We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great help from the staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Ranked #114 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great help from the staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Stay there for four nights. Their staff, especiall Tom Hilton is very helpful. My jacket needs special care, and I handed it to Tom, although he worked for a night shift, he called in in the morning to communicate with his colleague to make sure they understand my request. And it is done beautifully.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathynchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Thank you for your terrific review! We will be sure to recognize Tom for the role he played in your Hotel Indigo experience. Please come back and see us again soon! When you're here next time, enjoy one of our new signature drinks in the Bar or try out some of the new breakfast choices. We are confident it will only enhance your experience! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    472
    189
    82
    58
See reviews for
255
361
96
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Got a great price on a king room in this hotel by booking this hotel online. Better rate than anywhere else in the city. We found it okay and checked in, thinking it looked like a really cute place. Upon getting to our room, we started noticing things like scratches on the walls, stains on the carpet and furniture and other cleanliness issues. Overall, the place needs a DEEP clean. There was a stain on the bench in our room that certainly shouldn't have been there-if anything remove the bench. The lightswitches were dirty and next to the toilet it looked like someone had rubbed boogers on the wall!!!

Our iron didn't work, so we requested a replacement. The front desk said they'd be right up with one and after waiting 30 minutes or so, we decided to pass on ironing our shirts and went out wrinkled as we had time constraints.

The rooms lack counter space and the beds could be firmer. If you like a hard bed, this is not the place for you.

It probably was very cute when it first opened but looks as if it has gone down hill. The first night we were there, they had water with cucumbers as a treat but we never saw it again. It's these little touches that could have made up for the other things, but it appeared to be a one time thing.

The cafe is over priced, go to the wine bar down the street instead (third coast).

While the decor is cute, it certainly didn't live up to the expectations. I'd much rather stay at a real beach themed hotel in Florida than at this place again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheDisneyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Thank you for your review! We can only make improvements when feedback such as yours is provided to us! Your comments will be shared with our team so we can make immediate improvements. Please try us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

The Hotel Indigo located in the Gold Coast neighborhood of Chicago was very neat and comfortable. The hotel is conveniently located one block from the red line metro, major Chicago attractions were also easily accessible by foot. The queen room was a decent size, the bed clean and comfortable. We were provided with fresh towels every day. Very easy to get to anywhere in Chicago from the hotel. Best location.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Thank you for your review! We are delighted you chose to stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of our great location. There is so much to do and see in our neighborhood, we hope you had the opportunity to do a little exploring while you were here. If not, please come and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

After a short. two-block walk off the Red Line, we were ready for check-in shortly after 4. Unfortunately the reservation Hotel Indigo had in their database was for a queen bed - not what was requested. After having to share a (very tiny) bed in a hotel the previous night on the Mag Mile the night before, I was looking forward to more space. Tom, who checked us in, shared that he was sorry and suggested we try a later check in to see if anything else opened up. I was hopeful with the option he suggested, and after agreeing with my travel partner that we'd go grab a drink to kill an hour, I disappointedly told Tom we'd be back. To my delight he dug a little deeper and after a bit, found us a lovely barrier-free room with appropriate sized bed. His extra effort was greatly appreciated and I was delighted with the unexpected, but fresh decor. I'll stay at the Indigo again, without hesitation!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeTigGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that you'll be back! We'll be sure to recognize Tom for his efforts, he is a wonderful example of the service we aspire to provide for every guest! Next time you're here, please be sure to check out our on-site Spa and have a glass of wine in our bar if you did not have the chance to do so during this visit. Weare confident you'll enjoy those experiences as well! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

If eventing went properly on this visit, I would have rated the hotel better. This hotel could approach a good Marriott Courtyard, if all had gone well.

Positives:

1. Good location, less than two blocks from the Red Line (subway).
2. Nice staff in reception.
3. Decent bathroom/toiletries/towels.

Negatives:
1. I asked three times for a luggage stand for my suitcase. None was ever delivered. Inexcusable!
2. Shower head used an aerator. This, coupled with a leaky connection to the pipe led to lower than desired water pressure.
3. Not a flat-screen tv.
4. The room was just a bit tired.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ichabod777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you for your review! We always welcome honest feedback such as yours as it gives us the opportunity for improvement. We sincerely apologize we did not meet your expectations! We will be addressing some of your concerns in an upcoming refresh, including the flat screen TV's. We hope you'll give us another opportunity to showcase what we've done when that project is complete. Until then, thank you for your honesty and for choosing the Hotel Indigo Downtown Chicago Gold Coast! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Very nice boutique hotel with nice amenities in Gold Coast of Chicago, a few blocks away from Oak Street and Michigan Avenue, near many restaurants within walking distance. Easy to get around from this location and a bright, cheeful place to stay.

Room Tip: Just ask for a large quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bocasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Thank you for the great review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our great location! There are many great restaurants within walking distance and we hope you had the time to enjoy our Cafe and Phi Bar as well during your visit. If not, please make sure you enjoy a drink in our Bar during your next visit! We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, MI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

This hotel was excellent from the moment we walked in with its seaside decor charm to how well maintained it seemed to be! Please be warned it cost us $61 additional (for 2 days) to park at the hotel! New cost to us travelers! The beds were ummmm....."very firm", but we still slept well!! And this is a pet friendly hotel and while we never smelled any pets, there was the constant and undeniable smell of pet odor remover everywhere! So just be warned! For a one night stay this was perfect though! Only one block away from the Red Line Subway station that took us straight to Wrigley Field (which was our main reason for our trip)! And only a few blocks away from the "Magnificent Mile"! Also Walgreen's is on the same corner and super convenient!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dayrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
PUBLIC Chicago
PUBLIC Chicago
#90 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#61 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Gold Coast
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Streeterville
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
#122 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast

Property: Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Address: 1244 N Dearborn Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60610-5197 (Formerly Claridge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#99 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast The newest member of the Intercontinental Hotels Group family, Hotel Indigo is a branded boutique hotel that offers a refreshing alternative to traditional hotels. Quietly nestled on a tree-lined street, Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is located in one of Chicago's oldest and most historical neighborhoods, and is just steps from downtown Chicago and easily accessible from O Hare International Airport (ORD) and Midway Airport (MDW) . The location is ideal for guests who want to spend their days shopping on Chicago's Magnificent Mile and Oak Street's Boutique Row or indulge in the nightlife of Rush Street. Guests staying in enjoy free wireless Internet , Aveda bath amenities, spa-inspired showers, complimentary fitness center, locally roasted Metropolis coffee products in our restaurant and a fine wine selection in Phi, our lobby lounge. Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is pet friendly , and has numerous amenities for your travel companions so they may enjoy their stay as much as you will. Our Torchbearer Award winning service will be sure to impress all guests. Enter Hotel Indigo and sense the difference. The colors calm. The imagery excites. The architecture delights. You are relaxed, refreshed, renewed. You are inspired! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, IHG and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Chicago
Chicago Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing