We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I have never ever been treated so well or felt so unique!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Ranked #118 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“I have never ever been treated so well or felt so unique!”
Reviewed 2 April 2009

It's taken me ages to write this review...for no good reason other than a tendency to get distracted!
I stayed in this hotel in December while I was attending the RSNA conference. Each year thousands of radiologists descend on Chicago and take over most of the hotel beds making it a very busy time for everyone. I was placed in Hotel Indigo but the organisers and was a little concerned after reading the previous reviews. I e-mailed the hotel before I arrived to request a fridge (thanks to tips from previous reviewers) and was pleasantly surprised by the quick and friendly response from the manager, Seán.
On arrival I was met by a friendly doorman who carried my bags inside. Check-in was effortless (and sweet thanks to the candy bowl) and I was given a room on the 12th floor. Reception was small but welcoming-a very laid-back, beachy feeling in snowy Chicago!
My room was small, but I was on my own so that wasn't a huge issue. No fridge so I rang down and had one in my room in under 5 minutes. Everything in the room was completely spotless. Big TV with cable channels, free WiFi and a coffee maker. Alarm clock is a nice touch. The bathroom was small but immaculately clean and stocked with Aveda products. Bed was sooo comfy. Slept like a log each night.

Breakfast wasn't included in my room rate and I just had my own anyway but there were very affordable options in the little restaurant downstairs. I did avail of their Starbucks coffee and loved the staff there. I only got coffee maybe 4 times but the staff were so friendly and remembered me. It was lovely!

The onsite gym is open all day and accessible by keycard. It's small with 2 treadmills, bike, elliptical, stepper, weight machines and free weights. The equipment is in good order however and they have pretty much everything you could want-including kettlebells, Bosus and extensive free weights. Loved it! Potential temptation lay in the snack machines just outside the door ;-) Didn't use the hairdressers or spa but it looked clean and friendly. There was also a business centre downstairs with 2 computers and printing facilities. Very handy for online flight check-in!

I was allowed to get a package delivered to the hotel which was extremely handy. I was also completely overwhelmed by the helpful attitude of one of the reception staff. I have unfortunately forgotten her name, but believe she was from the Czech republic. She went above and beyond the call of duty to help my fax details when I was trying to order a digital camera and helped me with problems with the order. When I was leaving she gave me a photo album to use with the new camera. Apparently the hotel has a little fund for such little gifts. I have never ever been treated so well or had such a good experience and I have stayed in many hotels and guesthouses.
I was upset leaving because everyone was so sweet from the doormen to reception to the guy on the early coffee shift...

Location is great, only a few minutes from Michigan Avenue and within a few blocks of Whole Foods and a Dominick's. Starbucks and Walgreens are on the corner and the Ambassador East hotel is on the next block.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. It is exactly what I'd want from a boutique hotel-cosy, quirky, homely...and above all, outstanding and personal customer service.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GráinneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoChicago, Hotel Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, 10 April 2009
Greetings,

We sincerely thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. Your feedback is most certainly appreciated and we can assure you we will share it with our staff as we are most happy when we are able to recognize our terrific team here for contributing to a fantastic guest experience. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you again in Chicago soon!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    476
    193
    84
    58
See reviews for
259
363
96
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vermilion, Ohio
Level Contributor
220 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2009

I really enjoyed Hotel Indigo in Chicago. I loved the location, close enough to walk downtown but away from all the traffic etc. There are plenty of restaurants, bars, a Starbucks, a Walgreens and a Jewel Osco within a block or so though the hotel itself is in a residential area. We were visiting a son the next street over and it was quite convenient (though the bars do let out at 4:00 am a half a block away). Our room was comfortable and quiet though rather small. The only problem we had was with the parking. Due to some unforseen circumstances, we had 2 cars in hotel parking some of the 2 nights we were there. Our parking bill was $108, as much almost as the hotel. I was charged $32 more beyond the daily charge even though my car was only in parking less than 24 hours. Parking in Chicago is expensive, yes, but shouldn't be that expensive.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soontobeforty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoChicago, Hotel Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, 26 February 2009
Greetings, and thank you for your comments. We are certainly happy you enjoyed your stay with us and your feedback is appreciated.

Although we do have our standard rooms which are petite in size, and can be considered typical of an urban, boutique hotel, we do also offer more spacious rooms that include activity tables and sitting areas. Because of the location and size of these rooms, they are typically high in demand and reserved far in advance, especially during weekends.

Parking, which is handled next door at the independently owned and operated Standard Parking garage, unfortunately is a bit pricey even with the discount they extend to our guests for 24 hour parking with complimentary In and Out priveleges. Although their rates are highly competitive with parking in this area, extending over the 24 hour period can get expensive at their hourly rates.

Again, thank you for your feedback, and please feel free to contact us directly if you would like to discuss further or for anything else we can assist with!

Regards,
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2009

I stayed in this hotel with 4 other friends. Yes five us us to one room. Going into this experience I thought it was going to be hell, 5 people to one room! As it turned out it was actually really great. We had two double beds in our room and a cot. The bed I slept in was really comfortable. I loved the linens they used. Nice, crisp and comfortable. I really liked the decor. I know it's not everyone's taste but I do like more a modern theme. The television was a normal size and not a flat screen which I thought was weird given the nice modern theme. I have to say my favorite part about this room was the bathroom. I really like how it was designed with kind of like an open shower. It did not have a bath tub just the shower, which was fine with me. And finally it had free wifi! Which, being a tech professional I really appreciate! I hate when hotels want to charge for internet access. So overall great experience. I did think it was kind of pricy but given it's location in Chicago, you'll have that.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedStateRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoChicago, Hotel Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, 26 February 2009
Thank you for your comments, they are certainly appreciated. Please be assured they will be shared with our staff as we welcome all feedback and want to make every effort to make every stay as pleasurable as possible for our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Regards,
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleville, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2009

This hotel was booked using rewards points. However, it was expressed by the person I travelled with that the amount of points it cost seemed a bit excessive, but it was a Friday night and a very last minute booking. We were just grateful for a nice (and very clean) place to stay.

Upon arrival we were standing 2nd in line for check in. The person at the desk called for help and we were quickly attended to. Within 5 minutes we arrived at our room. The crisp blue themed decor was very nice (though not my personal taste) and the amenities were ample. This theme was carried out through the hotel and was a nice visual change to the normal beige scene.

The room size was above average, however, the set up for the king room was slightly odd. The tv was a traditional 32 inch and the bed was on the far side of the room. Even with my glasses, I sometimes had a difficult time making everything out.

The bathroom was large, the Aveda bath products were appreciated, and the linens were very nice for a hotel.

The bed itself was well appointed with very nice linens.

My only complaint was the heating/cooling system. No matter how much we messed with it, the room was either freezing or steamy. Even when it was turned off, it kicked on periodically and was extremely loud (to the point of needing to adjust the tv volume). There was a thermostat on the wall, but it was disconnected and we could not get it to work.

Unfortunately, the temperature issue turned an above average stay into just average.

  • Liked — Very nice location near Rush Street eateries and clubs.
  • Disliked — The unpredictable and inadequate heating and cooling system.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank winter-schminter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoChicago, Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, 9 February 2009
Thank you for your comments and interest in Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown. We certainly appreciate the time taken to provide our staff with feedback that will enable us to address the issues you mention, as well as continuing to provide services and amenities that exceed your expectations.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly as we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2008

My daughter and I spent two nights at this very pretty hotel. The weather was awful---2 degrees with strong winds--so we did not hurry out in the morning. I picked up coffee, juice, bagels, and yogurt downstairs, and we watched "Home for the Holidays" on the TV while we stayed in bed. The beds were so comfortable, the room was so bright and did not look like any other hotel room I had stayed in (big indigo prints, with bright coral walls for accents). We had fun.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lobsterroll704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chi town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2008

Short business trip that became extended due to weather delays. But if I was going to get snowed in anywhere - I choose the Indigo Chicago. Staff was very helpful and concerned about me getting home. Hotel was very clean and comfortable.

  • Liked — Employees
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank boytoy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2008

Cute rooms with fantastic comfy beds. Very, very clean. But...during my stay I was told that they do not do check in prior to 4pm, then they shoo you out by noon the next day. Several non essential, but wish they had worked, things were not working in my room (like, remote, in room movie menu option, thermostat), that made the price a little hard to swallow. Seems like the rooms are not checked regularly. Maid service was very, very loud and very, very early, which, again, considering the price was annoying. Front desk was not particularly helpful or friendly.

  • Liked — close to Red Line and Gold Coast nightlife
  • Disliked — Unfriendly staff, late check in + early checkout
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midwestconvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
PUBLIC Chicago
PUBLIC Chicago
#92 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#72 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Streeterville
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
#110 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#145 of 188 in Chicago
3.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast

Property: Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Address: 1244 N Dearborn Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60610-5197 (Formerly Claridge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#99 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast The newest member of the Intercontinental Hotels Group family, Hotel Indigo is a branded boutique hotel that offers a refreshing alternative to traditional hotels. Quietly nestled on a tree-lined street, Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is located in one of Chicago's oldest and most historical neighborhoods, and is just steps from downtown Chicago and easily accessible from O Hare International Airport (ORD) and Midway Airport (MDW) . The location is ideal for guests who want to spend their days shopping on Chicago's Magnificent Mile and Oak Street's Boutique Row or indulge in the nightlife of Rush Street. Guests staying in enjoy free wireless Internet , Aveda bath amenities, spa-inspired showers, complimentary fitness center, locally roasted Metropolis coffee products in our restaurant and a fine wine selection in Phi, our lobby lounge. Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is pet friendly , and has numerous amenities for your travel companions so they may enjoy their stay as much as you will. Our Torchbearer Award winning service will be sure to impress all guests. Enter Hotel Indigo and sense the difference. The colors calm. The imagery excites. The architecture delights. You are relaxed, refreshed, renewed. You are inspired! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Chicago
Chicago Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing