We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Ranked #50 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2009

This is my 4th time at this hotel, and once again it was a great stay. This time I brought some family members who had their own room. The staff is friendly and never seemed stressed even though the hotel was filled to capacity the night we were there. Breakfast is crowded on the weekends, but having to wait for the host to seat you is a nice touch - no one takes your table and it seems more like a restaurant. This time we had a huge room, but it was very oddly shaped. Get a corner room if you can, they are small, but have 2 windows in the living area. The location is perfect, right across the street from Nordstrom and Shops at Northbridge. The fitness room is small, but does the trick. The only downside is that there is a pool, but no hot tub. There are plenty of restaurants within a block or two. It's not the fanciest place in town, but it is certainly the best hotel for the price ($99 pre-paid). I'll be back again next time I'm in town.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
Thank MrsClean76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,533 - 2,539 of 2,862 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2009

We had a great experience from the moment we pulled up in front of the hotel. The valet/bellhops are so friendly. Check-in was a breeze. We had a one bedroom suite with a pull-out sofa. The kitchen was well equipped. Breakfast was great - everything you could think of and they changed it up each day. The hotel was packed but they did a great job of getting people in and out. We never waited more than 5 minutes to get a table. The pool was clean and warm and our kids spent a lot of time in it. The hotel is in a great location - central to the miracle mile and navy pier. If you are going to be there for a few days, get the bus pass - it's worth it. We used the bus a lot. Everytime we had to go somewhere and didn't want to talk, we just went to the front desk and the girls would tell us exactly which buses to take. We will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurenyulan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

My wife and I stayed here for over two weeks in January. I have never felt so cold outside and so warm inside. The staff went out of their way to assist us since we were staying so long. The rooms are good size and the complimentary breakfast and evening reception were an added bonus. Get there early because it fills up fast.
The beds are not great, but I have slept on worse. Also, having a kitchen came in handy. The location is within walking distance of many good restaurants and the Magnificent Mile for shopping. We plan to go back next year.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SavageLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

The Homewood Suites Chicago was a new find for us on our annual siblings reunion weekend. The hotel was running a weekend rate special in May, and it looked nice in photos, so we took a chance. The hotel is in the River North section, and parking is expensive - $34-42 a day, depending on whether you choose garage or valet service. But, the location is worth it, it's a block from the Loop train (underground at State and Grand). And, you can walk everywhere in Chicago from this hotel, which is nice on a wonderful summer weekend.

The suite is arranged with a kitcen, dining table for 2, a sleeper sofa and chair is one room, and a king size bed and the bath in the other room. The bathroom sink is separate from the toilet and shower, which is convenient. The kitchen has a dishwasher, serveware, coffee maker and toaster, plus a microwave and a 2 burner stove. And it has granite countertops, a nice touch.

This hotel is thrilling all of the little ones, and fitness freaks. The 19th floor has a very nice pool,, 4 feet deep and long enough to do some laps. I have never seen so many well-behaved children under constant parental supervision in a hotel before, which I loved (thanks to parents who understand it's important to watch your kids at all times). There are lots of towels and tables and chairs for parents to relax, looking out over the city to the west. The fitness center has nice free weights, heavy balls and treadmills. If you prefer, there is a complimentaty pass to the health club Crunch next door.

The full breakfast is a full breakfast - sausage and biscuits, corned beef, bacon, scrambled eggs, pastries, french toast, cereals, yogurt and cottage cheese, fresh fruit, toasted breads, coffee, tea, juices. They serve the breakfast in a dining hall that is crowded at peak times, so you can pack a box from the breakfast buffet and take it back to your room. No dinky cups, either...everything is full sized, and they keep replenishing the buffet until closing time.

Outside the hotel, Nordstroms across the street has great sales, and you can walk inside through a mall to get to Michigan Avenue 2 blocks to the east - convenient on a rainy day. Restaurants in the area offer every kind of food. We tried Shaw's Crab House and Rockit and were very pleased. Be sure to try Ina's on W. Randolph for breakfast, too.

Also not to miss in the area are Millennium Park - what a fun place for kids - and the beaches along Lake Michigan. We tried a street fair to the north and had a nice walk after having lunch there.

Last but not least, the wireless access to the internet. It's free, and there's a router in each room above the kitchen cabinets. We had to reboot the router each time we signed on - unplug the power for a few seconds, then reconnect it. It worked each time we tried that.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2009

This was the first of two hotels we stayed at during the week during NPE Week. Overall, the three day stay was very good. Room was large, very clean, bed very comfortable, free internet, clean kitchen and kids enjoyed the pool and breakfast was a huge convenience. Dinners are provided in the evening during the week even though we didn't take advantage of this. Staff response upon arrival and check in was luke warm, but so were we after an 8 hour drive. We tried to switch our room from a default king reservation to a double, but the front desk wasn't too responsive about our request. They offered a roll a way bed, but we used the sofa bed for the kids instead. I would have preferred they rectify the situation, but I let it slide. Workout room is very nice, but it was 80+ degrees. They also offer a free pass to Crunch Gym next door. Great location! 24 hour business center was a great feature too! I was able to use the facility to print discount tickets to an attraction. Loved this!

Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
1  Thank kcroadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

Great staff, location, rooms and breakfast!!!!!We stayed w/ our 15 yr old daughter and our 7 yr old son and had plenty of room in our 1bedroom suite. We arrived 2 hours early and we were able to check in at no additional charge. Every staff member was so helpfull. The ladies at the front desk were always giving us great directions!
We can't wait to go back to Chicago and this is the ONLY place we will stay.
Martinez family (st louis)

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinez121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper64, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2009

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Homewood Suites for your recent visit and for the kind thoughts you shared on Trip Advisor.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and that you would choose to return to our hotel. I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

David Prentiss
General Manager
Homewood Suites Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

Not much to add to what others have already stated - it's a terrific hotel. The rooms are immaculate and large, the location is outstanding, it has gorgeous views of nearby architectural marvels, it's walking distance from the Art Institute, which for my money is the best museum in the USA. It's also less than a block from the subway, right on top of worldclass shopping and dining, and a 10-minute walk from the fabulous House of Blues music venue.

On top of it all, it's quiet as a churchyard so you sleep like a baby in the awesome padded mattresses, there's great water pressure, and no worries buying a snack - even in the middle of the night, as there's a vending area in the lobby. The ventilation is excellent - we were neither too hot nor too cold. The room darkening shades were 100% with no rips or other gaps for light to blaze through in the morning. (I'm a super light sleeper and quiet/dark/ventilation are all important issues for me - Homewood passed with flying colors.)

Also! Free wi-fi, which is often the reason Hilton steals me away from my other loyalty program at Sheraton - who wants to be nickel and dimed?

The ONLY reason I'm not giving this place five stars is I think $42 is too much for valet parking and the rooms themselves are expensive, at $189 for a king suite - this is before taxes. Also, one of the elevators was broken during our stay and even though we could use the service elevator, there was a 10-minute wait sometimes to get downstairs.

Still, the service was excellent and combined with the other pluses of this property, we'll be back for 100% certain.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DivemistressofthDark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper64, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2009

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to detail your positive experience at the Homewood Suites as well as your desire to return. Our staff members very much appreciate your kind thoughts.

Thank you too for your understanding when we experience some mechanical problems with one of our elevators. I certainly hope it didn't do too much to diminish the enjoyment of your stay. We have since corrected the problem.

Safe travels and I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
David Prentiss
Homewood Suites Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown

Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Chicago
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#68 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £76 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points -receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. Check us out online for discounts and packages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton
Chicago Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing