We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and Very Clean!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Ranked #117 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location and Very Clean!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

This place has a great location on the Gold Coast. We arrived at about 10pm on Easter Sunday and were surprised to see so many people checking in. The front desk staff was fast and very friendly, they chatted up my wife about her pregnancy and even upgraded us to a larger king room. We got a great deal on the place on Priceline, so we were surprised and delighted about the upgrade.

Any former lobby renovations are now complete and the entrance and lobby are very eclectic and inviting. The room was clean and quiet. This hotel is a bit on the dated side but they do keep it clean.

We did the free street parking (10pm to 8am) and moved the car to the garage during the day ($15 out by 6pm). There is a great little cafe/wine bar (3rd Coast) right next to the place that is open until midnight. Also, a Starbucks and Walgreens on the same block.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PurdueChris13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review and for taking the time to share your comments!! I was very happy to hear we could accommodate you and your wife with an upgrade and hope she was comfortable during her stay with us. We wish you all the best for a safe and easy delivery and for a happy and healthy baby. What an exciting time this is for you both!! Congratulations!!

We hope you'll come back and see us again soon!!

Best wishes from our entire Team,

Destini & the Hotel Indigo Chicago Gold Coast family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    474
    190
    82
    58
See reviews for
257
361
96
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I had the time of my life in the hotel and the surroundings. There were many wonderful places to visit near the hotel; it felt very comfortable to be surrounded by such availability.
The hotel itself had amazing staff. One of the best helping hands was Alma, she was extremely helpful in helping put with anything I asked. I was very satisfied with the service and would come back to stay at the Indigo when ever it may be that I would be in Chicago. I would recommend the hotel to all my friends and family.

Room Tip: All the rooms are comfortable and have a great atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rezija V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Your recommendation is the BEST compliment we could ever ask to receive!! We will be sure to recognize Alma for the role she played in your Hotel Indigo experience and thank you for completing an online review.

We hope you'll plan another visit to Chicago soon, the Team is looking forward to seeing you again!!

All the best,

Destini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

This hotel was great, the hospitality was unbelievable. Hassan was the best. He got us started every morning. The whole staff was very nice and helpful. Really had a wonderful experience. "Thanks Hassan you're the man!!!"

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bombero509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
We loved this line in your review..."Thanks Hassan you're the man!!!" We agree, he is a shining star alongside many of our Team members. Thank you for the wonderful review and for recognizing Hassan in the role he played in your experience. We will be sure to recognize him as well!!

Please come back and see us again soon!!

All the best,

Destini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Indigo Gold Coast for one night in March 2014. I booked because of the location. it is close to the CTA and walk-able to shops and restaurants we wanted to visit. But other than location, I can't say many positive things about this hotel.

Our room was tiny. It reminded me of hotel rooms in Manhattan where you can barely have two people walking around the room without colliding. It wasn't a problem since it was just me and my husband, but I'm very glad we didn't try to stay there with even one of our children. There wouldn't have been enough space to move.

But the real issue was the quality of the room. The flooring (laminate?) was peeling. The bedspread had white, fluid-looking stains. The bathroom walls were also stained. The bed was wobbly/squeaky. Overall, it was a very shabby hotel room.

I've stayed at many IHG properties but never at a Hotel Indigo. Based on this experience, I'm not inclined to do so again. I've had cleaner rooms at every Holiday Inn I've visited.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank maurahd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We will share your comments with our entire Team as we work to improve the overall guest experience. Your feedback will allow us to make the necessary changes most important to our guests.

It is always our goal to provide convenient and comfortable accommodations as well as world class service to all our guests and on this occasion we regret we fell short of your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I got a room for two nights last weekend on Priceline (name your own price) for $75 I called immediately upon my winning bid to ask for two beds and they would not unless I paid $20 more per night. That's the first time that has happened on all my rooms I've gotten on Priceline. My daughter and I shared a queen bed. It was obvious the hotel was not close to being full so I thought they were being petty by not letting me have two beds!! The lobby was clearly under construction, but didn't see many people working on it over the weekend. Room was clean and tiny! No hooks to hang your towel anywhere. Location was decent, but I've gotten way better and two beds for the same price! Hoping for a different hotel next time I bid!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sueandthekids123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Sueandthekids123,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. It is always our goal to provide convenient and comfortable accommodations as well as world class service to all our guests and on this occasion we regret we fell short of your expectations.

Destini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

My family and I recently stayed here for a two night/three day trip to Chicago. We bid on the room on Priceline and got the room for a very reasonable price. When we arrived at the hotel, we had a small room with a queen size bed. We spoke with the front desk and they moved us in to a bigger suite with two queen beds. The room was very nice with plenty of room for all of us. We loved the vibe of the hotel as it was very quaint and almost felt like an apartment.

Our only complaints were the lack of a microwave and mini refrigerator. There were also renovations ongoing in the lobby area but that wasn't a huge deal to us. The location is pretty good with metro and bus stops nearby and lots of restaurants. It's a short walk to Michigan Avenue and the northern portion of the Magnificent Mile.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here and would come back in the future. The staff were great and we liked our room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandrews28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Mr. Andrews,

Thank you for taking the time to complete an online review. For future reference, based upon availability, we do have refrigerators available upon request. You may request one during the reservations process or at check-in. While we cannot guarantee availability, it is rare that we cannot accommodate this request for our guests. As for microwaves, we will gladly microwave anything for you, just ask any member of our Team.

Thanks again for the great review and we hope you'll come back and see us again soon!!

Safe and happy travels,

Destini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Indigo for a weekend getaway. We reserved two rooms with two queen beds. The size of one room was fine but the other was larger and our family comfortably gathered in that room. The rooms were comfortable and clean and my wife was happy to see Aveda products for the shower. The staff was helpful but the weekend we were there the floor in the lobby was being redone and the area was loud and a bit of a mess so we didn't have many conversations with them. The location is great--we ate at two very good neighborhood restaurants that were less than a block away and we easily walked to the John Hancock building and Lincoln Park to do some sightseeing. This is a great alternative to the high-priced hotels on the Miracle Mile.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Jay,

Thank you for the wonderful review!! We sincerely apologize for the work being done in our Lobby and the inconvenience it may have caused but we're delighted it did not affect your entire stay with us. We hope you'll consider staying with us again soon for any return visits to Chicago.

Thanks again for taking the time to complete an online review!!

Best wishes,

Destini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
PUBLIC Chicago
PUBLIC Chicago
#90 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,525 reviews
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#67 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Streeterville
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
#110 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#142 of 187 in Chicago
3.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast

Property: Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Address: 1244 N Dearborn Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60610-5197 (Formerly Claridge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#99 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast The newest member of the Intercontinental Hotels Group family, Hotel Indigo is a branded boutique hotel that offers a refreshing alternative to traditional hotels. Quietly nestled on a tree-lined street, Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is located in one of Chicago's oldest and most historical neighborhoods, and is just steps from downtown Chicago and easily accessible from O Hare International Airport (ORD) and Midway Airport (MDW) . The location is ideal for guests who want to spend their days shopping on Chicago's Magnificent Mile and Oak Street's Boutique Row or indulge in the nightlife of Rush Street. Guests staying in enjoy free wireless Internet , Aveda bath amenities, spa-inspired showers, complimentary fitness center, locally roasted Metropolis coffee products in our restaurant and a fine wine selection in Phi, our lobby lounge. Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is pet friendly , and has numerous amenities for your travel companions so they may enjoy their stay as much as you will. Our Torchbearer Award winning service will be sure to impress all guests. Enter Hotel Indigo and sense the difference. The colors calm. The imagery excites. The architecture delights. You are relaxed, refreshed, renewed. You are inspired! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Chicago
Chicago Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing