We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Location & staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Ranked #48 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Franklin, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Location & staff”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

A great location to explore the city. Close to public transportation, shopping, restaurants. Room was very quiet! Didn't hear people in hall or neighboring rooms. All staff we encountered was very friendly & helpful. Someone even let us ride the service elevator when we had our luggage. That being said, be prepared to take stairs or wait a good awhile for the elevators. That was annoying! Overall nice experience & would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hope H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hope H,

I want to thank you for sharing the details of your recent visit with us. I was pleased to see that you had a nice experience at Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I appreciate you mentioning the awesome location and staff. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,554
    789
    234
    62
    44
See reviews for
1,121
561
128
564
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ankeny, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This was recommended by some friends and we enjoyed the location and free morning and weekly night meals. Kids enjoyed the pool. The bell staff and valet staff were great getting our vehicle right away. Only complaint would be the elevators which were slow and one wasn't working. We stayed on the 9th floor so took the steps down many times. One time they had us ride in the freight elevator because elevator was so slow. We were able to walk to Millennium Park and Michigan avenue very easily.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoHawksAnkenyIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
GoHawksAnkenyIowa,

Thank you for your review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I was delighted to see that you and your family enjoyed your experience at the hotel. I see that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary breakfast, evening Manager’s Reception, and pool. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you at the hotel the next time you are in town.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is nice hotel and a very good value. The included breakfast and weekday dinners are a nice feature. The suites are spacious and cost no more, usually less, than other area hotels with much smaller rooms that charge even more for most of the things that are included here. The staff was friendly and helpful. All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Matt W,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on our hotel. I was glad to see that you and your family had a great experience at Homewood Suites. I appreciate you mentioning the friendly and helpful staff. I see that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary breakfast and evening Manager’s Reception. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We hope that when your travels bring you back to downtown Chicago, we will remain a top choice for you.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our family stayed here mid July and had a nice stay.
Pros- the location. It is one block from the red line and bus stop. Staff is friendly and hardworking(especially the bell service). Free breakfast was a nice treat. Rooms were large and clean. The pool is indoors and on the top floor. Also nice fitness center with a great view.
Cons- elevators were slow and to few. There were only 2 and one was not working. The first day it was so crowed that we had to carry our suitcases down 6 flights of stairs to the bell desk because our room wasn't ready. When your on vacation, the last thing you want to do is spend extra time waiting for an elevator.
Overall it was a great stay. We would have given it 5 stars, but for the elevators.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Ron S,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent visit to our hotel. I was pleased to see that you and your family had a great experience at Homewood Suites despite the slow elevator. I apologize for the inconvenience and appreciate your patience. We look forward to accommodating you again the next time your travels bring you to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel using our Hilton points. If I had paid cash I would have been disappointed. The rooms are large, but they are dated. The location is nice and close to the Magnificent Mile. The walk to Navy Pier was close. I would likely not stay here again unless we got a good deal.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Jeremy W,

Thank you for recently visiting with us and for posting a review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. It is our goal to create an excellent experience for every guest; I regret the fact that we were not able to do so for you on this occasion. Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I enjoy staying here for our "stay-cations", or for our once a month "date night". The rooms are very clean and well-kept. The breakfast is absolutely wonderful and the service staff there are all so friendly and attentive. The location is so convenient for when we want to walk to the Gold Coast and do some window browsing. I always ask for a high floors for the wonderful Chicago views, especially at night. I haven't tried the pool lately, so I can't comment on that. All in all, I recommend this hotel for couples.

Room Tip: Higher floors for the quietness and beautiful night view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marisol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Marisol F,

I want to thank you for sharing the details of your recent visit with us. I was delighted to see that you had a lovely experience at our hotel for your monthly “date night”. I appreciate you mentioning the friendly and attentive staff. I also see that you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and took advantage of the location of the hotel. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIndsor, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We traveled as a family of 5 to the great city of Chicago, approximately 4.5 hour drive from Detroit.

We book the hotel on-line and when we arrive, checked in, but had to wait until 4 pm for our keys. We ventured into the city and walked to Navy Pier had lunch and went on an architectural tour of the city by boat. What a great and informative boat ride.

Walking back to the hotel, we came across a Store / Restaurants called Eataly. WOW, food to purchase from all over Italy and 20 stations of made to order food. Wood buying pizza ovens, bakery, cheese are, deli, beer bar, wine bar, gelato, cappuccino bar, fresh pasta, and made to order crepes etc. This place is a must see. A blend of culinary delights to take home and to share and eat right in the store / restaurant! Brilliant idea.

Back at the hotel, we were spoiled with a king bed suite. What a pleasure to unwind in our "space" before venturing out for dinner. The kids also had there own room just down the hall and that was very convenient as well. The lobby was located on the 6th floor and the hotel above that. We parked the car and walked everywhere and a few times took a cab.

This hotel is perfectly located in the centre of the action and was awesome. We will stay here again and look forward to the excellent service we received while there!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWAYNEfromWINDSOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
DWAYNEfromWINDSOR,

Thank you for your review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I was happy to see that you and your family had an awesome experience at our hotel! I appreciate you mentioning the excellent service your family received throughout your visit. I can see that you took advantage of the location of the hotel as you visited the many sights, shops, and restaurants in the area. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you at the hotel the next time you are in town.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#53 Family Hotel in Chicago
#68 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points -receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. Check us out online for discounts and packages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton
Chicago Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing