We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique=Small”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Ranked #118 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Boutique=Small”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Located in Gold Coast, this property couldn't be in a better place. It is in a neighborhood, so all of the services and restaurants are conveniently located. The hotel has a nice boutique vibe, but the rooms are perfect for one, not two. Combine that with pretty thin walls - I could hear the person next door cough and could hear their TV and they weren't being loud. The fireplace rooms are a really nice touch, but have adjoining rooms which increases the noise. Bathrooms are tiny and not heated and the hallways were pretty cold, which is a problem in the winter in Chicago. Nice little work out room and bar in the lobby is a nice place for a drink. I would only consider staying here if i was by myself--the rooms are just too cramped for two.

Room Tip: Ask for the fireplace room that does not have an adjoining room--there is only one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mixedreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
We appreciate your honest feedback. Our hotel is in a very historical building which once held 312 guest rooms as the Claridge Hotel when it opened in the mid-1920's. We have only 165 guest rooms today, and our rooms do vary in size. If size is an issue for you, we recommend you ask for a King room during the time of reservation. Or, mention it at check in and we'll see what we can do, depending on our availability we may be able to accommodate such a request. Thank you for trying out our hotel, we hope you'll come back and stay with us again. If I can be of assistance during the reservation process, please don't hesitate to ask.

Thanks for giving us the opportuntiy to have you as our guest and for your review!

All the best,
Destini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    478
    193
    84
    58
See reviews for
259
364
96
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lemont, IL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We needed an inexpensive place to stay after a night with friends so that we didn't have to drive home to the suburbs. Hotel Indigo was a great find. Located within walking distance to many of the popular bars made this the perfect place for us. When you walk in the décor is very beachy - think the Caribbean or Florida - an unexpected surprise in the middle of winter in Chicago! The rooms are small, but very clean with comfortable beds. There is a Keurig coffee maker with k-cups in the room. The room we stayed in had a window with no view - it looked into an interior fire escape. Our friends' room looked onto the balcony of the condo next door. So if you are looking to admire the great city views of Chicago, this is NOT the place for you. But if you need a nice place to stay for the night at a reasonable rate, I highly recommend this hotel. In addition, the breakfast, which was included in our hotel price for an additional $10, was really good! It is in the café in the lobby and offers a choice off of the breakfast menu (soufflés, breakfast Panini, eggs and bacon, etc.). A pleasant surprise for a great price in a hopping area of Chicago.

Room Tip: Ask if the room has a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hubbyandmeplus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for the wonderful feedback!! We will be sure to pass your compliments on to the kitchen Team. I'm sure they will be delighted to hear you enjoyed your breakfast!! We hope you'll come back and see us again soon, just mention you'd prefer a room with a view and we'll see what we can do to make that happen for you.

Thanks again for giving us a try and for your great review,
Destini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This hotel was recommended by friends. I wouldn't probably booked it otherwise, but it turned out to be a very nice surprise and i will keep this as favourite Chicago location. The Indigo is located in a wonderful neighbourhood with parking conveniently next door and few steps to public transportation. It is a pet and family friendly hotel and has a very friendly and welcoming atmosphere, great coffee in the hall, small but nice enough bar. The rooms are decorated very nicely and with taste even though they are on the small size. all in all, a real gem and so much more personal than the bigger downtown hotels where i usually stay when in Chicago.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
We enjoyed this line of your review "all in all, a real gem". We could not agree more!! We are a well kept secret for Chicago and can't thank you enough for listing us as one of your favorites!! We certainly hope you'll be back to see us again soon!!

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to have you as our guest and for the wonderful review!! If I can assist with any future reservations, please don't hesitate to ask for me.

Happy New Year,
Destini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I love this hotel! This was the first time I had ever stayed at a hotel Indigo as I usually frequent Marriott or Hilton Brands when in Chicago. I found the color schemes to be refreshing and modern and loved the small bar off of the lobby. It was also in a great location and I was able to walk to the nearby Walgreens when I forgot some items for my trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnTraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for the incredible review!! We hope you'll try more of our IHG properties. We are confident you will be pleasantly surprised both by the hotel product and by the service provided at our hotels!! If you loved our Hotel Indigo, please be sure you check out our other locations!! And, may we suggest you become an IHG Rewards Member if you did not already do so? The rewards are the best in our business and our points never expire!!

We hope you'll come back and see us again soon!! Until then, we wish you safe and happy travels!!

Destini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermilion, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I stayed at this property on a referral. Located just off of Division St. it was easy to get to off of I94. It is close to the Metro red line and downtown cabs are under $10. Cab wait with hotel cab light was less than a minute. The double bed room although small was light and airy with bright paint scheme (bright colors) and no obnoxious oder as with many other properties. Beds were comfortable and table and chairs provided enough sitting area. The windows open so they were not used in Dec. but would provide fresh air in better weather. Thermostat worked well and fast (rooms are kept at a cool 64 degrees)

All the staff was friendly and attentive and my room was very clean which is a must for me. I think what I liked most was cost. This is definitely a value. If you want opulence then stay at a big box downtown hotel for $300 a night. But this hotel offers a great price in a nice quiet neighborhood setting with victorian townhouses across the street with nightlife a couple of blocks away, My son will be living in the Old Town/ Lincoln Park area so I plan on returning to the Indigo on future visits to Chicago.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Copeland-Geek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
The highest compliment we could be paid is a return visit!! We can't wait to see you again!! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We know how busy everyone is these days and we appreciate the honest feedback. We know your son will enjoy living in the area, there could not be a safer neighborhood for him to choose and he's close to everything Chicago has to offer. We'll look forward to seeing you again on future visits.

Until then, we wish you all the best for a wonderful 2014!!

Destini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Spent two nights here the weekend before Christmas. The location is perfect - quiet street, but close to everything. The hotel was very, very clean, and the staff was helpful and polite. The room and bathroom were a good size, and well appointment. The hotel was very well decorated, both in general and for the holidays, and the lobby had a subtle and pleasant vanilla scent.
My only complaint was that despite the large size of the shower, the shower head was very small, and the water presser was terrible.
I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandy747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Live in the South Suburbs of Chicago needed a place that would provide a crashing point for 6-8 of us on a bachelor party. Perfect location for Division street bars and other entertainment, price was right, rooms clean. I would stay again for a weekend downtown with the wife

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chifinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
PUBLIC Chicago
PUBLIC Chicago
#91 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#70 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Streeterville
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
#109 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#145 of 188 in Chicago
3.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast

Property: Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Address: 1244 N Dearborn Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60610-5197 (Formerly Claridge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#99 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast The newest member of the Intercontinental Hotels Group family, Hotel Indigo is a branded boutique hotel that offers a refreshing alternative to traditional hotels. Quietly nestled on a tree-lined street, Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is located in one of Chicago's oldest and most historical neighborhoods, and is just steps from downtown Chicago and easily accessible from O Hare International Airport (ORD) and Midway Airport (MDW) . The location is ideal for guests who want to spend their days shopping on Chicago's Magnificent Mile and Oak Street's Boutique Row or indulge in the nightlife of Rush Street. Guests staying in enjoy free wireless Internet , Aveda bath amenities, spa-inspired showers, complimentary fitness center, locally roasted Metropolis coffee products in our restaurant and a fine wine selection in Phi, our lobby lounge. Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is pet friendly , and has numerous amenities for your travel companions so they may enjoy their stay as much as you will. Our Torchbearer Award winning service will be sure to impress all guests. Enter Hotel Indigo and sense the difference. The colors calm. The imagery excites. The architecture delights. You are relaxed, refreshed, renewed. You are inspired! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Chicago
Chicago Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing