We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend to others!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Ranked #121 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Riverdale, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would recommend to others!”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

My wife and I were in town for the Taste of Chicago in July 2012. The accomodations were clean and spacious. We were also pleasantly surprised by the hardwood floors in our room and the delightful decor in our room as well as throughout the entire hotel. As pet lovers, we greatly appreciated how hospitable everyone was to our four-legged family member - providing dog treats, toys and water bowl for him in the lobby! Definitely two "paws" up! Furthermore, the fitness center was sufficent and the location is close to everything! The front desk staff was very helpful as well.

The only drawback to this hotel was the lack of a refrigerator and microwave in the suite. The staff made up for this by storing our leftovers from a night out on the town in their refrigerator. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is in town and looking for clean, safe and comfortable accomodations.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    480
    197
    88
    60
See reviews for
262
366
99
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Orchard Park, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Charming hotel in the heart of Chicago. Walking distance to all the great things to do: restaurants, shopping, the beach, Navy Pier. The fact that the building is 'older' makes you feel like it belongs there among the 100 year old brownstones in the windy city. The decor is cheerful, bright and fun! Family and dog friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Melanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukegan, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I had trouble with my key and was locked out of my guest room. German Housmen, an employee standing nearby asked my problem and told me to wait there and he would get me a key that worked. In what seemed like only 10 minutes - and that type of wait usually seems a lot longer - German arrived with a key that worked. What a nice man. I actually made my appointment on time. I called down to the desk and requested a cab as I was leaving my room and one was waiting at the door for me. The staff makes a point of recognizing you and making sure that you are comfortable. I was very impressed with the service and will certainly stay at Hotel Indigo again.

Room Tip: My first stay so I can't compare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
190 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I really enjoyed this hotel. It couldn't be in a better location. There are tons of things within walking distance and it is close to the train as well. My queen bed room was small, but everything was nice and up-to-date. There isn't really a restaurant in the hotel (just some breakfast basics at a little deli-type counter as far I could tell), but you are so close to restaurants within walking distance, who cares? I really liked the price I paid - good value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FemaleTraveler85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2012

The location is pretty fantastic - right by the red line, a grocery store, Starbucks, Walgreens, and a 24 hour Dunkin Donuts/Baskin Robbins. Lots of great neighborhoods and activities within walking distance. That is pretty much all I can say kindly about the hotel.

First, one elevator was broken the entire time we were there. The elevator that did work has the capacity to hold maybe 6 or 8 people - less with luggage. As a results, waits for the elevator were very long and sometimes we had to wait several times around for a ride.

Second, the temperature in our room was never below 77 degrees the entire time we were there. It was hot and humid - an awful experience. The air conditioner in our room didn't allow the temperature to be set under 65, so we couldn't cool it down any more. Plus, housekeeping turned off the air on a very hot day, so it was a scorcher when we came back one day. On top of that, we were forced into a smoking room. As someone with allergies who comes from a smoke-free state, this was totally miserable.

Third, the room was dirty. Not filthy, but definitely dirty. There was hair on the floor every day. Our shampoo and conditioner had hair on it the first day that wasn't ours - it was clear by the amount in the bottles that they had previously been used. Our TP wasn't replaced. Dirty glasses were left sitting out on the nightstand. Our sheets has blood spots on them. It was gross. A lot of the dirt is just because the place needs refurbishing...kind of like an old house. It's technically clean, but just doesn't feel clean. Our bed was super squeaky too.

I would never stay here again. I'm not entirely sure I would ever stay at any Hotel Indigo again based on this experience. The lobby was super cute. It had so much potential, but it just fell short.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10MaggieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spanish Fort, Alabama
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

A fab little boutique hotel with nice, clean, comfortable rooms, and stylish decor. Great location and an easy walk to some decent restaurants and shops on Chicago's Gold Coast. Not much in the way of on site dining - there's a cafe with some basic breakfast items, a small lounge bar usually staffed by indifferent bartenders who don't know how to use the remote for the TV.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This hotel has one of most friendly staff I have ever come across. Location is great as it's a walking distance from Rush Street (party area), the magnificent mile and other important areas in Chicago. The cafe at the hotel has some interesting lines on the menu. Will always prefer to stay here.

Room Tip: Just go there and enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VivekDidwania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
PUBLIC Chicago
PUBLIC Chicago
#93 of 189 in Chicago
1,589 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#71 of 189 in Chicago
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#146 of 189 in Chicago
226 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast

Property: Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Address: 1244 N Dearborn Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60610-5197 (Formerly Claridge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#99 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast The newest member of the Intercontinental Hotels Group family, Hotel Indigo is a branded boutique hotel that offers a refreshing alternative to traditional hotels. Quietly nestled on a tree-lined street, Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is located in one of Chicago's oldest and most historical neighborhoods, and is just steps from downtown Chicago and easily accessible from O Hare International Airport (ORD) and Midway Airport (MDW) . The location is ideal for guests who want to spend their days shopping on Chicago's Magnificent Mile and Oak Street's Boutique Row or indulge in the nightlife of Rush Street. Guests staying in enjoy free wireless Internet , Aveda bath amenities, spa-inspired showers, complimentary fitness center, locally roasted Metropolis coffee products in our restaurant and a fine wine selection in Phi, our lobby lounge. Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is pet friendly , and has numerous amenities for your travel companions so they may enjoy their stay as much as you will. Our Torchbearer Award winning service will be sure to impress all guests. Enter Hotel Indigo and sense the difference. The colors calm. The imagery excites. The architecture delights. You are relaxed, refreshed, renewed. You are inspired! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Chicago
Chicago Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing