We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheerful and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Ranked #126 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I completely agree with msgee39.

I was also worried about Wifi signal based on other reviews but have spent the whole morning working on a VPN and had a Skype Video call, and it all worked without a hitch.

I also loved that the windows actually open, so if you're here during mild weather, you can get some fresh air directly into the room.

My bed was a bit softer than I would prefer but still comfy. Some of the paint could be touched up. The size of my (king) room was adequate and the bathroom was quite spacious.

I was impressed that my room service breakfast order showed up in under 10 minutes! The Keurig coffee machine made a nice cup but I still went to the lobby cafe for a proper giant coffee, which was very good.

Recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bru b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

631 - 637 of 1,298 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

After reading some of the reviews here, I wasn't sure what to expect. I booked this hotel because I got a special rate ($88/night).

The rooms are surprisingly spacious and they come with decent amenities like a coffee maker, hair dryer and ironing board. Wifi is quite strong in the rooms and stronger still in the lobby. My bed was comfortable. Bathroom was a good size and was restocked throughout my visit. There's a small gym too; not many machines, but there were clean towels no matter what time of day I went.

Location is close to transit, grocery stores and major attractions. A 10-min walk from the high-end shopping district if that stuff interests you.

Just don't book here expecting a Four Seasons and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msgee39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed at Hotel Indigo in November during the terrible storms so we were glad that they accommodated us for an early check in before the storm started! The hotel is easiest to access by bus if you are using public transportation from Union Station. We found out the hard way by lugging our bags several blocks to the subway, after the face we found out the bus stops less than a block from the station.

The Hotel is very convenient, just right around the corner, to the Red Line which basically takes you everywhere and bus stops. The quaint little street with beautiful townhouses is a nice escape from the city. CVS, Walgreens, Subway, Jimmy Johns, Starbucks, Dunkin Donuts, just to name a few convenience stores in the area. Always felt safe walking, even at night.

The rooms are pretty small but sufficient for 2 people. Staff was attentive. DId not use the restaurant or spa. Great water pressure in the shower, plenty of towels. Quick housekeeping service for extra pillows. Overall, loved the location! Wasn't sure as we booked through priceline but ended up being very nice!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msbinky4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Quaint vintage boutique hotel. Great location near Rush & Division restaurants, walking distance to Michigan Avenue, the lake, and the Old Town bars, dining and entertainment. We walked to and from Second City. We used the hotel's meeting room and had them cater breakfast. There is a spa on the second floor and a bar in the lobby. Will definitely come again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m_b_00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Unable to check in at 3.30pm (available from a ludicrously late 4pm). Disappointing after 9 hours on a metal tube.

No upgrade as IHG platinum card holder. Not done here apparently as "they don't want to disappoint people who have specially chosen a room type!" Only view was of a kitchen extract chimney that rattled from early until late and the room opposite. Rooms 1409 and 1407 windows look at each other. Safe did not work, tv remote did not work and only ice machine was 12 floors below.

Reception staff inattentive - "is someone dealing with you?" "No" "oh, I'll go and get someone then".

Maid service missed things every day. Towels, soap, coffee all had to be begged for and at reception, you were an inconvenient disturbance to their other work.

Agree with other comments about concierge. Never there when we were and had to be called to store / fetch our bags on our last day.

Like I said, there were positives. Location good and pricing competitive. Room (king with gas fire) different and well equipped when things worked. No premium tv, just news and shopping channels. Gym was well equipped with cardio equipment. Two weights only though.

Loved Chicago, but do not think I would return to this hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear David H,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room assignment prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly and very helpful. We were drawn to this hotel because of the interior designs of the lobby and the rooms. The sayings on the walls were quite unique. The ladies at the spa were awesome!!! The only drawback to our stay was the food at the hotel we had for breakfast was not good. My butter did not even melt on my toast and the eggs were burnt but the waitress was very attentive and nice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We had to make a quick trip to Chicago last month and scrambled to find a hotel on the north side of the city. We took a shot at the Indigo Hotel. The reviews were good and the price was right. We were absolutely blown away by the style, comfort and location. Despite its proximity to the busy city center, the neighborhood is quiet and comfortable.
My wife felt that the room was one of the nicest she has ever stayed in. It was clean and stylish. The desk staff were very friendly and helpful. We are planning a trip to Chicago during the baseball season and will consider no other hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MindenJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Ambassador Chicago
Ambassador Chicago
#101 of 192 in Chicago
1,673 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#77 of 192 in Chicago
968 reviews
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#80 of 192 in Chicago
1,635 reviews
Streeterville
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
#123 of 192 in Chicago
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast

Address: 1244 N Dearborn Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60610-5197 (Formerly Claridge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#99 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £74 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast The newest member of the Intercontinental Hotels Group family, Hotel Indigo is a branded boutique hotel that offers a refreshing alternative to traditional hotels. Quietly nestled on a tree-lined street, Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is located in one of Chicago's oldest and most historical neighborhoods, and is just steps from downtown Chicago and easily accessible from O Hare International Airport (ORD) and Midway Airport (MDW) . The location is ideal for guests who want to spend their days shopping on Chicago's Magnificent Mile and Oak Street's Boutique Row or indulge in the nightlife of Rush Street. Guests staying in enjoy free wireless Internet , Aveda bath amenities, spa-inspired showers, complimentary fitness center, locally roasted Metropolis coffee products in our restaurant and a fine wine selection in Phi, our lobby lounge. Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is pet friendly , and has numerous amenities for your travel companions so they may enjoy their stay as much as you will. Our Torchbearer Award winning service will be sure to impress all guests. Enter Hotel Indigo and sense the difference. The colors calm. The imagery excites. The architecture delights. You are relaxed, refreshed, renewed. You are inspired! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Chicago
Chicago Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing