We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central to everything!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Ranked #50 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Central to everything!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

The Homewood Suites Chicago was a new find for us on our annual siblings reunion weekend. The hotel was running a weekend rate special in May, and it looked nice in photos, so we took a chance. The hotel is in the River North section, and parking is expensive - $34-42 a day, depending on whether you choose garage or valet service. But, the location is worth it, it's a block from the Loop train (underground at State and Grand). And, you can walk everywhere in Chicago from this hotel, which is nice on a wonderful summer weekend.

The suite is arranged with a kitcen, dining table for 2, a sleeper sofa and chair is one room, and a king size bed and the bath in the other room. The bathroom sink is separate from the toilet and shower, which is convenient. The kitchen has a dishwasher, serveware, coffee maker and toaster, plus a microwave and a 2 burner stove. And it has granite countertops, a nice touch.

This hotel is thrilling all of the little ones, and fitness freaks. The 19th floor has a very nice pool,, 4 feet deep and long enough to do some laps. I have never seen so many well-behaved children under constant parental supervision in a hotel before, which I loved (thanks to parents who understand it's important to watch your kids at all times). There are lots of towels and tables and chairs for parents to relax, looking out over the city to the west. The fitness center has nice free weights, heavy balls and treadmills. If you prefer, there is a complimentaty pass to the health club Crunch next door.

The full breakfast is a full breakfast - sausage and biscuits, corned beef, bacon, scrambled eggs, pastries, french toast, cereals, yogurt and cottage cheese, fresh fruit, toasted breads, coffee, tea, juices. They serve the breakfast in a dining hall that is crowded at peak times, so you can pack a box from the breakfast buffet and take it back to your room. No dinky cups, either...everything is full sized, and they keep replenishing the buffet until closing time.

Outside the hotel, Nordstroms across the street has great sales, and you can walk inside through a mall to get to Michigan Avenue 2 blocks to the east - convenient on a rainy day. Restaurants in the area offer every kind of food. We tried Shaw's Crab House and Rockit and were very pleased. Be sure to try Ina's on W. Randolph for breakfast, too.

Also not to miss in the area are Millennium Park - what a fun place for kids - and the beaches along Lake Michigan. We tried a street fair to the north and had a nice walk after having lunch there.

Last but not least, the wireless access to the internet. It's free, and there's a router in each room above the kitchen cabinets. We had to reboot the router each time we signed on - unplug the power for a few seconds, then reconnect it. It worked each time we tried that.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,478
    747
    225
    59
    42
See reviews for
1,063
533
123
535
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2009

This was the first of two hotels we stayed at during the week during NPE Week. Overall, the three day stay was very good. Room was large, very clean, bed very comfortable, free internet, clean kitchen and kids enjoyed the pool and breakfast was a huge convenience. Dinners are provided in the evening during the week even though we didn't take advantage of this. Staff response upon arrival and check in was luke warm, but so were we after an 8 hour drive. We tried to switch our room from a default king reservation to a double, but the front desk wasn't too responsive about our request. They offered a roll a way bed, but we used the sofa bed for the kids instead. I would have preferred they rectify the situation, but I let it slide. Workout room is very nice, but it was 80+ degrees. They also offer a free pass to Crunch Gym next door. Great location! 24 hour business center was a great feature too! I was able to use the facility to print discount tickets to an attraction. Loved this!

Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank kcroadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st louis
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2009

Great staff, location, rooms and breakfast!!!!!We stayed w/ our 15 yr old daughter and our 7 yr old son and had plenty of room in our 1bedroom suite. We arrived 2 hours early and we were able to check in at no additional charge. Every staff member was so helpfull. The ladies at the front desk were always giving us great directions!
We can't wait to go back to Chicago and this is the ONLY place we will stay.
Martinez family (st louis)

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martinez121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper64, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 2 July 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Homewood Suites for your recent visit and for the kind thoughts you shared on Trip Advisor.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and that you would choose to return to our hotel. I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

David Prentiss
General Manager
Homewood Suites Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
78 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

Not much to add to what others have already stated - it's a terrific hotel. The rooms are immaculate and large, the location is outstanding, it has gorgeous views of nearby architectural marvels, it's walking distance from the Art Institute, which for my money is the best museum in the USA. It's also less than a block from the subway, right on top of worldclass shopping and dining, and a 10-minute walk from the fabulous House of Blues music venue.

On top of it all, it's quiet as a churchyard so you sleep like a baby in the awesome padded mattresses, there's great water pressure, and no worries buying a snack - even in the middle of the night, as there's a vending area in the lobby. The ventilation is excellent - we were neither too hot nor too cold. The room darkening shades were 100% with no rips or other gaps for light to blaze through in the morning. (I'm a super light sleeper and quiet/dark/ventilation are all important issues for me - Homewood passed with flying colors.)

Also! Free wi-fi, which is often the reason Hilton steals me away from my other loyalty program at Sheraton - who wants to be nickel and dimed?

The ONLY reason I'm not giving this place five stars is I think $42 is too much for valet parking and the rooms themselves are expensive, at $189 for a king suite - this is before taxes. Also, one of the elevators was broken during our stay and even though we could use the service elevator, there was a 10-minute wait sometimes to get downstairs.

Still, the service was excellent and combined with the other pluses of this property, we'll be back for 100% certain.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DivemistressofthDark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper64, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 2 July 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to detail your positive experience at the Homewood Suites as well as your desire to return. Our staff members very much appreciate your kind thoughts.

Thank you too for your understanding when we experience some mechanical problems with one of our elevators. I certainly hope it didn't do too much to diminish the enjoyment of your stay. We have since corrected the problem.

Safe travels and I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
David Prentiss
Homewood Suites Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2009

I stayed in a king-bedded suite for 3 nights mid May and have nothing but praise for this place. The room was extremely clean and had all the comforts of home. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. I was concerned at first about getting a shabby room as has been my experience with a couple of other Homewoods, but they have completed their remodel, so there's probably not a bad room in the place.

The location is safe and perfect for anything you’d want to do in the downtown area. I’ll definitely stay here on my next trip to Chicago.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimba57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
450 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2009

We just got back from staying at this hotel and we had a great time. The suite was really nice and it was fun to look out the window and see all the high rises. It was a wonderful location - there was so much you could walk to! We walked to the river and took a cruise and we walked to Harry Caray's for dinner. There was also a red metro right by there and we went to a game at Wrigley Field. It only took about 20 minutes to reach Wrigley. I would stay here again next time I go to Chicago.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2009

We stayed at the Homewood suites in Chicago for a quick family trip. I cannot praise it highly enough ! The room was clean with contemporary decor. We stayed in a King Suite, which had plenty of room. We arrived before check in time. However, they checked our bags and parked our car allowing us to explore the City until we could check in. When we did check in, they brought our bags to our room within minutes. Everyone was so nice and helpful..from the valets to the bellmen to the front desk. Breakfast was complimentary and was more than adequate for our family to start our day. Sure it was not the $20 a head buffet at the Hilton, but nobody walked away hungry. The pool had a spectacular view of the city at night. The hotel is conveniently located to everything the city has to offer. The Valets are quick to hail a cab for you or provide information to get you anywhere you need to go. The best part of the service was that when we accidentally left our car key at the valet station when we left ( I thought they gave it to my husband and he thought they gave it to me...my husband used his key to start the car) we called the hotel the next day when we discovered it and they promptly fed-Exed the key back to our house,,,it arrived home before we did !!! The Homewood Suites is going to be our choice in downtown chicago with that kind of service ! ALso the price was right,too. We paid $139.00 for a King Suite. Yes the valet parking at $42.00 is a bit steep, but this is downtown chicago. YOu could use one of the many self parks in the area and save about $10-$15 bucks and carry your luggage about 2-3 blocks to the hotel...but the convenience of the valet was well worth the extra money.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jojo316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#53 Family Hotel in Chicago
#68 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points -receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. Check us out online for discounts and packages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Homewood Suites
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing