We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going out of Business?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Ranked #122 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Going out of Business?”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Our 4 day stay experience: Had to get a new key card EVERY time we returned to room...morning noon & night. No response from laconic staff. Attitude was "that's your problem". No regular coffee refills. Told they were out…each day…and if we wanted coffee we should get dressed and come down to the restaurant. Wife met a friend at the bar. Bartender wouldn't put tea lights on the table & when my wife asked him to light one for her table, he snapped "YOU go out and get some". Then he went back to bar and clipped his fingernails AT the bar. Some employees friendly but most very sour and seemed to care less about helping.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Robert E,

Thank you so much for your recent comments. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering a world class experience. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. I'd like to apologize for the issues you experienced at our hotel. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    490
    199
    91
    61
See reviews for
269
371
100
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I checked into this hotel expecting that it would be a great stay- good location, rooms looked nice, etc. What I was not expecting was no off street parking, no parking ramps nearby, and when I asked the lady at the front desk for parking suggestions her reply was "I don't drive" so she couldn't help. I was tired, and it was late, so we ended up utilizing the valet next door, which is $45 for an overnight! We then tried to check in and found that the hotel had cancelled my reservation, as my credit card had been declined when I initially reserved my room online. The hotel however, did not notify me that my card had been declined and I had received an email reservation confirmation, only to arrive and find out I had no room! The front desk, to their credit, quickly rectified the problem and gave me a room. I dropped off my things in my room and came back later that night after dinner to watch a movie. As I settled in, I heard someone at my door and the next second someone was opening the door! The man opened the door (which had been locked but not deadbolted) stuck his head in, and he apologized and closed the door without an explanation. I ran to the peep hole and saw him duck into the elevator. I quickly went down to the hotel lobby and explained to the front desk what had happened, and the lady at the front apologized and said that she had not given out any other keys to the room. I described what the man looked like and she told me it sounded like an employee (who apparently didn't feel the need to tell the front desk or let me know what exactly they were doing peeking into occupied rooms?). She gave me a new set of keys and I asked her to let me know when she talked to the employee whether or not it was in fact him. For peace of mind, I expected she would follow through. I went back to my room and the lady at the front desk called to ask if I had gotten in with the new keys, which obviously I had, and I asked if she had talked to the employee. She told me that he "wasn't here". I replied, "So, let me get this straight. An employee keyed into my room, ran into the elevator, and then fled the hotel?" Doesn't sound like an employee to me! She then explained he wasn't at the front desk, to which I asked if she could then contact him, as they all had walkie talkies. She then told me she could not help me and hung up. About an hour later, ANOTHER person tried to key into my room, and this time the door was bolted and the key card did not work. I ran to the peephole and a different man was leaving my door and heading to the elevator. Needless to say, the front desk never called me to let me know about either incidents, and never apologized or offered compensation. The hotel was not clean either- I woke up the next morning and found that my shower had mold on the ceiling, hair on the floor and the upon opening the closed toilet seat, found hair as well. The comforter on the bed, when pulled back, had deep colored, large stains in multiple places. If the customer service at the hotel wasn't already horrific enough, the unsanitary conditions certainly pushed this hotel over the top for me. I sincerely hope that you would consider another hotel nearby before this one. I stay all over the country in many different IHG family hotels and this is by far the WORST hotel I've ever stayed in!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear rixeem01,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed at Indigo hotel Chicago for several days many times. Very friendly and helpful staff. Special thanks to Alma Hodzic! Rooms are clean and have very interesting design. The hotel is well located. Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vera Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Let's start with the positives, shall we? Great location in a safe neighborhood. Only a few minutes walk to the nearest subway station and lots of great restaurants. Erica is a joy at the front desk when you arrive. Lisa and Alma (front office manager) were also super friendly and warm. When we arrived they offered us complementary drinks and snacks. Reasonable prices and spacious accommodations await you. There's also a bar and cafe downstairs.

Now the negatives. First of all, Eldina at the front desk was extremely rude as if we were inconveniencing her with any requests. She also refused to help us several times. The internet is very slow, which made it difficult to do work in the room. The rooms, while being comfortable and large, are a bit old and outdated.

Room Tip: Internet is better in the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merlin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Perfect spot blocks from Gold Coast,Michigan mile and Lincoln park. A short walk to lakeshore ! Blocks from great restaurants, bars, shopping and public transportation. A little pricey but we got a great deal staying thanksgiving day and checking out the Monday after.

Room Tip: Always ask for corner room better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pecpmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siesta Key, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

A great place to stay, close to bars and shopping. Rooms can be small but very comfortable. Would definitely stay again. Staff very accommodating. Nice little cafe next door on left when you walk out for breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livesonsiestakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

What a nice surprise this hotel turned out to be! It is nestled in a great neighborhood and easy access to Subway, shops and restaurants. The room is larger than I anticipated and the staff is very helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Daisy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Ambassador Chicago
Ambassador Chicago
#95 of 190 in Chicago
1,630 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#76 of 190 in Chicago
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 190 in Chicago
2,829 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#74 of 190 in Chicago
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast

Property: Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Address: 1244 N Dearborn Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60610-5197 (Formerly Claridge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#99 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast The newest member of the Intercontinental Hotels Group family, Hotel Indigo is a branded boutique hotel that offers a refreshing alternative to traditional hotels. Quietly nestled on a tree-lined street, Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is located in one of Chicago's oldest and most historical neighborhoods, and is just steps from downtown Chicago and easily accessible from O Hare International Airport (ORD) and Midway Airport (MDW) . The location is ideal for guests who want to spend their days shopping on Chicago's Magnificent Mile and Oak Street's Boutique Row or indulge in the nightlife of Rush Street. Guests staying in enjoy free wireless Internet , Aveda bath amenities, spa-inspired showers, complimentary fitness center, locally roasted Metropolis coffee products in our restaurant and a fine wine selection in Phi, our lobby lounge. Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is pet friendly , and has numerous amenities for your travel companions so they may enjoy their stay as much as you will. Our Torchbearer Award winning service will be sure to impress all guests. Enter Hotel Indigo and sense the difference. The colors calm. The imagery excites. The architecture delights. You are relaxed, refreshed, renewed. You are inspired! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Chicago
Chicago Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing