We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicago Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Ranked #48 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We would like to thank all the excellent staff at Homewood Suites. They spent time telling us of places to go to eat as well as sightseeing highlights in Chicago. Amer greeted us upon arrival with a " Happy Sunday Good Morning". His staff couldn't have been more helpful. Alfredo, in the dinningroom, was so pleasant to talk with. The rooms were more than we had expected in size and amenities. Hotel location is the best. The price of the room, which included breakfast and weeknight dinner, was so reasonable for a downtown location in a major city. Linda and Bob

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Bob H,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay at our hotel. I was delighted to see that you felt we have an excellent staff at Homewood Suites. I see that you were able to take advantage of the spacious suite and the amenities we offer our guests such as the breakfast. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We look forward to accommodating you again the next time your travels bring you to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,748)
There are newer reviews for Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,335 - 1,341 of 2,748 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

I recently visited Chicago for the very first time for my 25th birthday. Coming from Kentucky, I assumed that all residents of Chicago were going to lack the philosophy of "southern hospitality." I assumed wrong. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by Amer who graciously assisted us with our bags and even let us park for a half hour at no cost. As soon as we checked into our room, I was greeted with a happy birthday phone call from Amer. The suite was great, the front desk was super nice, and the continental breakfast had everything we needed, You would not think we had a smoking room, because it smelled so fresh. During our checkout, the concierge (led byAmer) let us keep our bags there all day so we wouldn't have to tote them around downtown. They even kept our pet turtle we had bought in Chinatown safe and tagged until we got back. Although this hotel is designed for people on business trips, we could not have felt more welcome as tourists.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Amanda R,

Thank you for recently staying with us and for posting a review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. It made me happy to see that you were treated with “southern hospitality” throughout your visit with us. I was glad that you and your friends enjoyed your 25th Birthday Trip to Chicago! If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We hope you give us the opportunity to create a great experience for you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Roomy, friendly hotel offering free breakfast every morning and Manager's reception weeknights. Every room has full-size refrigerator, microwave and stove top. Staff is very helpful and on a busy street, so you will feel safe walking to and from the hotel day and night. Small indoor pool which is good for kids, but not lap swimming.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank EmilyShek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

EmilyShek,

I want to thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. I was pleased to see that you found good value throughout your experience at Homewood Suites. I also see that you were able to take advantage of many of the amenities we offer our guests such as the breakfast, evening Manager’s Reception, and in-suite amenities. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This has been our second time staying here and definitely not our last. We love the location and the rooms are great. They come so well equipped and one great bonus an ice maker in your room, no running out of the room for ice in this hotel :) the staff are wonderful and help with everything. The breakfast is delicious and the array will keep anyone happy, you won't go away hungry that's for sure.Don't miss out with staying here.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marigold31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Marigold31,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on our hotel. It made me happy to see that you had such a wonderful experience at Homewood Suites. I was glad that you were able to take advantage of the breakfast we offer and the location of the hotel. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We hope that when your travels bring you back to downtown Chicago, we will remain a top choice for you.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I am a Hilton grand vacation club member with ownership in Hawaii. I visited several hilton hotels in the area, explaining to the staff that I wanted to have a sleepover party for my daughter who was turning 13. After visiting many hotels in the downtown Chicago area, I knew Homewood suites was the place we would stay. Some of the other hotels had an impressive lobby or front desk area but it felt cold and uninviting. The staff at Homewood suites was so delightful and the lobby and front desk area had a warm and fuzzy appeal. We stayed in this hotel for my daughter's 13th birthday party sleepover. I had about twelve 13 year old girls and the staff was fabulous to me and to all of the girls during our stay. I needed a large room for 12 girls to stretch out on the floor with their sleeping bags and the first room was too small so they changed my room with no hesitation. While waiting for each of the girls to arrive to the hotel we were in and out of the lobby many times and each time the door was held open for us and we were greeted with a pleasant smile. The staff was very friendly and even inquired about our stay and wished my daughter happy birthday even one of the staff shared with us that they had just celebrated a birthday. Some of our guest arrived late to the sleepover and our guest were promptly directed to the front desk and the front desk called us right away to inform us we had guest in the front desk area. Our guest did not have to wait to be helped. In the morning for breakfast, since we had such a large group, made sure that we sat in one of the unused conference rooms to make sure that our group could sit together. We saw them do this with other large group that morning, as well. The breakfast was delicious and it was plenty of food. The hotel ran out of nothing and at no time were you waiting for them to bring out more of something before that item of food ran out the staff was already there to put out more. I believe the girls and I enjoyed their breakfast potato hash browns the best. It is true what their advertisement says that you will feel right at home and I did and so did all of the girls. I would highly recommend this hotel. The service at Homewood suites is the best!!

Room Tip: Ask can you view the room first before you check in the front desk is more than happy to accommodate...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louiza W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Louiza W,

Thank you for your review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I was delighted to see that you, your daughter, and her friends had a wonderful experience at our hotel for her 13th birthday. I see that you all took advantage of the spacious suite and the breakfast we offer. I appreciate you mentioning the delightful and friendly staff. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you at the hotel the next time you are in town.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Pros - Good location - Bellman knows lots - Front desk w/ good service Cons - Room quality: sink clogged, heating/cooling system doesn't work properly. - Housekeeping doesn't come by on a daily basis.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank RRRRR6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Very pleased with my recent stay. Would stay here again. Location is excellent. Just a few blocks from the Magnificent Mile. Many restaurants within easy walking distance. Grocery store 2 blocks away. Friendly staff. Room was very quiet. Comfortable bed. Good, free, WiFi (no problems streaming NetFlix). TV with HDMI inputs. Excellent water pressure. Room did not have a safe. Reasonable exercise room. Nice pool. Coin operated laundry on 7th floor. If you are a non-smoker make sure you get a non-smoking floor. The 7th floor is a smoking floor and the stale tobacco odor is very evident in the hallways. Breakfast daily (usual fare - bread, bagel, danish, fruit, yogurt, juice, coffee, eggs (reconstituted), make your own waffles) and light dinner during the week (with beer and wine!). Main unexpected issue was that there are only 2 elevators and usually need to wait for one. Stairs are not a great option as the reception floor is on 6, rooms start on 7. Between ground floor and 6 is the garage so if you don't want to wait for the elevator be prepared for quite a bit of walking. Also make sure to check room prices as they can fluctuate significantly. Made reservation 2 months in advance (was going to a convention) and the price dropped 3 times from the time I made the reservation to the day before I arrived. Hilton does not notify you that the room price has dropped and the reservation line does not tell you either (I had to ask to have my rate adjusted). After asking they changed the nightly fee without issue.

Room Tip: Avoid the smoking floor if you are non-smoker. Ask for room away from elevator.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyExplorer4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown

Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#53 Family Hotel in Chicago
#68 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £95 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points -receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. Check us out online for discounts and packages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton
Chicago Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing