We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Nearby Hotels
The Peninsula Chicago(Chicago)
US$537
US$446
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kinzie Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$275
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
US$361
US$301
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$268
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$200
US$191
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$648
US$525
Langham Official
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$317
US$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$252
US$197
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$204
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Talbott Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$328
US$312
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,321)
Filter reviews
1,321 results
Traveller rating
443
506
211
99
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
443
506
211
99
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclark divisionaveda productsquiet neighborhoodgreat neighborhoodwithin walking distancelincoln parkbars and restaurantsrooms are smallsitting areachicago downtownking bedhotel is in a great locationmichigan avenueparking garagepublic transportationthe loopmag mile
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
714 - 719 of 1,321 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed here on a Sunday night and got a great rate that included parking. The plusses:
- upgraded room because of IHG status. This probably made a considerable difference, as the room we got was good sized and had a decent view and light. I would guess that some of the smaller rooms on lower floors are not as nice.
- particularly good service from the reservations people, bellman and the breakfast waitress
- excellent location on a relatively quiet street, but close to the subway and an easy walk to Michigan Ave.
Minuses:
- cooling system in room was loud and annoying when it kicked in and out
- weird cleaning solution smell in the lobby
- bad wine and a little attitude at the small lobby bar
Overall we would stay here again if we could get another good package deal. If you're not expecting 4 star luxury (decor is a little funky and bathrooms a bit downscale), this is an ok option.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NSsummerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My lovely and I spent last weekend in the Gold Coast area of Chicago and stayed two nights at the Indigo. The hotel is in an ideal location with tons of restaurants around and great local shopping. The local residents tend to be affluent and safety is not an issue. Upon arrival and seeing the Indigo for the first time we were pretty stoked. The front desk staff were very welcoming and eager to help. The lobby decor (as with the rest of the hotel) has a South Beach Miami vibe and was nicely done. Check in and orientation went smoothly and we were off to our room. But that's were things went a bit south.

Our room was #814. It was very small, but we were expecting that as the Indigo occupies a very old building. And on a good note, it did have a nice flat-screen TV on the wall and the
mattress wasn't too bad. However, upon close inspection, I noted that nearly every surface in the bathroom (and several other areas as well) was either in dire need of a good scrubbing or paint job. It appears that the Indigo needs to commit some money and man-hours and give the place some real TLC. Another peeve was the ultra-thin bathroom tissue - well below what one would expect for the price paid for the room.

To the right of the main entrance of the Indigo is a little bar that should have been very busy, but wasn't really. In short order I discovered why. I found the barkeep anything but affable and the selection behind her was poor. With the South Beach motif I was hoping that perhaps she might be able to muddle a nice Mojito, but that was not the case. In short, she left me with the impression that I had bothered her. And that's too bad because I generally over-tip when served well. To boot, the "cafe" area had an espresso machine, but it was out of order.

In summary, the Indigo could be something really special in a very special and fun area of Chicago. My wife aptly summed things up when she said "they need that hotel guy that's on TV to come in and shape the place and crew up." So we will be in the Gold Coast area again in March of '14 and we MIGHT consider the Indigo again because of it's location. But if the place remains as it was for us, I just would not give it a third chance. A hotel just can't be too clean. enough.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doctormac83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thank you for your honest feedback! We are finishing up several preventative maintenance projects throughout the hotel which we are confident will impact the overall guest experience in a very positive way! We are sincerely disappointed we did not meet your expectations and hope you'll come back in early 2014 to see what we've accomplished. We will be sharing your comments with our entire Team as we work to also improve the overall service experience. Please know our ultimate goals is 100% satisfaction and we're incredibly sorry you did not feel that way upon departure. If I may be of assistance in any way for future reservations, please reach out to me or any member of our Team directly. We'd like to restore your faith in our hotel!

All the best,

Destini
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We honestly chose this hotel because it was the closest to the downtown area without paying the downtown Chicago prices, and it was a wonderful surprise! The location is really great, off the main traffic area of most downtown hotels, but within a few minutes walk to most everything you could want. Room was in really great condition and was very clean, staff was helpful and friendly, and willing to help if needed. There was a housekeeper who was there rather late in the evening, and I am sure it was long past when she was scheduled to go home, and she still asked us if she could help as we were getting off the elevator on our floor, while we didn't need anything, it was appreciated that she was willing to ask even though we were pretty sure she was on her way out the door. The Customer Service was far more than expected, and that is hard to do in the hospitality industry. The location is really nice, and quiet. We felt comfortable walking later in the evening and had no problem finding our way to where we wanted to go. Also has strong wifi signal which is nice for most anyone these days. Parking is a little expensive, but still less than other hotels downtown, and it is directly next door to the hotel with valet, and unlimited in and out, which is hard to find in the downtown area without paying half your hotel cost parking charges. In general, we strongly recommend this hotel, and will likely stay here on future trips to downtown Chicago.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank kilagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Employee "Chris" made us feel welcomed and at ease! This was our first visit for a girls shopping weekend and he and the whole staff went out of their way to make our stay great!!! Our rooms where excellent, gym was state of the art, and it was exceptionally quiet. Especially "Chris"!!! Thanks Much!

Room Tip: Ask no demand "Chris" to help you. He's excellent and will go out of his way to accomdate you!!!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Have stayed at Indigo before and have always been happy. However, this time was exceptional thanks to your employee "Chris". We were tired after a long drive and he welcomed us and made our stay fabulous in every way. We cannot tell you how important it is to have friendly, helpful people to make guest stay enjoyable. Thank you Indigo and Chris for a great stay.

Karin T

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KThein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Way to go Chris!! Thank you for sharing your feedback and for the incredible review!! We appreciate you choosing our hotel knowing there are so many great hotels in Chicago. It's Team members like Chris that make the difference for our guests and we're delighted you've recognized him. We will do the same!

We hope to see you back again soon! Please try out some of our other Hotel Indigo locations, we know you won't be disappointed!!

Safe and happy travels,
Destini
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews