We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel - Great Staff, Location - All the comforts of home.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Ranked #50 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, MI
2 reviews
“Fantastic Hotel - Great Staff, Location - All the comforts of home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2009

We recently stayed here on a family trip to Chicago. My husband and I were traveling with our 10 month-old son and 3 year-old son. From the moment of our arrival our experience was completely positive. The valets were very helpful with unloading the kids and luggage from the car. The staff at the front desk was fantastic. They had a crib delivered to our room within 20 minutes of our arrival. The complimentary dinner the first night was great. After traveling all afternoon, it was nice that we didn't have to try and make arrangments for dinner. The staff in "the lodge" where dinner and breakfast were served was very friendly and attentive, as well. It was nice that they had carry-out containers available to take dinner and breakfast back to the room if you don't want to eat in the dining room. Throughout our stay, all of the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was great. It was like having an apartment, and gave us plenty of room for the kids to spread out with their toys and play. It was nice to have the kitchen, especially for preparing bottles, and for having dinner in the room which was generally carry-out from area restaurants. The hotel has a room service arrangement with P.F. Chang's, and is within walking distance of a lot of nice restaurants. Great location for walking to area attractions - the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier. We are already planning to retun next summer, and will recommend the Homewood Suites to our family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizard70Detroit_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,500
    759
    226
    60
    43
See reviews for
1,079
541
125
542
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2009

The staff at this Homewood Suites made a wedding weekend trip for my family stress free and smooth. We had 6 suites reserved at the prepay rate of $129.00 each for the weekend of August 28-30.
The front desk was happy to give wedding goodie and snack bags, which I made up at home, to each member of our group as they checked in. When we detected a faint cigarette smell in our room when we first arrived, the front desk was prompt in moving us to a different room. They even gave us the largest suite avaiable on our floor, so that we would have a larger gathering place for our entire party of 13 people. Then, Rose, at the front desk, asked if we would like to have our whole party on the same floor. This was great since some were elderly and there were children, also.
Some of the many extras the staff helped us with: bringing extra chairs to our suite, fetching items for the wedding from our valet-parked cars, rounding up mini-van taxis for our large group twice, bringing us extra towels and ice within minutes of calling for them.
The hotel was sold out for the weekend, so the breakfast room was crowded and they had an overflow room opened, but they never ran low on food. On Saturday, they had a broken water pipe in the kitchen, so there was no hot food, but they were sincerely apologetic.
There was a wait for an elevator at busy times, but we never waited more than a few minutes.
They could have given a little more thought to which families got which size rooms. A couple using a crib were given one of the smallest rooms on the floor, which made it very tight in the room, while our single, senior citizen great-grandma got a corner unit with windows on 2 sides and a very large, uncrowded living area.
We were close to everything we needed at this location.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina_Cuckoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1209
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2009

Recommend everything about , except when i got home, started get tons of sales calls on my CELL PHONe from Hilton Honors and they were annoying, pushy and non stop. For this reason, I would never stay at a hilton hotel again! Google...you will see thousands of similar complaints against them. SOOOOO frustrating

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uncledave33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2009

We spent 4 nights at the Homewood Suites in downtown Chicago during the second week of July and had a great time.
The double decker bus tour of the city gives a thorough overview of the city and allows you to get off at any one of the 14 stops. It was a beautiful day and we sat on top outside.
Be sure to take the 90 minute Architectural Boat Cruise which explains the history of the downtown buildings along the Chicago River.
We were impressed with Giordano's deep dish Chicago pizza which was worth the one hour wait. The Melting Pot fondue restaurant was also a new experience trying 3 difference types of fondues. Bistro 101 downtown was excellent food for lunch.
The Shedd Aquarium and the Adler Planetarium are gems worth seeing. Take a cab from downtown to avoid the traffic.
We booked tickets from our hotel to see the evening performance of Shanghai Cirque at Navy Pier which was excellent. The Wednesday night fireworks at 9:30 pm are spectacular.
The Magnificent Mile had great selection in stores for shopping especially Niketown.
Overall, had a wonderful holiday. The downtown was very clean and people were friendly. Hope to visit Chicago again.

Helpful?
Thank SooMarie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

Perfect location, clean and courteous staff all added up to a great stay. Its in an area with plenty of stores ( The Mile) and restaurants. Hotel lobby is on the 6th floor and the elevator to get there was annoyingly slow but overall I would highly recommend this place regardless if your there with a family, friends or on business. The subway to Wrigley is a 1/2 block away from the front door.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herbeverschmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
165 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

We stayed here for the fourth time from July 26 to Aug.3 and had a wonderful time (as ususual!). We did encounter a few problems but they were dealt with quickly and joyfully. This suite hotel is fab, but it's the people that work there that make this the BEST hotel in Chicago. Kudos to these wonderful people...John, the assist. General Manager, who took a personal interest in our stay,and the problems we encountered. John, went beyond the call of duty. When my room key wouldn't work for the 3rd time, he PERSONALLY escorted me to my room...NOW THAT'S SERVICE! Thanks for all that you did John, I will always remember your kindness and understanding:D
Jonah, one of the best bell men ever always had a smile and kind word, he really did make me feel like I was coming "home" after a long day of shoppping/sightseeing. We shared more than a few restaurant reviews...thanks!
The wonderful ladies who manned the front desk...always friendly and helpful! No request was ever too big to be accomodated.
Connie that worked in the lodge...a smile every morning! along with that free breakfast!. I had gotten a touch of food poisoning one night and told Connie about the experience...she offered to get me some ginger ale to settle my stomache! Connie was working here that last time we were at the Suites in '07...and she remembered us!
Suggestion to all visitors: leave these hard working people a cash tip! Yes the breakfast and manager's reception is free, but the people that seat ya and clean up after you are in the service industry and deserve a tip for their service...I know that they even appreciate a dollar or 2! It's not a lot when you consider how much that meal for the family would cost in a restaurant....free wine & beer...enough said!
I just can't say enough good things about this place! They really do stand behind their 100% Satisfaction guarantee.
Don't know when we'll be back in Chicago but do know that this is the ONLY hotel we would ever consider staying at. Great location. great facility, great food and drink and most of all, the best group of people you'd every want to meet! Thanks for another wonderful holiday...

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2009

The Homewood Suites were a perfect central spot for exploring all the Chicago highlights. We were close by to shopping, the theatre, and plenty of good restaurants. Trader Joe's was just around the corner so we picked up some bottled water, wine and fruit on the first day. The free trolley was a great option to get to attractions and tours near the Pier. The only thing I would not recommend around the hotel is the ESPN Zone bar/restaurant.

The free daily breakfast was convenient and had plenty of options. The free wireless in rooms and business center were also nice. Our room was very large, but could have used some updating. We would not hesitate to stay here again on a future trip.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiverOaksReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#53 Family Hotel in Chicago
#68 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points -receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. Check us out online for discounts and packages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Homewood Suites
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing