We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and well positioned”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Ranked #49 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great service and well positioned”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

From the metro turn left and one block away is the hotel. you have to go up to floor 6 to get to the lobby. The staff are really friendly and helpful. The room was fine- it had a small kitchen (2 electric ring hob, fridge/freezer and a dishwasher) with a coffee maker.
The bed was fine and I slept well. The next day the breakfast was really nicely done and very filling with both cold and hot dishes. The bell man was very helpful. All in all a good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duddoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Duddoo,

Thank you for recently staying with us and for posting a review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel. I appreciate you taking the time to mention the friendly and helpful staff. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We hope you give us the opportunity to create a great experience for you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,574
    799
    238
    63
    44
See reviews for
1,145
567
128
568
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I am writing this review a couple of weeks after staying here because I was so impressed. I read some of the other reviews and am sure they were not reviewing this Homewood Suites. Location is downtown with easy walking to most anything, shopping, restaurants and even Trader Joe's! Public transportation easily accessible. Amer was the most helpful individual I have ever met in the service industry. The man actually turned down a tip! When the professional, courteous and personable attitudes start at the door, it really brightens your day. For a week, coming or going I had the same experience. The hotel was above average for what you would find in this price range anywhere near Michigan Ave. Factor in a breakfast and even dinner, it becomes a real deal. Highly recommended for families as the extra suite space would help. The only issue was there is some construction below which may cut short a late sleepers beauty rest. Breakfast was excellent and although a dinner meal was offered a number of nights, I did not try it.

Room Tip: Hotel rooms start on the 6th floor. Due to some lower floor construction, request a high floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rich R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Rich R,

I want to thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. It made me happy to see that such a seasoned road warrior enjoyed your experience at Homewood Suites. I was glad to see that you took advantage of the wonderful location of the hotel and amenities we offer such as the spacious suite and breakfast. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendota, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We recently stayed at Homewood Suites and had a nice visit. I realize that this is typically a long term stay hotel, and we only stayed one night. The location is great - near great shopping and restaurants. The rooms are showing a little wear and tear, but nothing bad. You will have to move the coffee table to pull out the bed - there is not a ton of extra room, but it works. It is also nice to have a free breakfast. I would definitely stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candicef14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Candice F,

Thank you for your review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I was pleased to see that you felt you received good value while at our hotel. It seems like you were able to take advantage of the amenities we offer our guests such as the breakfast. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you at the hotel the next time you are in town.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

For a Hilton this one drops the ball, It is in need of a refresh. Homewood's are usually a nice long term stay but this hotel is weathered and in need of a refresh. Rooms are standard Homewood but getting old. Hotel has a odd location off the strip a little more challenging to get to, walking there at night was a little uncomfortable. It is a central location which is a plus. But I would have to say that it is slightly below average. Front desk staff and breakfast staff were nice. Breakfast is the standard across the chain,
The room was clean, bed was ok not too soft not too hard, just try to stay higher up in the hotel and ask for a view if possible. My first room did smell of fish and I had to move but I guess who ever was in the room before me was cooking! It could have been worse it could have been smoke.

Room Tip: For the love of god ask for a room with a view, Otherwise it can be depressing see my photo of a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oakvilleadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Oakvilleadvisor,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on our hotel. I apologize for any disappointment you encountered during your stay with us. We do our very best to deliver an exceptional experience to all of our guests; I regret that we were not able to deliver this to you. I hope you give us the opportunity to create a great experience for you if your travels bring you to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

You can get a room and shower anywhere, but the customer service here is more than a step above. Connie, Amer, Edward, Dimitri, Ray, Ninos have treated us like family. ANYTHING you need, they will take care of. Being treated like family is something you don't get everywhere. Beyond friendly, beyond helpful, we enjoyed the hotel very much. Thank you, Jeanne

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Jeanne H,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay at our hotel. I was delighted to see that you felt you received excellent customer service and enjoyed your experience at Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We look forward to accommodating you again the next time your travels bring you to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This was a family vacation and the hotel was exactly what we were looking for! The complimentary dinner and breakfast was a huge help with budgeting and the room was set up perfectly. Having a kitchenette and separate bedroom was a nice perk to a family trip. The staff was very helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Charity E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Valued Guest,

Thank you for recently staying with us and for posting a review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I was happy to see that you and your family received excellent service and accommodations throughout your visit. It seems like you were able to make the most of the amenities we offer such as the in-suite kitchen, and breakfast. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We hope you give us the opportunity to create a great experience for you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This was our first time to Chicago and we wanted to stay close to everything. This hotel is in a great location. Parking was expensive but so are all the other hotels in the area. The staff for parking,front desk and dining were very friendly and helpful. We were there for 5 days. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was hot and delicious every day we were there. The night we drove in (Wed.) we enjoyed a dinner of stuffed peppers and green beans.They also had salad and home baked tasting cookies. We also had red or white wine or draft beer. This was all complimentary. In the lobby they had the best coffee and tea selection. They were served in BIG cups. We recommend this place to ALL our friends and family.

Room Tip: All rooms are above the sixth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Marcia M,

I want to thank you for sharing your thoughts on our hotel after your recent stay with us. I was pleased to see that you and your family enjoyed your experience at Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I see that you were able to take advantage of many of the amenities we offer our guests such as the 24 hour beverage station and evening Manager’s Reception. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#53 Family Hotel in Chicago
#68 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points -receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. Check us out online for discounts and packages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton
Chicago Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing