We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“barking dog and cold pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Ranked #51 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

It is too bad that the hotel could not control and resolve a barking dog and cold pool water. The location is fabulous, the breakfast is great, the view of the Wrigley Building stunning. However, my eleven year old and I were too exhausted the next morning to enjoy any of it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
2  Thank 480kathleenq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

480kathleenq,

Thank you for your review. I apologize for the disappointing experience you had while at our hotel. We are a pet-friendly hotel and rarely have any noise disturbance due to pets. However, in your case, there was an issue with noise and I am sorry for that. Please contact me so we can discuss the matter further.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,271 - 1,277 of 2,820 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

We would definitely stay at Homewood Suites again. The staff was wonderful, the value was great, beds were very comfortable, and the location was within walking distance of great shopping on Michigan Avenue!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Heather - Thank you for leaving your comments. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Superbly located, well priced and functional property made all the better by the excellent staff particularly the concierge desk manned by friendly Sal and Allan, front office manager Starr Stovall all of who went out of their way to help us make the most of this rather short visit. Another guy at the reception, Mr. Michael Campbell needs more training in hospitality, basic courtesy, politeness and check out rules because he kept giving different rates for checking out late to us and a few other guests. He also did not like being corrected. Other than him, the rest of the experience was excellent.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank BhupiJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for taking time to tell the world about your experience with us! I will pass along your comments to those you mentioned in your review. We welcome all feedback here, positive and negative, it only helps to make us even better! Come back and see us again soon; we look forward to being your home-away-from-home once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed here for free using our Hilton Honors points. It is located right in the middle of Chicago and is a few blocks away from Navy Pier. The check in was a breeze and the staff were friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TarsierReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

So glad you were able to put your Hilton Honors points to good use! Thanks for the positive review and your loyalty to the Hilton brand; we appreciate you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

My wife found a web rate that we took advantage of. We have typically stayed in the south end of town. Not anymore! Great location and great value with breakfast and dinner! The kids did think the pull out was a little uncomfortable. Lots of good restaurants near by. Pool was small but cool on the top floor with a view of the city. Staff was very friendly.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Gfly86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for taking time to write about your experience with us. Glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel and the new location; there is so much to do within even just a few blocks of us! Our rooftop pool is usually a big hit for families, so I'm glad you all took advantage of that! As for the sofa bed, this is great feedback to have and I'll be sure to pass this along to the appropriate folks. Hopefully you can make another trip soon in the Spring or Summer - we would love to welcome you back for another great experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This is a great property that is centrally located and has all the amenities typically important to a business traveler. I travel to Chicago for business every week andI have been staying here as often as possible. The rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable. But the best thing about this hotel is the PEOPLE that work here! The front desk staff is awesome. Everyone I have interacted with has treated me like a very special visitor. Starr (at the front desk) greets me each Monday morning like a friend she is happy to see again! Any requests/questions have been met promptly and efficiently. I want to especially give a shout out to Marcus and Glenda...they went above and beyond yesterday. Here is the story: after the manager's reception was over last night, I went looking for a cookie that they typically have available. Unforunately they were gone as it was late. When I asked Marcus(at the front desk) about the cookies, he was apologetic that none were left for me. But it didn't stop there...about 30 minutes later Glenda (the attendent at the Manager's Reception) knocked on the door of my room and delivered 3 soft fresh cookies to me! She said it was all Marcus...but she also gets the credit for exemplary customer service!!

Room Tip: All rooms I have stayed in (and there have been a lot! as I travel every week) were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NancyChauvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Nancy: We are lucky to have such wonderful guests stay with us regularly. We truly do enjoy going above what is expected to make you (and all of our guests) feel as comfortable as possible. I will pass along your kind comments to Starr, Glenda, and Marcus; they will be thrilled to know that they helped make this experience a special one for you! Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Every single staff member did their best to make it as wonderful as possible. The door men: Amer, Sammy and Allan were amazing and the desk lady: Lorena G made the trip even more perfect! The location of the hotel was right next to the Magnificent Mile and it was definitely in the heart of the city, you could get to anywhere by walking. The breakfast was awesome. I will MOST Definitely come back and will recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madisynstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your review of the Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown! Our team here is so pleased and eager to provide a memorable experience for all our guests and I'll be sure to pass along your individual comments! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown

Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Chicago
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#68 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £78 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points -receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. Check us out online for discounts and packages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton
Chicago Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing