We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Ranked #51 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
South Pasadena
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a quick getaway. We asked for and received a very quiet room (1037, in the corner). The sofa could use a few pillows but other than that really enjoyed the additional space and the manager's reception with its free beer and wine. Breakfast was good, with plenty of choices (except no yogurt, which I would encourage them to add). Within walking distance of most downtown Chicago restaurants and attractions. Enjoyed the fluffy towels. We don't know if our room was recently renovated but didn't find our room outdated in any respect. An excellent value for us. Staff was very friendly. We typically stay Residence/Hampton.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Diana M,

Thank you for your review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I was happy to see that you and your husband found great value staying at our hotel. It seems like you were both able to take advantage of many of the amenities we offer our guests such as the breakfast and evening reception. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you at the hotel the next time you are in town.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,500
    759
    227
    60
    43
See reviews for
1,080
541
125
542
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
st. louis, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

My weekend stay was great. The staff was very helpful and the stay was very enjoyable. The view from the room was also great, especially at night. I was centrally located and was close to a number of restaurants. I would definitley utilize this hotel again when I visit Chicago for either business or leisure.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tiffany F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Tiffany F,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on our hotel. I was pleased to see that you had a great experience at Homewood Suites. I appreciate you taking the time to mention the very helpful staff that made your visit with us enjoyable. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We hope that when your travels bring you back to downtown Chicago, we will remain a top choice for you.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanton, Ohio, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

My class stayed there for a seventh and eigth grade trip. We were there for 3 days and 2 nights and while we were there I enjoyed every minute of it. Everything worked, everything was clean, and the employees were so generous and kind to the guests. The pool was amazing, and the floor we stayed on (10th floor) was very quiet. The breakfasts was probebly the best out of everything. I love the waffles! My overall most favorite thing about the hotel was definantly the pool. One thing I am a little concerned about was the dinner. When we were there for the 1st night, the dinner was a little off. By that i mean when we got there, there was nothing left for dinner. Everything was gone and they didn't refill it. Other than that I would DEFINANTLY stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Emily W,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay at our hotel. I was delighted to see that you and your class enjoyed your experience at Homewood Suites. It seems like you all spent a lot of time having fun in the pool. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We look forward to accommodating you again the next time your travels bring you to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcadia, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Reached the hotel easily from Midway Airport with Orange Line and Transfer to Red Line...$2.25 each. Comfortable kitchen, living area and king bed with breakfast AND dinner provided. Walked to EVERYTHING. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank codyyrbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Codyyrbk,

Thank you for recently staying with us and for posting a review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I was glad to see that you were able to walk everywhere you desired to go and that you took advantage of so many of the amenities we offer our guest such as the breakfast and dinner. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We hope you give us the opportunity to create a great experience for you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for 4 nights in april this year while meeting family. The suite was spacioud and clean. The kitchen facilities were adequate, but the view across the city was spectacular. The breakfast was good with plenty of choice, but it did run low quickly as there was lots of guests. The staff were excellent from the porters to the desk staff: very impressive. It was a pleasure to stay here.

Helpful?
Thank Andrewtaylor1971
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Andrewtaylor1971,

Thank you for your review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I was delighted to see that you and your family enjoyed your experience while staying with us. I was glad that your family was able to enjoy the incredible view of the city from your suite. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you at the hotel the next time you are in town.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

This is a very good property. My room was clean, and everything worked fine. You can tell someone is paying attention with details like new tv remotes.

The AC system is quiet. There is no safe in the room.

Breakfast is typical and the breakfast area was large and well kept. I went down for the reception at dinner time expecting wine and appetizers, but found buffet 'dinner' - I would skip this...

Room Tip: Be aware that there is a 13th floor, in case this matters for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Claude D,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on our hotel. I was happy to see that you felt Homewood Suites was a very good property. I will let the Housekeeping team know that you appreciated all of their efforts and attention to detail. We hope that when your travels bring you back to downtown Chicago, we will remain a top choice for you.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Lake Park, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Hello All, My friend and I stayed here for girls weekend and it was one of the best experiences in a hotel we have ever had, rooms are spotless, and the service was excellent!!!! Amer and the guys in Valet are the best!!!! very curtious and the ladies at the front desk are just as great, so friendly, so helpful anytime we needed help or had a question- they hooked us up with tours and directions- always correct by the way!!! the catch your taxi for you and hold doors and we always got a "good morning" i will return to this hotel whenever I stay in Chicago!!! thanks for making out girls weekend perfect!!! we will be back!! Sincerely Rhoda and Sheila, the 2 girls from MN w the Ford 500!!

Room Tip: Great rooms!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhoda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Rhoda B,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay at our hotel. I was pleased to see that you felt Homewood Suites was a great place to stay. I was proud of the entire team to see that you and your friends had one of the best experiences in a hotel; I will pass-along your compliments to everyone. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We look forward to accommodating you again the next time your travels bring you to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#53 Family Hotel in Chicago
#68 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points -receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. Check us out online for discounts and packages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Booking.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Homewood Suites
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing