We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive and surprising”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Ranked #50 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
2 reviews
“Impressive and surprising”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

We stayed here over new year's weekend with friends and had an enjoyable stay.
The hotel is in a perfect location and is only blocks away from Michigan Avenue and within walking distance to many great restaurants. There is also a shopping mall right across the street.
The room was very clean and had plenty of space to accommodate five people. Our suite also included a pull out bed. The bathroom was a decent size and well maintained. The free breakfast was an added bonus with lots of choice.
Would totally go back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enigmatic00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper64, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 3 February 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts about your stay. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit on what turned out to be quite a busy time. It looks like you made the most of the area and enjoyed Chicago which is nice to see.

Thank you again and I hope you do consider us for future visits.

Regards,

David Prentiss
General Manager
Homewood Suites Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,500
    759
    227
    60
    43
See reviews for
1,080
541
125
542
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

The location was amazing (easy walk to both the north and south loops, and of course the Mag mile). The staff was so friendly! I'm Canadian and I can say that not even WE have people as hospitable as there was at the Homewood hotel. I'm only staying at this hotel when I visit Chicago from now on.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper64, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 24 January 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us and for the kind comments. I am glad that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your time in Chicago.

Please do consider us when you return to Chicago in the future.

Regards,

David Prentiss
General Manager
Homewood Suites Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

we recently just stayed at this hotel for one night. everything about our stay was great! the rooms are very spacious, the hotel staff were all very friendly and the location can't be beat! next time we are in chicago we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gogoamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper64, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 24 January 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay with us. I appreciate the kind comment about our staff. Your subject line is certainly the level of service we strive for. I hope we make it sometimes.

Thank you again and I hope we do have the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Regards,

David Prentiss
General Manager
Homewood Suites Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

I recently returned from a weekend trip to Chicago and a two-night stay at the Homewood Suites. The hotel is easy to find, a mere block away from the Red Line's Grand station. The pleasant desk clerk had me checked-in in less than two minutes, and I was off to my room. The one bedroom suite was big, with a proper kitchen (with a stovetop and full-size fridge), work desk, sleeper sofa and flatscreen tv in one room, and a King bed, flatscreen tv, and bathroom in the other. Clean, comfortable and with a great view of downtown.

The complimentary breakfast was very tasty with numerous hot and cold options. I was there on the weekend, so I didn't have a chance to test out the light dinner that's served Mon-Thu, but based on the breakfast, I'd guess it's pretty tasty as well. In addition to Michigan Ave, and all the downtown Chicago landmarks, if you're looking to save some cash, there are also a number of fast food restaurants (Chipotle, Jimmy John's, McDonald's) within a couple block walk of the hotel.

The price was great for the location and amenities (free wifi!) provided, and I just can't see myself staying anywhere else when I next come to Chicago.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper64, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 24 January 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts about your stay and for the kind comments. I especially like the fact that you took such great advantage of our location and value.

Thank you again and we will look forward to your future visits.

Regards,

David Prentiss
General Manager
Homewood Suites Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis Missouri
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2011

We spent a few days in Chicago to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. Upon arrival the staff provided us with a complimentary bottle of wine. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast buffet was always crowded but well stocked. Every member of the hotel made us feel welcome. This was our second trip to Chicago and to this hotel. It is a great value!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJStravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper64, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 24 January 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for staying with us and Happy Anniversary! I'm glad that we were able to help make it special. It is always nice for me to see that people take advantage of our great location.

Thanks again and I hope you make the Homewood Suites an annual tradition.

Regards,

David Prentiss
General Manager
Homewood Suites Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

Stayed here over long weekend in January. The location is great and the rooms are a great size for a downtown hotel. Plenty of room for the familty to relax. Pool was great, plenty warm, plenty towels, and a great view to boot. Service was very good, breakfast a little crowded but they did a great job of keeping things neat and clean and was plenty of food and variety. Would definetely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brew_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper64, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 24 January 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts about your stay. I'm very pleased to see that you enjoyed our hotel and its location. I hope the busy breakfast wasn't too much of a detriment. I appreciate you noting that the staff did a good job of keeping everything stocked. They work very hard and will appreciate that.

Thank you again and I do hope you will consider us for future visits.

Regards,

David Prentiss
General Manager
Homewood Suites Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

We, family of 4, stayed here for 5 nights and loved it. The decor is a little dated and the hallways were uneven but we didn't stay here for the decor! The location is perfect, in the middle of the mag mile and close to CTA buses and trains, restaurants and grocery stores. Didn't use any of the facilities like pool, laundry or fitness so can't comment. Breakfast was great and only crowded on our last day for some reason. Kickback meal at night was adequate and free so who's to complain! All day tea and coffe in lobby available and very handy. Popcorn in room was a winner for our 2 kids, 8 & 14yrs. No room safe but we didn't have a problem, just locked up our valuables in our cases each day. Fast check out service great, didn't have to go to the lobby at all! Doormen very helpful and were prompt and helpful with my few requests, even after I forgot to tip them, sorry boys! Would def stay here again for convenience and free food and highly recommend to anyone who wants value for money and isn't after just aesthetics!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusyBees04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper64, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 24 January 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us and for the kind comments about our service staff. I'm glad to see that you were able to take advantage of our value and location. I hope that you and your family had a great time in Chicago.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Regards,

David Prentiss
General Manager
Homewood Suites Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#53 Family Hotel in Chicago
#68 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points -receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. Check us out online for discounts and packages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Homewood Suites
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing