channels. Also it was awkward doing my makeup in the bathroom due to the pedestal sink. There was no counterspace provided in the bathroom, even though there appears to be plenty of room. Also the room itself was a little tight, with a very narrow desk.

Room Tip: I had a "water view". This was a peek of the canal between two buidings, which was filled...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertha_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Hello Bertha,
We love hearing that our hotel team took great care of you and made you feel welcomed. We couldn’t agree with you more; we LOVE our location so close to the city attractions. We’re very sorry your room service order was not complete when it first arrived. Thankfully, it sounds like the issue was corrected quickly. Thank you for your suggestions and feedback regarding our TV listings and bathrooms. We strive to always improve, and your comments are an invaluable piece to our reaching that goal. We hope to see you again in the future; we’re confident we can win you over.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheboro, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is a great hotel. You can tell they go the extra mile to please their guests.

We flew into Chicago and chose not to rent a car. So, we took the train to the hotel and arrived much earlier than what we could check-in. We didn't want to carry our luggage all over Chicago until our room was ready. They allowed us to leave our bags at the hotel with the bell-hops. When we checked into the hotel, they offered to carry our luggage up to the room. The day of check-out our flight did not leave until 9:00 PM. So, they kept our luggage all day long until we returned that evening to pick it up.

The hotel is located on the Chicago Riverwalk and just a few blocks from Navy Pier.

The rooms are very nice and one of the windows opens so you can hear the city sounds.

No complaints here! I would stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank feliciadawn87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Hello Felicaiadawn87,
It sounds like you had a fun time exploring our exciting city! We’re very happy to have contributed to your wonderful adventure. Our location is one of our highest praised qualities, and we couldn’t agree more – we LOVE it here! We’re very happy you loved our city and our hotel. We hope to see you again for another Chicago exploration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I stayed here for one night for a conference. I was very happy that they were able to let me check in at 8:30am already when I came running in to town off the train and wanted to freshen up before going to the conference. The room and bathroom were very nice - small but clean, up to date, and comfortable. The hotel had nice touches like apples at the front desk. I asked the front desk to please give me a quiet room, and she seemed a little stumped - like no one had ever asked this question before. But like I said, I was so happy that they let me check in extremely early that I didn't care. My room was quiet except that I could hear the guy in the next room having a phone conversation and ordering room service late at night. The view was fantastic - Chicago River, architecture, Marina City (the corncobs). The window even opens (narrowly) and has no screen so I got some good photos. It's a great location in Chicago for access to dining, shopping, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of "the corncobs" and the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djdelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hello,
We’re very happy to have been able to accommodate your early check-in; it’s amazing how good it feels to freshen up after traveling! We’re happy our cleanliness, décor, comfy rooms and our attention to the little details all impressed you. We’d like to apologize for any inconveniences you encountered due to noise form the hotel guest next to you. Chicago is a breathtaking city, and we’re thrilled you fully enjoyed the view your room offered. We hope to see you again when you next visit Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, friendly staff, but what they don't tell you is that you have to pay for parking...$65 to use the valet service (per day) which grants you in and out privileges. There are less expensive parking garages close by, that is if you plan on walking around or taking a cab because they do not grant in and out privileges. You must repay to repark.

The location is very convenient though. Only a 20 min walk to Navy Pier, the river is right in front of you, and you are smack dab in the middle of downtown.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hello Vincent,
We love hearing when a guest loves our hotel and service. It seems you did not see the details regarding our parking prior to your arrival, and we’ll take a closer look at our parking details. We’re also sorry that the cost of public parking in Chicago is not to your liking. It sounds like you were able to enjoy some walks to the many close-by attractions. We hope to see you again when you next return to our beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I find it hard to believe anyone would have complaints about this hotel. Total class act from the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out. My only complaint is that we didn't stay longer! Thank you to all the staff. EXCELLENT STAY!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mkw7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hello,
Your very welcome, and thank you for the stellar review! We’re very happy you loved your stay with us and that our hotel team took fantastic care of you. We hope to see you again in the future; maybe your next visit will fulfill your wish for a longer stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed four nights July 2014. We have been pleased with the Marriott's new Autograph collection but was disappointed in the look and comfort of the room. I called ahead to check that they have bathtubs and they said "Yes, all the rooms have them." Well, the tub is approximately 3-4 feet, hardly the size anyone can fit in. When I inquired they thought they were adequate. A nice update would be some rooms with normal tubs. We paid over 250.00 a night and for this had higher expectations of the room. The bath needs a remodel, very small vanity and PLEASE put a make up mirror in the bath for woman, it was be so helpful. The bed was very comfortable but the room was missing that wow factor. The wing chair was plastic animal print. I'll leave it there.
Our room thermostat was broken the first night so it stayed at about 63 degrees, no matter what we did manually. We pretty much froze that first night. They happily attended to that the next day.
On the plus side, the gold members receive complimentary continental breakfast etc, and it is always a welcome touch for being a loyal Marriott member.The shower was really strong and we appreciated that. The hotel is next to the Chicago Blues Club which is really convenient and we saw a terrific blues band. Everyone who worked there was really trying to be helpful and we did appreciate that.

I am heading back to Chicago in September and I doubt I will choose this hotel. They seem to not have an identity yet but it may be that they took over another property and this will take time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marriottowners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hello,
It’s always wonderful to hear when our hotel team makes guests feel welcomed and cared for, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We’re very sorry that our rooms failed to impress. We’re committed to making our hotel better than ever, and we’ve been working diligently to achieve that goal. We have many exciting improvements in store, and we hope to have the opportunity to wow you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#20 of 190 in Chicago
2,519 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#67 of 190 in Chicago
1,059 reviews
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection
Address: 333 N Dearborn St, driveway entrance on 350 N State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4956 (Formerly Hotel Sax Chicago)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#69 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#71 Business Hotel in Chicago
#80 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The crown jewel of the Marina City complex in River North, right on the Chicago River - Hotel Chicago, Autograph Collection is steps from The House of Blues. Featuring stylish, rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, you'll soak in all the magic the city of Chicago has to offer. The Magnificent Mile, Merchandise Mart, Art Institute, Millennium Park, Theater District, and of course State Street's nightlife are all within walking distance. All 354 rooms and suites offer plush comforts amenities include Presidential double pillow top mattresses and 370 thread-count Egyptian cotton linens. All guestrooms feature 42-inch high definition TVs, working desk, fully stocked minibars, and floor to ceiling windows with views of the Chicago River or City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Chicago Downtown, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sax Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing