We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Ranked #122 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy and friendly”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This hotel has one of most friendly staff I have ever come across. Location is great as it's a walking distance from Rush Street (party area), the magnificent mile and other important areas in Chicago. The cafe at the hotel has some interesting lines on the menu. Will always prefer to stay here.

Room Tip: Just go there and enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VivekDidwania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    490
    199
    91
    61
See reviews for
269
371
100
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Indigo during my weeklong visit to Chicago where I attended a research seminar at the Newberry Library. The service at the Hotel Indigo was perfect and I say this for the ease offered to just do my business with no distractions. I called for service twice and got such prompt attention, that I wondered if the staff were just there to help only me!

This was especially the case when I discovered that my stopwatch was missing. It turned up at the front desk where Veronika opened the drawer and took out the watch as soon as I mentioned I was looking for it. She said she found it by the business center area, and I realized I had forgotten it in the rush to prepare a 'thank you' card for the staff at the Newberry Library. I guess I can offer this review as a sort of "thank you" to Veronika and the rest of the helpful staff at Hotel Indigo!

This was also a family trip for part of the visit, and my family was also so impressed with our accommodations and for the bright and happy look of things, that we may now just make a weekend visit to Chicago for the ease and comfort of staying at the Hotel Indigo while we tour landmarks and enjoy what the great city has to offer.

We will be sure to tell our friends and colleagues about the good stay we had at the Hotel Indigo, and thanks so much to the courteous staff members who offered us such prompt and professional and no-hassle service during this good week on the 'gold coast!'

Room Tip: We liked the double room facing east on the sixth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review and for recognizing Veronika for the role she played in your Hotel Indigo experience! I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and am pleased you were able to experience the kind of service we pride ourselves on providing. We cannot wait for your return visit to Chicago to take in the sights of our fine city! We are in the process of making some exciting new changes to some of the services we provide and would love to hear your feedback after your next visit. Please be sure to enjoy a drink in our bar and/or try out one of our new menu offerings during your next trip. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The location was great for downtown shopping -- within walking distance. The rooms were very cute, with a "beachy" feel. Each room has a different design. Staff was nice. We didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel, but the rooms were nice, beds were comfy. Included coffee pot/coffee. Cute lobby with a cute little lobby bar. Parking cost $39/night.

On Saturday mornings there was a small farmers market set up in the street at the end of the block.

On the negative side, the shower curtain/wall was not designed well because we had a hard time keeping the floor from flooding when showering. Plus we killed a centepede in the room (imagine three screaming women trying to accomplish this).

All in all, I would definately stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Love2Drive65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I am not a fan of Chicago in general, but I did enjoy the hotel - the decor was beachy and fun and made me feel like I was somewhere else, and the room was very comfortable. The staff was pleasant, and the location was very good for access to the Navy Pier, beaches, shops, etc. It was surprisingly quiet at night considering the proximity to the several bars just a block away (although we were on the 14th floor, so that likely helped). The parking is expensive and valets are slow, but that is to be expected at any hotel in that area, so I don't know that this one is any worse than the others. I would definitely stay at a Hotel Indigo again - hopefully in a different city!

Room Tip: We had a king room with a fireplace, which was relatively spacious - I suspect some of the other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Thank you for the great review! We are delighted you've become a Hotel Indigo fan and cannot wait to see more reviews from you about our other Hotel Indigo locations. We certainly hope you'll come back and see us again soon! During your next visit, please try out one of our new signature drinks in our bar, we suspect it could change your view about our fine city! Thanks again for the review we'll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I've stayed at Indigo a few times, and always look forward to coming back. The decor is so beachy that I forget I am on a business trip. The location allows easy access to the lake and to Magnificent Mile, with plenty of cute places to eat out. The staff is very accommodating and always in a good mood. On my latest trip Lissa at the front desk was especially kind at the time when I needed it very much, and it turned my luck around. Some of the rooms are on a small side, but the vertical line 7 is very roomy and comfortable. It is pet friendly, so pet lovers will enjoy seeing four legged guests, but those with allergies or who dislike pets, beware! There is no pool at the premises, but the beach is close by.

Room Tip: Rooms that end with 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darlene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Thank you for the terrific review!! We are delighted you enjoy our pet friendly atmosphere and hope you were able to meet Maddie, the newest addition to our Team. Maddie is our very own four legged Team member and makes herself comfortable in her office near the Business Center. If you did not have the pleasure of meeting her, please be sure to ask for her during your next visit. We will also be starting Canine Cocktails in the next few weeks, so please be sure to take advantage of the drink specials and time with our four legged friends. We hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denville, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2012

The hotel is in an excellent location ... staff was very accomodating. Rooms were very clean, and even though it is a butique hotel, it has all the amenities of the big boys.

Tom at the front desk really took care of us!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review and for recognizing Tom for the role he played in your Hotel Indigo experience! We hope you'll come back and see us again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I stayed here last june and again this year against my better judgement. The front desk staff is unfriendly and unhelpful. The hotel is severely outdated in style and amenities. And they checked me in to a dirty room and expected me to come back to the lobby (with luggage) only to go back to the dirty room with them to show them the problems (garbage from previous guest still in bathroom, no sheets on the bed and personal belongings scattered about). No. I won't stay again. There are so many better hotels in chicago that are clean! Updated! And have friendly (not surly) service! And! Most of them are less expensive! My advice is to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meremac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Thank you for your review! We sincerely appreciate honest feedback as it gives us the opportunity for continuous improvement. InterContinental Hotels Group offers many brands of hotels such as Crowne Plaza, InterContinental Hotels, Holiday Inn, Staybridge Suites and Candlewood Suites hotels. We hope you'll find a brand you love and continue to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Ambassador Chicago
Ambassador Chicago
#95 of 190 in Chicago
1,630 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#76 of 190 in Chicago
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 190 in Chicago
2,830 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#74 of 190 in Chicago
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast

Property: Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Address: 1244 N Dearborn Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60610-5197 (Formerly Claridge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#99 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast The newest member of the Intercontinental Hotels Group family, Hotel Indigo is a branded boutique hotel that offers a refreshing alternative to traditional hotels. Quietly nestled on a tree-lined street, Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is located in one of Chicago's oldest and most historical neighborhoods, and is just steps from downtown Chicago and easily accessible from O Hare International Airport (ORD) and Midway Airport (MDW) . The location is ideal for guests who want to spend their days shopping on Chicago's Magnificent Mile and Oak Street's Boutique Row or indulge in the nightlife of Rush Street. Guests staying in enjoy free wireless Internet , Aveda bath amenities, spa-inspired showers, complimentary fitness center, locally roasted Metropolis coffee products in our restaurant and a fine wine selection in Phi, our lobby lounge. Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is pet friendly , and has numerous amenities for your travel companions so they may enjoy their stay as much as you will. Our Torchbearer Award winning service will be sure to impress all guests. Enter Hotel Indigo and sense the difference. The colors calm. The imagery excites. The architecture delights. You are relaxed, refreshed, renewed. You are inspired! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Chicago
Chicago Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing