We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely loved this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Ranked #48 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
MINNESOTA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Absolutely loved this hotel!”
Reviewed 24 March 2011

We stayed here for a few nights in early March while in town for a Bon Jovi concert. We had no complaints whatsoever! The rooms, staff and location are all wonderful. Had a great breakfast each day. Didn't get a chance to take advantage of evening meal every night but one night we did have was great also. Pool was awesome and beautiful overlooking the city. Our room was wonderful and also had great views. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The location of this hotel is perfect for sightseeing. We would just walk a couple blocks and catch a trolley for sightseeing. Within walking distance of great places to eat for all budgets, drugstores and whatever else you would need. This would be the only place we would stay if we get the chance to come back to Chicago.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAMABEAR47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper64, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 25 March 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your review and kind comments. I love to see reviews from people who clearly made the most of what Chicago has to offer. I hope you enjoyed the concert too.

Thanks again,

David Prentiss
General Manager
Homewood Suites Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,556
    789
    234
    62
    44
See reviews for
1,122
562
128
564
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2011

My husband and I took our 7 year old to chicago for spring break. From check in to breakfast to the delicious dinner that is included in the rate I was impressed with the hotel. I can't see how they make any money with all the great amenties they give out. Not only was dinner good but there was free beer and wine too! We couldn't get the sofa bed to go back in the couch and I told a housekeepr just for their knowledge. The gm called my room and told my husband he was taking care of charges bcause we did not have 100% satisaction. We didn't allow him to do it because everything was perfect and it would not be fair to the employees counting on those dollars. Great stay!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leanseal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper64, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 25 March 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts about your stay with us. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the value that we offer. I hope that your daughter enjoyed Chicago as well.

Thank you again and I hope that we have the opportunity to serve you in the future.

David Prentiss
General Manager
Homewood Suites Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewood, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

I rarely write a review on a hotel - well, other than my personal hotel blog. But the Homewood Suites in Downtown Chicago was such a pleasant stay that I decided to make this one my first official TripAdvisor review.

I was in town (my first time to Chicago) for a conference and chose the hotel mostly because I could cut my business cost with the complimentary breakfast. I was also pleasantly surprised to find the hotel also had a dinner as well! The breakfasts, while quite crowded were well staffed and very well prepared. We especially enjoyed visiting with the always cheerful and helpful Connie each morning.

From start to finish I was pleased with this stay. The front desk clerks were just delightful (Starr was wonderful!) and extremely helpful. If I had to register one less than perfect aspect of our stay it would be with the strange occurrence each evening on our wireless internet. It kept kicking us off and asking us to sign in with the Hilton Garden Inn. Of course we couldn't sign in at that hotel, so we had to keep logging in and out until it recognized us at the Homewood Suites. Inconvenient, but not a real problem.

We slept well, we dined well, and we will chose this hotel again if we return to the Windy City!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnotherNiteOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper64, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 25 March 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us and for the kind comments. Thank you also for the specific mention of some of our team members. That really means a lot to them.

Thank you for pointing out the problem you had with the high speed access. I will look into the cause of that.

I do hope you consider us for future visits.

David Prentiss
General Manager
Homewood Suites Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Extremely clean, large suite (much larger than Embassy Suites), great location, wonderful staff, and a very good price (much cheaper than Embassy Suites). I'll return to this hotel every time I travel to Chicago.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesleyknapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper64, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 25 March 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts about your stay with us. Our staff really works hard to make everyone's stay amazing. I'm glad you left feeling that way.

I hope we do have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

David Prentiss
General Manager
Homewood Suites Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2011

We were very impressed with every single person on the staff of this hotel. From the gentleman who brought us menus, an extra chair, etc etc to the courtly and charming doormen, Steve and Abdoul who deserve special mention for their many kindnesses and courtesies this past weekend. It was ladies weekend in Chicago and after a previous stay at a different hotel we will definitely make the Homewood Suites our go-to hotel for future visits.

The room itself was comfortable if consistently too warm despite having turned the heat off. It is also true that the weather was very mild, so an open window solved most of that problem. We enjoyed the hot breakfast buffet both Saturday and Sunday--nothing special but a good way to start the day in a rather expensive city. They had several fruit options both times, another plus.

Bathroom toiletries were Neutrogena, and there was a sufficient supply for three women.

A block or two from pretty much everything you might want to do, see, eat or shop. And we had an extra treat--the Florida State team was staying one block over, and we got to see them get on the bus for their Saturday game!

Loved the staff, from the front desk to the valet attendants--we had a great time!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a2veeness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper64, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 25 March 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us. I'm glad the ladies weekend was a success. i really like reading reviews like yours when someone really enjoyed Chicago.

Thank you also for the special mention of a few of our team members. I will certainly pass that along.

David Prentiss
General Manager
Homewood Suites Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zama, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Last year some friends and I had a Chicago weekend and stayed at the Embassy Suites. Nice enough....pricey. This year, we decided to go again, and I found the Homewood Suites on TripAdvisor. The staff was fabulous, very friendly and helpful (especially Steve and Abduo, the valet guys). The room was larger than the one we had stayed in at the Embassy Suites. It was clean and well supplied with a kitchenette. The location was perfect, right downtown... walking distance from just about anything. Breakfast was great each morning. And, our weekend stay was about $300 less for a 2 night stay than at the Embassy. We know where we'll be staying next year.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gslaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper64, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 25 March 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for the kind comment. It is always nice to hear that people want to return because we would love to have you. I hope you had a great time in Chicago

Thank you again.

David Prentiss
General Manager
Homewood Suites Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

We came to Chicago over spring break and picked this hotel because of its close location to the red line and the free breakfast. The kids slept on the pull-out couch and the parents in the king size bed. We didn't know about the free dinner on M-Th until we got there. It ended up being quite a deal.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper64, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 25 March 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for completing a review of your stay. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us and were able to take advantage of our value.

I do hope you will consider us for future visits.

David Prentiss
General Manager
Homewood Suites Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#53 Family Hotel in Chicago
#68 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points -receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. Check us out online for discounts and packages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton
Chicago Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing